We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend at the Sandhouse Hotel”
Review of Sandhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The Sandhouse Hotel is located on the edge the most beautiful beach/coastline in Co.Donegal. It is a homely Hotel with attentive staff and excellent fine dining. It is a meticulously run Hotel and the owner (Paul Diver) ensures the Hotel maintains a high standard. I travelled with my sister-in-law and our two mothers for weekend break.We certainly hope to return soon.

Room Tip: A seaview room has a view to captivate anyone!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
There are newer reviews for Sandhouse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed her for one night on a whistle stop holiday in Donegal. Fabulous location overlooking the beach but I felt like the hotel didn't fully utilise it's beachside location. The majority of public areas looked on to the road and not the beautiful beach front.room was large and tastefully decorated but not quite a 4 star.tv reception poor and the bathroom v small.we had a lovely view from our bed looking at the sea.we didn't eat in the hotel but there didn't appear to be anywhere else to dine. Breakfast in the morning was very good. Overall the place has a old world charm but the average age staying seemed to be in 60s. I thought the b&b rate was bait overpriced for what you get

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cinnyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Just returned from a lovely 2 night stay. Staff, service and food excellent. The annual Donegal 12th demonstration was taking place on Saturday and there was a wonderful atmosphere in the resort and hotel. Location right on the beach and I would strongly recommend a sea view room - just sitting looking out to sea with a glass of wine was amazing. Unusual to find a hotel nowadays that serves breakfast cooked to order - my husband is still raving about the porridge with honey and cream! Only criticism we would have is the TV reception - RTE channels ok, but we were trying to watch Wimbledon without success and had to go to the bar to get a decent picture. Overall would not give less than an excellent rating despite the TV reception, but we do suggest upgrading to at least a couple of Sky channels - Sky News at least plus BBC and ITV.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audajohns1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDiver, General Manager at Sandhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Glad you enjoyed your relaxing weekend and thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My girlfriend and I only had the chance to stay here for one night due to a hectic itinerary but we wish we could have stayed much longer.

The hotel is located right on the beach, and by that I really mean it; as soon as you step off hotel property you are on the beach, not across the car park or on a cliff overlooking it as is the case with most places that claim to be "on the beach".

The reception area and corridors are tastefully decorated in an old-world style that many places attempt but few get right; the Sandhouse avoids the common pitfalls associated with this style which can often make a place look dull or even dirty.

The older lady who greeted us at reception (possibly the owner) was mannerly although not particularly talkative; this can easily be forgiven though as she seemed to be under a bit of pressure with the phone ringing every few seconds.

Our room, on the third floor, was very spacious and, again, tastefully decorated, with the exception of the carpet which is starting to look a little grubby, especially near the window. Other than that, there is nothing else we could find fault with in the room.

I have seen comments about TV reception being poor but ours was crystal clear from what we watched of it.

The four-post bed, as well as being a nice visual feature in the room, was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever had the pleasure of sleeping on, even in far more expensive hotels. At the foot of the bed there was also a small couch, affording us the opportunity to admire the beautiful sea view from there or from the comfort of our bed. Of course there comes a time when a good night's sleep is more of a priority than a good view and the heavy blackout curtains, double-glazed windows and solid wooden door ensure that not a wink of sleep was lost to noise or unwanted light.

The en-suite bathroom is also quite spacious, well-appointed and spotlessly clean and water pressure in the shower was excellent, which can be rare enough in Irish hotels.

The only real down-side we could see to the hotel is the fact that parking seems to be quite limited at the hotel. There were about a dozen or so spaces at the front of the hotel and that seems to be all parking that's available. It's probably sufficient most of the time but we arrived on a Sunday evening and the car park was quite full at that stage. It's only a minor issue and not something that would put me off returning.

We definitely plan to come back and stay for longer next time.

Room Tip: The "Superior Sea View" rooms are well worth the money; while "Hill View" rooms...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mathuna86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Just returned from Donegal after celebrating my father in laws 80th Birthday, we were a large party of 14 aged from six to eighty and can honestly say nothing was too much trouble for the staff at the hotel, The breakfast was superb cooked to order every morning and our rate included dinner at the hotel on Friday night which was also delicious. Rooms were clean and spacious with amazing views of the beach. TV reception was bad, but didn't really matter when you had such a great view from you window. All in all a fantastic weekend in one of the most beautiful parts of the world.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmooLondonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The Sands Hotel is a class act among the often disappointing Donegal seaside hotels. The location is fantastic - right on a beautiful beach. The bedrooms are good, some of the rooms having 4 posters at no extra cost (minor quibble - please sort the TV reception). The residents' dining room has a fantastic view over Donegal Bay. The other dining room is very good as well. The furnishings inside the hotel are first class with many antique pieces of furniture. The value for money was excellent, costing less than a lot of its shabby rivals. The bar area was comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The owner was visible but not obtrusive, checking to see whether everything was OK for the guests. We did not vist the spa, but heard good things about it. If you want a break in beautiful Donegal this is the place - unless you are looking for other amenities on your doorstep. Rossnowlagh is not Vegas, but there is the very good Smugglers Cove restaurant about 600 metres away.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david northern ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The Sandhouse Hotel is located on the breath taking beautiful Rosenalagh beach. When I upon the curtains of my hotel room I was captivated by the beautiful sea view. The beach itself is litterly 2 minutes walk from the hotel & the miles of clean golden sand is simply stunning. The services in the hotel are second to none & the classic Irish menu which is sourced locally was prepare to perfection & is easy on the palate. This hotel is one of the best hotels in Ireland that I have had the pleasure to stay in,the staff were attentive & provided a friendly professional 1st class service. I could not find fault with the hotel & will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rossnowlagh
10.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
11.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,205 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Creevy Pier Hotel
Creevy Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ballyshannon
263 reviews
5.4 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,015 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhouse Hotel

Address: Rossnowlagh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Rossnowlagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Price Range: £116 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star manor house hotel is located on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean overlooking Donegal Bay and Rossnowlagh Beach. Award winning cuisine, fine wine and local staff mix to give a truly relaxing experience. Marine spa with seaweed bath, Jacuzzi steam room and 8 treatments rooms is a must visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhouse Hotel Rossnowlagh, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing