We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”
Review of Sandhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

have stayed at this hotel twice and is it was for 2 very special occasions we paid extra for the stunning sea views. we were given a huge corner room for our second stay. It is a very quiet, relaxing hotel. It is quite pricey and I would like to see them do more appealing special offers as like I said, we splashed out for special occasions! We enjoyed dinner in their sea-view restaurant during our second stay & ate in the nearby Smugglers Creek during our first stay. If you like beautiful scenery, sipping cold drinks on a balcony or by an open fire,romantic strolls on the beach & some peace & quiet in an old-world hotel then don't hesitate, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Funmummy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Just spent an overnight stay in the Sandhouse Hotel in Rossnowlagh while attending a family wedding.

The setting is spectacular...right on the beach.

Our bedroom room looked out onto the Atlantic and the view was breathtaking.
The room itself was very comfortable and spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was served in an upstairs room with huge windows overlooking the ocean .

The food provided at the wedding reception was probably the best I have ever had at a large function.

However my highest praise is for the service given by the Staff. Their friendly and attentive service was excellent from beginning to end.

Well done to all ...I hope I get back to your hotel someday...perhaps when the weather is a better!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the beach..amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HappyIrishGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Just spent an overnight stay in the Sandhouse Hotel in Rossnowlagh while attending a wedding. I had really thought that the old style of service offered by hotels had gone. What a really pleasant surprise to find the self same service alive and well and living in the Sandhouse in Rossnowlagh. From check-in to check-out, everything was perfect. The room given to us faced the wild Atlantic and the view was breathtaking. The room itself was very large and had all required facilities. The bed was large and comfortable and tea/coffee making facilities was provided. Breakfast was probably one of the best I ever tasted with super service. Old style comfort is in abundance at the Sandhouse with lots of comfortable seating provided in the many nooks and crannies that I suspect would be a delight for exploring by younger guests. The greatest attribute for the hotel is the service given by the Staff. Their friendly and attentive service was beyond compare. The Manager should be very proud of his superb hotel and catering staff. The food provided at the wedding reception was also of excellent quality and supplied in portions to satisfy the mightiest appetite. All in all we were very impressed with the Sandhouse Hotel and intend to return in the very near future.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Atlantic are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

On the 28Dec.2013 I stayed innthis hotel .Pleasent surroundings,helpful staff and super meals.made me feel at home without the worry.Rooms were clean and tidy with large bed.Food was just superb and myself and my family enjoyed our stay.Thanks to Paul and all his staff.

Room Tip: room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itenerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We recently had a family occasion here, from start to finish our night was fantastic. The staff and manager are amazing, nothing was too much trouble. The dinner and breakfast were lovely, fresh food served, could not fault anything. Amazing views. Definitely a special place that has to be experienced to appreciate. Well done guys!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Noaht2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Two nights in this hotel, mid-week in late November! There were only a few guests but the staff did not compromise on service or quality. Food was superb and a full menu available. The location was stunning - even at this time of year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The sand House is quite expensive but you get what you pay for, lovely helpful friendly staff, gorgeous rooms best breakfast imagine able. But oh the food please believe me if you are going to Rossknowlagh for a few days don't think you are missing something by not going to the Smugglers Creak, it's living off its reputation and honestly not a patch on the hotel restaurant. Their crab starter and chowder soup made all the meal we ate in the smugglers tasteless in comparison. Beautiful Seabass for main. Desserts to die for and neither of us are desserts fans. The best thing about the Sand House is your 4 legged friend can go too. This made the holiday for us. Go to the Tourist information in Donegal town for super helpful advise advise on all the nearby walks. Unwind in the super Spa. This is a spoil yourself hotel.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view it's so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rossnowlagh
10.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
11.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,332 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,038 reviews
8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
798 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhouse Hotel

Address: Rossnowlagh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Rossnowlagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Price Range: £117 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star manor house hotel is located on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean overlooking Donegal Bay and Rossnowlagh Beach. Award winning cuisine, fine wine and local staff mix to give a truly relaxing experience. Marine spa with seaweed bath, Jacuzzi steam room and 8 treatments rooms is a must visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhouse Hotel Rossnowlagh, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing