We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
675 results
Traveller rating
449
134
53
24
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
449
134
53
24
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rossnowlagh beach sand house sea view marine spa surfers bar nooks and crannies four poster bed reception area sunday lunch open fire hake dining room is wild atlantic way fantastic location donegal bay glasshouse restaurant chowder
Filter
Updating list...
471 - 476 of 675 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were recently here for a family break!
We had a large family room overlooking the beach fabulous view!!
meals were of a very high standrad ,lovely staff,very helpful!
our teenager really enjoyed the surfing and our time at the beach!
i visited the spa and really enjoyed the facial and relax!
we will be back!

Room tip: get one with a seaview beautiful!
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We recently stayed at the Sandhouse, our second visit in two years. It is a fantastic property, operated by the loveliest people. There is very little to do in Rossnowlagh except enjoy the long beach, perfect for walking and swimming. My sons took surf lessons from the school next door, and I actually got a tan in the unseasonably warm sun. The rooms are clean, well-appointed, and functional. The food is fantastic. If I could devise a reason to go back, I'd already be on the plane.

Room tip: Be sure to ask for a seaside room. The surf will lull you to sleep.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here for a family break with our 3 young children. The family room was clean and very spacious with a beautiful sea view. The staff were attentive and helpful despite the hotel being fully booked that weekend. Food was beautifully presented and very tasty. I will definitely be definitely be back.

Date of stay: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlvinaGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The Sandhouse Inn was a great find in Donegal county and we had great weather. Our room overlooked the beach which attracts surfers and ...drivers ? Yes you can drive onto the beach ! which most North Americans have probably never done. We enjoyed a terrific walk on the bluff overlooking the beach after our breakfast in the sunroom the following morning and chatted with the friendly locals . Although the hotel needs some updating it is a grand place with big rooms & great atmosphere. The surf bar is a little confusing though as it is not readily accessible from the hotel ...(note to Mgr :so why not just bash a hole for a door through a wall and stop keeping the bar such a mystery from the guests?) . Donegal Town is a short ride with a very interesting Castle to visit...lovely area & people.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Fourth stay at the Sandhouse and from start to finish can't find any faults that would upset us. Our stay was very relaxing, well catered for with superb meals servered in the sunroom over looking the beach. The staff as always were very professional and attend to all our needs. The hotels atmosphere was warm and inviting with lots of different areas to unwind in.The breath taking views from our deluxe seaview bedroom said it all, you have to experience it to believe it. A little bit of heaven.

Room tip: Request a seaview room you won't be disappointed. Allow no swimming pool or fitness centre there is a Jacuzzi room and separate Spa.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews