We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (668)
Filter reviews
668 results
Traveller rating
442
133
54
24
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
442
133
54
24
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrossnowlagh beachsand housesea viewmarine spasurfers barfour poster bednooks and cranniessunday lunchopen firehakewild atlantic wayfantastic locationchowderdonegal bayglasshouse restaurantthird floorsecond to none
Filter
Updating list...
471 - 476 of 668 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with fantastic food. Staff very friendly and remembered us from our stay last year. Rooms are airy, bright and extremely comfortable. Dining room overlooks the beach and sea. Have booked again for next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highlife57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

my husband & i had 3 lovely nights in the sandhouse.
after some initial confusion with our reservation we found the staff to be really lovely & very helpful throughout our stay.
our superior room was large & clean with a fabulous sea view & a massive bed.
the breakfast was great, cooked to order & good quality.
the location is excellent.
highly recommended!!

Room Tip: definitely worth paying a little extra for the sea view!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmcveigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

I recently visited this hotel only to get some lunch as I was down here at the beach. This hotel is situated in a fantastic location, with it's beautiful view and not even that far out of the way for amenities. Hotel inside is lovely, very clean, upmarket, and just an overall nice place. But I did have a few issues, upon arrival we were nearly ten minutes waiting to be served while standing at the bar waiting to find out if any lunch was available. Eventually a girl came to us. The menu for lunch was so bare and minimal, only between 4 and 6 kinds of sandwiches available. And no way could we vary from the set menu. So we ordered two sandwiches off the waitress that finally came out to us (10 minutes later) after being told we could not order our sandwiches at the bar. we sat outside as we wanted to enjoy the sunshine. Only table available was beside a rancid flower pot, with rotten plants in in and just horrendous to sit beside whilst trying to enjoy some food. The waitress that served us just couldn't care less about serving us, clearly did not wanat to be there, very unhelpful and rude. The food we got was delicious, a really good snack 10 out of 10 for food quality. Went back in to pay and again waited quite a long time to be seen to, the lady behind the bar was quite rude and just wanted me to go away and leave her alone this was very obvious. The food was extremely well priced considering how tasty it was and how good the portions were. Not sure if I would return again to be honest, service just let it down so badly it's a real shame, other than that it's a really beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank ferg2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Our two night stay could not have been better! Our ocean front room had a cozy little sitting room and just incredible views of the sea. The staff was tremendously helpful and friendly. My husband even had a chance to surf right in front of the hotel. We look forward to returning to the Sandhouse again when next we visit this part of Ireland.

Room Tip: Our corner room was great.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggiedbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We arrived here quite tired on a Sunday afternoon . Greeted by an extremely pleasant lady on reception who checked us in without any fuss . Our room was one with a sea view . And what a view with miles of beach and the majestic sound of Atlantic waves crashing onto the golden sand . The location appears to be a Mecca for surfers . The beach itself was of such quality and size it allowed cars travel safely on it without difficulty .We had a drink in the friendly Surfers Bar and then a very tasty meal in their restaurant . Staff in both location were attentive , polite and friendly . After a good nights sleep we had a very appetising breakfast prior to our departure .

Room Tip: Ask for room with a sea-view . We didn't test fitness centre or swimming pool
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews