We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious top class dining, fabulous view & and such nice staff :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Certificate of Excellence
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Delicious top class dining, fabulous view & and such nice staff :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We celebrated our wedding anniversary in the conservatory restaurant. The food was amazing , a great selection of fish dishes on the menu but lots also for meat eaters at really very good prices. The staff are so friendly and attentive without being intrusive and to top it all the view is breathtaking - esp the evening we were there - gorgeous sunset over a tranquil unspoilt beach and bay.

Can't wait to return again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2plus8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    104
    48
    21
    11
See reviews for
150
266
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Foxford, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here for one night with my wife. Lovely hotel with a warm homely feel, situated right on the beautiful Rossnowlagh Beach. Rooms were large and comfortable with every facility. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a first class breakfast with welcome refills of tea and coffee. Unfortunately the weather prevented us from making use of the beach but this is anideal hotel for a beachside family stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Had a great meal at the Sandhouse last Sunday night. Stunning views and the food was the best i have had in a very long time. I had the fillet steak and it was cooked to perfection. Will def recommend and will be back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckchuck99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed again after 4 years and this time brought friends with me.I think hotel is improved since then.More staff and more attention.Had a dinner at the restaurant which was very deliciuous and also a good value for the restaurant.This time we used SPA and it was great with Voya organic seaweed products,made in Strandhill,county Sligo.Biggest attraction is the Rossnowlagh Beach and views from the room,you can just sit and have some wine and enjoy those views!

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy this hotel at the most always ask for the room with the seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vsmitson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Love this hotel warm hospitality, great views and the food is amazing.You really feel at home here as soon as you arrive with open fire and the friendliness of the staff.My room was warm and cosy had everything I needed it was also quiet so I slept well. The Sandhouse is literally located on the beach so it is great place if you like to walk especially when the weather is good like it was for my visit. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MchelT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

So highly recommend this hotel. Staff are attentive, courteous and hard working. Will return without doubt. If you want a relaxing break in a beautiful unspoilt location, visit the Sand House Hotel. Oh, and the price was great

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieSloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Sandhouse Hotel was a very welcome resting place with a real beach town feel and relaxing atmosphere. The restaurant looks directly over the beach and is very elegant, yet informal. The sunset was spectacular and service was good - other than you had to go hunt down a bartender every once in a while. The room we booked via Hotels.com was not relayed to the hotel correctly, but they were amazing and got us a room that exceeded all expectations - 2 King beds and right on the beach with five stairs to a semi-private balcony with food/drink service. This place is great!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rossnowlagh
10.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
11.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,945 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
8.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
2.5 mi away
Creevy Pier Hotel
Creevy Pier Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ballyshannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhouse Hotel

Property: Sandhouse Hotel
Address: Rossnowlagh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Rossnowlagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star manor house hotel is located on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean overlooking Donegal Bay and Rossnowlagh Beach. Award winning cuisine, fine wine and local staff mix to give a truly relaxing experience. Marine spa with seaweed bath, Jacuzzi steam room and 8 treatments rooms is a must visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhouse Hotel Rossnowlagh, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing