We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fairfield Bay
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fairfield Glade, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“What a wonderful surprise”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Probably shouldn't write this review so it doesn't get crowded, but this was a tremendous vacation spot for a week. The resort is actually part of Fairfield Glade which is a 8000 home development near Crossville, TN. There is so much activity to do daily, you can be as busy as you want. There is a small mall with a couple of excellent restaurants, a Kroger convenience store (really?, yep) and other shops.
There are 5 18 hole golf courses here as well as numerous lakes and horse stables! The 2 bedroom unit we had was excellent and clean with no maintenance issues! We'll be back again and again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Hi Hank,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this helpful feedback including activities in the area. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    103
    31
    17
    6
See reviews for
108
79
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This timeshare resort caters for the more senior community and does it very well. The staff could not be more nice or helpful. The rooms, although dated, were very well maintained and comfortable, with modern appliances. Our "kitchenette" had parquet floors that brought back memories when there was actually wood on the floors instead of laminate.

What's unique Fairfield Bay is that it's a community, not a town. There's activities to do every day. The only disappointing thing was that there were no canoe, paddleboat, kayaks to rent.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Mountain Ridge section have a secluded, woodsy view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CCMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My wife booked this stay, and I'm glad she did. We usually tend to stay places with a lot of amenities nearby. We also tend to stay places that keep us busy and on the run, without the opportunity to relax. This resort was different...

The 'Unit': Our 2 bedroom condo was on the top floor and had vaulted ceilings, was very well lit with tons of windows allowing natural light to pour in, and included a porch that wrapped around two of the three sides of the unit. When we walked into the unit, we were greeted with a fully furnished kitchen on the right with a full size stove, oven, refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, stainless steel sink, and painted white cabinets furnished with all of the dishes necessary for a one week stay. Just past the kitchen was an open dining area with a nice table and enough chairs to seat 6, not including the two taller chairs at the kitchen bar that separated the two spaces. Just past the Dining Area was the living room which had a sofa, chair, coffee table, a couple end tables with lamps, a flat screen TV on a nice stand, and a wood-burning fire place with utensils. Both the living room and the dining area had sliding glass doors that opened out to what may be considered a wrap around porch. This porch was up nearly four or five stories and had an incredible view!

The two bedrooms were also nice... One bedroom had two twin size beds separated by an end table and lamp, a chair, a dresser, and a reasonable sized closet. Just outside of this bedroom was a closet with an apartment style top/bottom clothes washer and dryer, and a standard sized bathroom with a nice size sink, clean toilet, and tub and shower. The Master Bedroom had a very comfortable king size bed, a couple end tables with lamps, a dresser, a small tube TV on a nice sized stand, a chair, and a nice sized closet. The Master Bedroom Bathroom was rather large with one somewhat long sink, a clean toilet, and one of the largest Jacuzzi tubs I've ever seen before! I'm not much of a tub kind of guy and was pleased that they also had a hand held shower wand! It wasn't until I took my first shower that I realized there was no shower curtain around this giant Jacuzzi tub... That was a little unsettling at first with the feeling of showering in a large open room, but I quickly adapted to all the extra space!

The 'Unit' Pros: The space, layout, amenities, furnishings, etc. in the unit were very clean and did not have many signs of wear.

The 'Unit' Cons: The unit appeared to have been built in the 1970's or 1980's. There is nothing wrong with this except the furnishings also appeared to have been sitting there since the unit was new. The colors, patterns, designs, etc. appear to be outdated. This is the only reason I couldn't give this property the highest rating.

The 'Area': Fairfield Bay, Arkansas is a very quiet area that is located off the beaten path. It was very nice, tree'd, and located on the north side of Greer's Ferry Lake. The views from the hilltops and the valleys were all very beautiful! We felt like we were staying in the heart of Ozark country!

During our one week stay, we visited quite a few beautiful and fun attractions! The first we saw was Indian Rock Cave which is a very large cave opening with Indian carvings located on the side of Indian Hills Golf Course right in Fairfield Bay. We enjoyed visiting the nearby museum and cabin, and loved hiking the beautiful trails! Another nearby attraction we visited was the Greer's Ferry Lake Marina where we stopped to feed the fish. Other than attractions, we did a little shopping at Craven Foods, the grocery store located just outside the main entrance of Fairfield Bay, and Dollar General, located next door to Craven Foods. We were surprised to find that the prices at Craven Foods were very reasonable. Other places we visited in Fairfield bay included Janssen's, a restaurant that served delicious pizza and drinks, and the local gym where we played in the large indoor swimming pool and relaxed in the hot tub! I also visited the Fairfield Bay Pharmacy... Something that I must be allergic to was blooming that week, and the Pharmacist was very helpful in helping me find just what I needed!

Fortunately, our unit was located just down the parking lot from one of the three or four swimming pools in Fairfield Bay. When we decided to go swimming, we were expecting to see a simple in-ground concrete hole filled with water... Boy were we surprised! The swimming pool was large and included a toddler pool off to the side! It had fountains spraying water into it, and had depths ranging from 3 feet to 5.5 feet. The toddler pool had a zero depth entry with a maximum depth of only 2.5 feet. Surrounding the pool were clean tables and lawn chairs for relaxing, which is exactly what we did! Plus, the pool area was located on a hill with an impressive view looking southeast to Greer's Ferry Lake! We spent a lot more time there than what we expected!

There are two very nice golf courses located in Fairfield Bay, but unfortunately, I threw my back out the week before our vacation and did not play. However, when driving around and hiking, we took a look at the beautiful courses. It made me wish I would have brought my clubs with me anyways!

Outside of Fairfield Bay, we visited the Arkansas Natural Bridge ($5 per adult), Buffalo National River (free), Little Rock Zoo($10 per adult), Blanchard Springs (free) and Blanchard Springs Caverns ($10.50 per adult), and the beautiful town of Mountain View (free). All of these places were very nice, but were located a little distance from the condo. If we return in the future, we will probably return to the small town of Mountain View and Blanchard Springs.

The 'Area' Pros: The area was quiet and peaceful with remarkable views!

The 'Area' Cons: Most of the attractions we wanted to see were at least a one hour drive from the resort.

All in all, we had a wonderful time! We were surprised by all of the people who lived in Fairfield Bay. We thought it was all owned by Wyndham but later found out that the town of Fairfield Bay originally started as a retirement community, but later grew into a spread out town. We would love to return in the future for another relaxing vacation!

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a room on the top floor... More space and better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank CaribbeanJunkie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Just got back from a 1 week stay and had a great time. Yes, as other reviews state it is a bit older, but has been kept up fairly well. We were in unit 15 at Mountain Ridge, during Labor Day week. It was quiet, and since we were on a top unit didn't have any noise issues. Janice especially, but really all the front desk staff were amazing. They gave us extra popcorn,coffee,lemonade and other goodies just to make sure we were comfortable. The unit was older, but was clean and was kept up very well. I reported a disposal problem, and it was fixed within hours. That was our only issue. The "welcome breakfast" left something to be desired, with only biscuits, jelly and gravy....maybe zt least some fruit would gaff been nice. The info given and door prizes were very nice, but would have also been nice if the surrounding towns to Fairfield Bay could have been covered. Once you cover that area, which will only take a day or two, you will want to see and do other things, so it would be nice if the towns close by, like Mountain View were covered. Thanks to Janice and the front desk staff and our own research we did see many other things.
I would go back, it was very relaxing. Be sgure to go to Mountain View, eat at the pharmacy, stay for the pickin' and grinin' on the town square, and go see the caverns.....amazing.

Room Tip: Mountain ridge top floor, awesome view. Bring your adult beverages with you, you are surrounded by d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NFK50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TULSA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Very deep in the woods!! We loved it. We are not golfers so that didnt interest us much. We played mini-golf, it was great. We are country people so we dont chase balls around pastures. But if you are golfers we heard it was great from others. 2 bedroom deluxe condo was pretty nice, A little dated but pretty nice. We took both nature trails. Not enough rain for waterfalls to run but both were nice including the cave trail by the golf course. Ate at Grumpys & Jensens both good places to eat. Marina was nice. Go feed the fish, kids will love it. You will need a full week if you want to do it all. We recommend highlly to return.We didnt have much contact with the main desk, but they seemed friendlly and helpful.

Room Tip: 2 bedrrom delux is great for 4 to 6 people. We had 4 so we did not have to fold out the couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DARIN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslet, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

I had limited contact with the staff but every interaction was positive except one.

The bathroom had a long hair on the toilet but otherwise it was great.

Make sure you take the family to the Marina to feed the fish or rent a boat.

Absolutely beautiful country!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danda0624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adamsville, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We were treated like royalty by the staff here. The resort room was spacious and clean, if a bit outdated. The Marina, Blanchard Caverns, the quaint community of Mountain View, and the small park in town across from the Little Red Restaurant(delicious!) were all a delight. We rented a pontoon at the Marina which was like new and quite large- about $275 for tax, fuel and all for four hours. They rent tubes to pull behind and the water at the lake is clear and beautiful. The Ozark Folk Center and Skillet Restaurant are highly recommended. Go for it! You'll love this place! PS I saw ONE piece of trash on the roadside in all our travels here. Wish so much I could duplicate this in Jefferson County, Alabama!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank jack h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairfield Bay
18.5 mi away
Lindsey's Resort
Lindsey's Resort
#1 of 7 in Heber Springs
95 reviews
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Heber Springs
11.3 mi away
Best Western Hillside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 6 in Mountain View
170 reviews
14.8 mi away
Lake and River Inn
Lake and River Inn
#7 of 7 in Heber Springs
26 reviews
15.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Center
Quality Inn & Conference Center
#4 of 7 in Heber Springs
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay

Property: Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay
Address: 110 Village Pl, Fairfield Bay, AR 72088-2838 (Formerly Fairfield Bay Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arkansas > Fairfield Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fairfield Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Resort At Fairfield Bay Hotel Fairfield Bay
Wyndham Fairfield Bay
Wyndham Hotel Fairfield Bay
Fairfield Bay Resort Arkansas
Fairfield Bay Wyndham
Wyndham Resort At Fairfield Bay Arkansas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing