We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back again”
Review of Sandhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

went back to the sandhouse hotel this july and it was as good this year as last year. all the staff were very friendly .the food both morning and evening was very good ,services very good .and we met the owner who made sure every one was well looked after .hope to go back again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were recently here for a family break!
We had a large family room overlooking the beach fabulous view!!
meals were of a very high standrad ,lovely staff,very helpful!
our teenager really enjoyed the surfing and our time at the beach!
i visited the spa and really enjoyed the facial and relax!
we will be back!

Room Tip: get one with a seaview beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We recently stayed at the Sandhouse, our second visit in two years. It is a fantastic property, operated by the loveliest people. There is very little to do in Rossnowlagh except enjoy the long beach, perfect for walking and swimming. My sons took surf lessons from the school next door, and I actually got a tan in the unseasonably warm sun. The rooms are clean, well-appointed, and functional. The food is fantastic. If I could devise a reason to go back, I'd already be on the plane.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a seaside room. The surf will lull you to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here for a family break with our 3 young children. The family room was clean and very spacious with a beautiful sea view. The staff were attentive and helpful despite the hotel being fully booked that weekend. Food was beautifully presented and very tasty. I will definitely be definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlvinaGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The Sandhouse Inn was a great find in Donegal county and we had great weather. Our room overlooked the beach which attracts surfers and ...drivers ? Yes you can drive onto the beach ! which most North Americans have probably never done. We enjoyed a terrific walk on the bluff overlooking the beach after our breakfast in the sunroom the following morning and chatted with the friendly locals . Although the hotel needs some updating it is a grand place with big rooms & great atmosphere. The surf bar is a little confusing though as it is not readily accessible from the hotel ...(note to Mgr :so why not just bash a hole for a door through a wall and stop keeping the bar such a mystery from the guests?) . Donegal Town is a short ride with a very interesting Castle to visit...lovely area & people.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Fourth stay at the Sandhouse and from start to finish can't find any faults that would upset us. Our stay was very relaxing, well catered for with superb meals servered in the sunroom over looking the beach. The staff as always were very professional and attend to all our needs. The hotels atmosphere was warm and inviting with lots of different areas to unwind in.The breath taking views from our deluxe seaview bedroom said it all, you have to experience it to believe it. A little bit of heaven.

Room Tip: Request a seaview room you won't be disappointed. Allow no swimming pool or fitness centre there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

If you want a luxurious quiet hotel on the beach, this is the one for you. Stayed here with my husband and children recently. On arrival we were immediately attended to at reception and checked in quickly and efficiently. Our room was facing the beach and had all we required. Evening meal was fabulous although there are 2 or 3 members of staff serving who were rude and couldn't care less. We did have an issue trying to order a snack from the bar - guest info states this is available all afternoon but this was not the case. We tried to order some sandwiches as well but were rudely told we could not. Spoke to the manager later who was very helpful and compensated by offering lunch for all my family. The hotel is fabulous but I would not stay here again as some members of staff let it down.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rossnowlagh
10.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
11.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,245 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,019 reviews
2.5 mi away
Creevy Pier Hotel
Creevy Pier Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ballyshannon
266 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhouse Hotel

Address: Rossnowlagh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Rossnowlagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Price Range: £118 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star manor house hotel is located on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean overlooking Donegal Bay and Rossnowlagh Beach. Award winning cuisine, fine wine and local staff mix to give a truly relaxing experience. Marine spa with seaweed bath, Jacuzzi steam room and 8 treatments rooms is a must visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhouse Hotel Rossnowlagh, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing