We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kettles Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
153
82
34
18
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
82
34
18
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbridal suitegreat venue for a weddingbouncy castlenext morningportion sizesroast beefdublin airporttea coffeebar foodwould highly recommend this hotelclose to the airportlong flightfamily roomcommunioncarveryireland
Filter
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stayed there for a wedding. Really excellent service at the wedding reception. Food was sumptuous and we were offered second helpings. Room was spacious and very well appointed. The staff were very nice and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I recently went with City Deal voucher; service was dire. The 'sea weed' bath in a box was disappointment number one. We booked a twin room, got a double. Requested a change, got it and then were approached to pay a supplement, as the voucher 'was for two people - therefore a double' ... there is no mention of double/twin on voucher. We politely declined the supplement as we booked a twin room. When we stated we would leave with a full refund, we were told we could stay 'as a gesture of good faith'. When we had the receptionist print our confirming email stipulating the twin room we had booked, we were told 'that's okay' and the matter was dropped. No further comment, no apology. Like I said, BAD service. Room lovely though, and food very nice. A pity the service didn't match

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Co worker and myself purchased Afternoon tea via an Irish 'discount special offer' website at Kettles. The hotel looked nice from outside and we went into the lounge where we believed Afternoon Tea was being served. Two ladies with a 3 tier cake plate on their table were just finishing and we felt we were in the right place. The place was quiet with family gathering and a waiter and waitress were serving. The waitress came over and asked if we were there for tea - she saw the voucher we had brought. She enquired if we wanted an Irish Coffee, tea or coffee. We opted for tea, although the Irish Coffee did come with the deal. The waitress took the voucher and returned shortly with white cups and saucers and milk and sugar and little side plates and napkins. She then brought over a stainless steel tea pot containing enough tea for two cups each and a three tier cake plate. The lower tier contained triangle sandwiches, all made up of either roast beef or chicken, some with a bit of lettuce and some with a bit of cranberry sauce. The portion was good generous - there were enough triangles for 3 persons and we were very hungry - so a nice treat.

The middle tier contained two small squares of what appeared to be chocolate chip cheese cake and 2 small squares of apple tart. The top tier contained 2 very small scones with one small dish of whipped cream and one small dish of preserves. The sandwiches were freshly prepared. The cheesecakes and apple tarts were fresh also and the scones, while dry inside (probably because of their size) were tasty with the cream and preserves.

Our verdict? Good value, enjoyable tea with sandwiches! However as per the photo that Kettles provided to the deals site - we should have really had 3 cakes each and the scones could be bigger - I would have paid more just for this change. Kettles would win over alot of people if they used an inexpensive white china teapot when serving tea - not a stainless steel pot (which looks drab and takes away from the 'fun formality'.

The waitress who served us was pleasant and professional and the aptmosphere was good - so all in all - 8 points out of 10 and we will be back! We ordered another pot of coffee before leaving which was @€4.00 - good value in itself.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bayberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed here for just one night as part of a Groupon deal which included a seaweed bath & afternoon tea.
The hotel is very nice - spotlessly clean, quaint and cosy. The bedroom was a good size, with a nice bed. The bathroom was a bit on the small side & could do with some modernizing (some stains on the grout and in the sink due to age) but apart from that the accomodation was very comfortable. The heating was on in the room so it was really very warm the entire time we were there - the thermostat in the room didnt seem to work to turn it down at all. But that was only a minor issue.

The staff at reception were friendly. When we arrived they couldn't provide a seaweed bath for the two of us so we were given a €10 voucher to use in the bar instead.

We had dinner and some drinks in the pub (The Inn). There is another bar at the other end of the hotel but we didnt get a chance to try that one. The food in the Inn was really good & fairly priced (€20 for a filet mignon, which was really tasty). Again, the staff in the bar were chatty and very welcoming. It was quite busy & the food took a little while to arrive but it was worth waiting for. The atmosphere was nice, cosy and relaxing. There was some live music in the evening, which was nice.

Breakfast the next morning was also served in the Inn. It is a sit down affair, rather than a buffer. Everything was really fresh & tasty.

I really couldn't fault this place. It is good value and we had a nice, relaxing stay. The location is nice (although you would need a car if you were planning to visit any nearby areas or any parts of Dublin as this place is on a country road and I dont think there is any public transport nearby). Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynseyg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Recently stayed in Hotel, with Great package deal i bought. Very impressed with location, relaxed atmosphere, Thank you to Barbra.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews