We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kettles Country House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Swords
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel as a result of an offer on Groupon. We had no problem making our reservation as part of the offer. On our arrival we were given a pleasant welcome by the lady at reception & our booking was verified. I was asked to email through a copy of our Groupon offer which was straightforward as free wifi was available in our room. We noticed that an Early Bird menu was available for anyone able to dine before 7pm so we took advantage of this and had a lovely meal. Service was prompt and, although the restaurant was quite busy, our meal arrived quickly and was absolutely delicious. The serving staff were very attentive and pleasant throughout. The next morning we went down for breakfast - which was included in the offer - and the restaurant was quiet-ish. Our order was taken promptly with a choice of breakfasts available. Unfortunately this was probably the low point of our stay as, although the restaurant was quite quiet, it took 45 minutes for two cooked breakfasts to be served. We were initially given tea & coffee but the delay between then & the food arriving was just not acceptable, given our experience the previous evening when the restaurant was almost overflowing. The breakfast, when it did arrive, was quite reasonable - with the only thing that might have been nice would have to have been offered perhaps another egg or rasher of bacon when we said we didn't want black or white pudding or beans, which were included in the breakfast, as standard.

Our room was excellent, well finished, clean & comfortable. The shower is worth a special mention as I adore a strong shower and they really don't come much stronger than this - the term "fireman's hose" comes to mind! It was simply awesome!

So, in conclusion, a lovely stay in all aspects & even breakfast would have been fine provided we had expected it to take an hour & a half.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LordSoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    71
    31
    16
    15
See reviews for
70
86
16
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stayed in this small country hotel en route to Dublin city. Vert convenient to Dublin and the airport and close to Swords village. Room was large and clean with a comfortable bed, good quality sheets, a good shower and free wifi. Dinner was great value, perfectly cooked with very friendly resyaurant staff and very generous portions. Similarily, the breakfast was also very good and generous. This is a great value hotel - its not a 5 star hotel and does not pretend to be - but you do get excellent value for your money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rivermill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. After getting a groupon deal, we get to the hotel after a 3 hour drive. Give our room key to find a man showering in the room when we entered, went up to recpetion to complain and i was told i was wrong. Receptionist then went down to investigate and yes i was right!! We then had to wait 30-40 mins before getting a new room, to then find a filthy dusty room. The bathroom looked like it hadnt been cleaned in at least 4 weeks. We then had to complain for a 2nd time and we were advised there was no other rooms, we refused to sleep in that room so then had to wait 2 1/2 hours for another room to be ready. Overall i just thought the service and cleanliness was a disgrace and will not be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frog T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed here a few weeks ago on an overnight internet deal with my Grandson and found it a wonderful little gem of a hotel..Room was really nice and the early bird special was excellent value..Breakfast was served until 11.30am with a late checkout at 2pm..Barbara,the receptionist, was a very helpful and pleasant person and I would highly recommend this place and it close to the airport.Hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Friendly staff but uncharming place. The afternoon tea is not what it promises on their website pictures. No layered trays and nice crokery rather stained coffee cans with instant decaffinated coffee, small servings with sloppy sandwiches. We were placed in a side room, called reception area, with stained dirty chairs. I would not go back and would not recommend to bring guests there again. Hotel should take more care of appearances of rooms and food servings and perhaps give people what they promise on pictures.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

Using a groupon voucher for afternoon tea for 4, had very poor service, served our coffee and teas quickly, left sitting with them for 30 mins as we waited for food. When I went to order more I enquired after our food, the bar tender was surprised we hadn't gotten any, about 10 mins later a plate of sandwiches arrived which we enjoyed with our second batch of coffees. Another 20 mins or so passed and I had to get up again and go to bar and enquire if we were getting any scones/cakes etc, again staff were suprised we had not gotten any, these then were brought about another 10 mins later. All in all a very bad experience. When we were leaving and went to pay for the additional coffees I was full sure they would say they were complimentary due to leaving us so long without food. Not wanting to make a scene in front of our friends who we had invited out to tea and already embarrassed with it being such a disaster we just paid the bill. But if Kettles think offering a good deal through groupon to get people to visit and then maybe come back again for dinner etc they have it all wrong. After this awful experience we will never be back.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank J-Class_only
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Myself & 3 friends had afternoon tea here today, granted the hotel was very busy as there was a large group in after a funeral but the overall experience wasn't what we expected, we had booked but there was no table set out, we were told we could sit anywhere in the bar (which was quite noisy), the crockery that arrived was tea stained and not very nice, we got a selection of sandwiches which we wouldn't class as fresh, the cakes were nice however there wasn't a lot of anything to feed 4 people, we asked for a fresh pot of coffee and saw the waitress just pour more coffee into the pot that she had already given us about an hour before and still had coffee in it, I don't mean to be so critical but no of use would be planning on returning after out experience

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swords
0.7 mi away
Roganstown Hotel and Country Club
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
3.2 mi away
Carnegie Court Hotel
Carnegie Court Hotel
#4 of 7 in Swords
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Dublin Airport Manor
Dublin Airport Manor
#5 of 7 in Swords
289 reviews
5.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
6.0 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kettles Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kettles Country House Hotel

Property: Kettles Country House Hotel
Address: Lispopple Cross, Swords, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Swords
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Swords
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kettles Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kettle's Country House Hotel located just outside the lively town of Swords is an ideal venue for weddings, meetings or simply just to relax. Just minutes from Dublin airport, the Country House Hotel has 25 stylish and comfortable bedrooms all designed to incorporate the highest level of technology available while maintaining the homely atmosphere that we are famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kettles Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kettles Country House Hotel County Dublin/Swords

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing