We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good country location with food to die for.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kettles Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Swords
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Stayed here due to a family funeral so quite a sad event. Ease of booking lovely rooms, nice staff and really good food made the sad trip a lot easier.
The location is fantastic, very central to lots of interesting areas and within easy reach of the airport and ferry. Thank you very much for a pleasant stay.
Bernies curry is a must!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arewetherenowdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

Stayed in Kettles for one night with a groupon voucher. Reception is a little hard to locate. Met by a friendly girl and check in was easy. Room was large. No matress protecter on bed and matress did seem a little dirty. Toliet could also have done with a good cleaning. The room itself was clean.

On the upside this is a nice warm feeling hotel with the best carvery dinner i have ever had. Chef was really nice and staff were lovely. Food is excellent and so reasonable.

Swords has a lovely modern shopping centre. So if you looking for a cheap night away for a shopping break this hotel is perfect as we really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katgirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Of the four hotels in which we stayed during our recent vacation in Ireland, Kettles was far and away the best. The room was very clean, the food quite good and the staff at both the hotel and the bar were pleasant and most accommodating. This was our first night so we were exhausted from a long flight and from driving the streets of Dublin, and our stay at Kettles was a much-needed respite between two days of travel. The room had Wi-Fi (a godsend at the moment) and the outside environment was rustic and beautiful. Aside from the bed-and-breakfast lodges, this was the best lodging we experienced during our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We booked last minute on booking.com because it had free WI-FI and airport transfer. While at the airport at 7PM we tried to call for the shuttle. For an hour they did not answer. We contacted booking.com, and after 15 more min. on hold, they were able to contact them. Kettles would not pick us up, as they said airport transfer must be set up directly with them in advance. We had to make our own way to the hotel.
LOCATION: Weirdest location ever for a hotel advertising as an airport hotel. It is about a 20 minute drive from the Dublin Airport.
MY ADVICE: Call in advance to be SURE they are going to pick you up before making the reservation. I am not the only one on here that had a transfer problem with Kettles.
AS FOR THE ROOM: I got the room for $42 euro on booking.com, and it was a great room for that price. Clean with a comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Call in advance to be SURE they are going to pick you up before making the reservation. I am not the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank dansoldit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We chose this hotel as a result of an offer on Groupon. We had no problem making our reservation as part of the offer. On our arrival we were given a pleasant welcome by the lady at reception & our booking was verified. I was asked to email through a copy of our Groupon offer which was straightforward as free wifi was available in our room. We noticed that an Early Bird menu was available for anyone able to dine before 7pm so we took advantage of this and had a lovely meal. Service was prompt and, although the restaurant was quite busy, our meal arrived quickly and was absolutely delicious. The serving staff were very attentive and pleasant throughout. The next morning we went down for breakfast - which was included in the offer - and the restaurant was quiet-ish. Our order was taken promptly with a choice of breakfasts available. Unfortunately this was probably the low point of our stay as, although the restaurant was quite quiet, it took 45 minutes for two cooked breakfasts to be served. We were initially given tea & coffee but the delay between then & the food arriving was just not acceptable, given our experience the previous evening when the restaurant was almost overflowing. The breakfast, when it did arrive, was quite reasonable - with the only thing that might have been nice would have to have been offered perhaps another egg or rasher of bacon when we said we didn't want black or white pudding or beans, which were included in the breakfast, as standard.

Our room was excellent, well finished, clean & comfortable. The shower is worth a special mention as I adore a strong shower and they really don't come much stronger than this - the term "fireman's hose" comes to mind! It was simply awesome!

So, in conclusion, a lovely stay in all aspects & even breakfast would have been fine provided we had expected it to take an hour & a half.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank LordSoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stayed in this small country hotel en route to Dublin city. Vert convenient to Dublin and the airport and close to Swords village. Room was large and clean with a comfortable bed, good quality sheets, a good shower and free wifi. Dinner was great value, perfectly cooked with very friendly resyaurant staff and very generous portions. Similarily, the breakfast was also very good and generous. This is a great value hotel - its not a 5 star hotel and does not pretend to be - but you do get excellent value for your money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rivermill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. After getting a groupon deal, we get to the hotel after a 3 hour drive. Give our room key to find a man showering in the room when we entered, went up to recpetion to complain and i was told i was wrong. Receptionist then went down to investigate and yes i was right!! We then had to wait 30-40 mins before getting a new room, to then find a filthy dusty room. The bathroom looked like it hadnt been cleaned in at least 4 weeks. We then had to complain for a 2nd time and we were advised there was no other rooms, we refused to sleep in that room so then had to wait 2 1/2 hours for another room to be ready. Overall i just thought the service and cleanliness was a disgrace and will not be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frog T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swords
0.7 mi away
Roganstown Hotel and Country Club
5.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
3.2 mi away
Carnegie Court Hotel
Carnegie Court Hotel
#4 of 7 in Swords
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Dublin Airport Manor
Dublin Airport Manor
#6 of 7 in Swords
312 reviews
4.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport
7.5 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kettles Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kettles Country House Hotel

Address: Lispopple Cross, Swords, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Swords
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Swords
Price Range: £69 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kettles Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kettle's Country House Hotel located just outside the lively town of Swords is an ideal venue for weddings, meetings or simply just to relax. Just minutes from Dublin airport, the Country House Hotel has 25 stylish and comfortable bedrooms all designed to incorporate the highest level of technology available while maintaining the homely atmosphere that we are famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kettles Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kettles Country House Hotel County Dublin/Swords

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing