We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Break....”
Review of Sandhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Just back from 3 nights at this lovely Hotel. Was there with my wife and 18 month old. We had a fantastic room, overlooking the golden beach. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The food is lovely and I was impressed that you get your full breakfast table served to you, which is unusual in this day an age, Also the dining room overlooks the sea. The hotel is only a short drive to Bundoran to use spashworld or Donegal town to do some shopping. All in all a great Hotel and 1 can only wish the owner the best of luck for the future. Very reasonable also. Mike, Vanessa and Jack,

Room Tip: if you ask for seaview room, you will be amazed with the view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ryancmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

Had Sunday Lunch in the Sandouse today and it was super. Great selection on the menu, something to suit everyone! Will defo be going back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loopyloo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We took our Canadian cousin on a trip to Fermanagh and decided to also to travel to Rossnowlagh so we booked to Sandhouse for our nights stay. What a surprise, the rooms were very spacious with beautiful beach and sea views. The decor is olde worldy and beautiful. We were on the third floor and the lift had a surprise in store (you will have to go yourself to find out what it was). We had dinner there and it was perfect and the girls who served us were so friendly and helpful as one of my cousins is coelic and can only eat certain things but that was no problem to them. We dined on the first floor with another beautiful view of the beach. We were only sorry we hadn't booked for a longer period, but I know my husband & I will certainly return hopefully in the very near future. My Canadian cousin was well impressed. Thankfully the sun shone for us which made it all the better.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crusader1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed in the Sandhouse for 2 nights. Our room was beautiful with amazing views out to sea. We had dinner on one of the night - it was delicious. The sea bass was to die for. The staff are excellent, I had stayed in the hotel just for one night a few weeks ago - on my return some remembered I had been there previously ! This hotel is special - you can fell their pride in its independence and recent story. We are already planning a return trip!! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed here for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. We had a wonderful corner room on the top floor with fantastic panoramic views of the beach. Waking up to hear the waves lapping on the beach is great and the bed was super comfy! We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food is good, the dining experience is perhaps a little dated/expensive but the excellent service and sea view more than make up for it. The staff were excellent and some of the most friendly I have had the pleasure of dealing with. Breakfast is excellent with a very big selection to give you a great start to the day.

Overall I would thouraghly recommend staying here and I look forward to going back! Great work everybody at the Sandhouse Hotel!! :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank q4z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Up in bundoran for a weekend and had planned to go out to the Sand House for luch with all the family. A fine hotel on arrival, but once inside it smelled mustly. But they had a nice fire lightning at reception. We found our way into a cold bar but found a warm spot, not very comfortable. We asked for a luch menu. NO Menus, the friendly waitress informed us we could only have SOUP + SANDWICHES. I felt that I was back in the 80is, Ok we were here for lunch so food we ordered. The soup was warm and bland, the sandwiches was the type your learnt to make in your school days, bread, butter, filling, toasted and cut in half.. If this hotel wants to do well, things have to be rattled in the kitchen..... Where is the chef, customers come back for more if they get food and get good food. A beautiful spot would have loved to book there for my next trip, but my lunch put me of that....On account the waitress was nice and friendly we stayed but was so so tempted to leave before the delights of the sandwich arrived. We should have left!!!

Room Tip: Check before you book have they come up to the 2012 standards we expect from hotels now. We work har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BettyBoopClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed in the hotel over the weekend for a funeral and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Everything from the rooms to the food was excellent and well organized and the staff were very friendly and were a real comfort to us. The view of the sea was very calming and being able to have a quiet walk on the beach in the mornings was just lovely. We will definitely make another trip to stay in happier circumstances. Thank you everyone at the hotel for all your kindness.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spiraleyev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rossnowlagh
10.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
11.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,363 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
801 reviews
5.4 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,049 reviews
10.9 mi away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 2 in Killybegs
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhouse Hotel

Address: Rossnowlagh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Rossnowlagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Price Range: £114 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star manor house hotel is located on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean overlooking Donegal Bay and Rossnowlagh Beach. Award winning cuisine, fine wine and local staff mix to give a truly relaxing experience. Marine spa with seaweed bath, Jacuzzi steam room and 8 treatments rooms is a must visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhouse Hotel Rossnowlagh, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing