We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAMILY GATHERING”
Review of Sandhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FAMILY GATHERING”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed for three nights in a beautiful spacious superior sea-view room to join a large family gathering. The event was a great success due in a large part to the friendly, efficient service by all staff at the hotel. Lots of space for relaxing, excellent breakfast and dinner menus and comfortable seating throughout. The highlight was a special dinner for the 48 family members of all ages from Ireland and beyond which was highly enjoyable. The hotel is on a huge safe beach, great for surfing,etc.and is privately run.

Room Tip: Superior sea-view rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KevinSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    109
    48
    21
    12
See reviews for
154
276
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Kerry, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have just returned home from our relaxing break at the Sandhouse Hotel. From when we arrived we felt at home, the lovely friendly and efficient staff welcomed us and showed us to our room. When we opened our bedroom door we were blown away. The view that met us as we entered our room can not be explained in words, hence me uploading the picture i took so people can see for themselves. The room itself was spacious, clean and so comfortable with a big bathroom with separate bath and shower. The bed was that comfortable I had to ask the manager where they got them from. We dined in the hotel both nights, originally we had planned to go to the smugglers inn for one night, however after sampling the exquisite menu at the Sandhouse the first night we were the first in the door the second night. We just wanted a short break away to re-charge the batteries and this we did. We are so looking forward to returning to the Sandhouse in the near future

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a superior sea view room, while the decor is a bit dated and in need of some fresh paint, the ocean view was one of the best I've seen, and made the cost of the room well worth while, breakfast was plentiful, though over cooked, even the poached egg was hard boiled egg standard.

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nigsyswann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Had a wonderful stay, the rooms, the staff, the meals, the service, everthing was just perfect. We called to the hotel without a reservation, there was only one small room available. The receptionist showed it to us, apologizing for the small size, it was
perfect. We were moved to a bigger room the following day.
We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silverscree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tipperary
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Disappointed with dated, drab decor in this hotel. Musty smell from room on first floor. Furniture very shabby. Bathroom very compact. Floorboards creaking throughout. Electrical socket by bed not working. Dining room however was lovely. Go early to get a good window seat. Food for breakfast and dinner lovely and well priced. Restaurant staff very friendly and helpful. Location on beautiful sandy beach would be its most redeeming feature.

Room Tip: Think view would be better from 2nd or 3rd floor rooms. I think rooms on first floor may be 'pet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank henorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights recently and loved the whole experience. We had a room with a magnificent sea view. The room itself was very spacious and the furnishings old but we liked that. The food was lovely and the staff excellent. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullen, Cork,Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay here. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay here again this time. I cannot praise this hotel enough and the excellent staff and management . The view from our sea view room cannot really be described in words,you really have to experience it for yourself. The food is excellent served in the ocean view restaurant. Thanks to all concerned. We can't wait to go back

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank uttygut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rossnowlagh
10.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
11.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,053 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
730 reviews
5.4 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
996 reviews
2.5 mi away
Creevy Pier Hotel
Creevy Pier Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ballyshannon
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhouse Hotel

Property: Sandhouse Hotel
Address: Rossnowlagh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Rossnowlagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star manor house hotel is located on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean overlooking Donegal Bay and Rossnowlagh Beach. Award winning cuisine, fine wine and local staff mix to give a truly relaxing experience. Marine spa with seaweed bath, Jacuzzi steam room and 8 treatments rooms is a must visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhouse Hotel Rossnowlagh, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing