We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little romance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kettles Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Swords
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We recently stayed at the Kettles Country House Hotel for the weekend break. The room was basic and clean. and quiet, and had all the bits and pieces you would normally expect, although it had no phone. The meals were generally very good and well presented. The breakfast could have been a bit more interesting. I don't particularly like fried potatoes as part of a fry. The hotel itself is quite remote and you need the car to get into Swords. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo-Anne E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for Kettles Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here on a 2 nite groupon deal from 7th oct, nice country location, suprised how nice and spacious the hotel room was, staff were friendly, the snug bar was a nice find last nite jus a pity we didnt realise it exsisted the nite before. Food was great best hot spicy wings we have ever had followed by juicy steak both of which can be found on the early bird menu served until 7. The chef made a point at 1 stage to come outta the kitchens last nite to ask was everything ok, which we thought was a great gesture, overall we really thought this was a lovely hotel. Well done guys!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccps32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

Myself and my wife stayed at Kettles over the weekend.
We had no problems finding the hotel just a short distance from swords and a straight road. Very easy.
The hotel and rooms were tidy and warm.
But most of all the food was fantastic. When we arrived we were informed the restaurant closed at nine so we dropped our bags and headed straight in.
As we entered I noticed a man eating some giant ribs. When I asked if I could order these, the waitress (very nice) said she would have to check if there was any left as the chef only prepares so many a day to ensure the best quality. Luckily he had a portion for me.
What a fantastic idea these are. I really enjoyed them, the meat was so tender and I licked the giant bones when all the meat was gone as the BBQ sauce was scrummy. My wife had the chicken Caesar salad which she also thought was fantastic. Well done guy.
We will definitely stay here again.
5 stars...

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SIC--58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I stayed here for one night on a groupon deal as a birthday treat. there were pros and cons but overall I don't think I would go back due to several reasons;

pros;
clean room
powerful shower,
comfortable bed,
friendly reception staff; the reception staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, excellent customer service from them.
nice lively bar: really enjoyed having a few drinks and a laugh here, there was some kind of event on when we stayed so the place was jammed with people and the banter and craic was great.
close to swords village

cons;
dated decor; the room decor is very average and quite dated.

difficult to find; we were arriving after dark and took a couple of wrong turns due to a detour on the road, its located on a winding dark back road so maybe we were just unlucky.

refused to give us food at 9.32pm;
after our late arrival we asked in the restaurant was there any possibilty that we could get something to eat to be told by the waitress 'no, the chef is gone' ( people were still eating I think the restaurant closes at 9.30). I asked if I could get anything at all, even a sandwich or some tea and toast to be met with a blank stare and an unhelpful repeat of 'no. the chef has gone home' as a pregnant lady if I don't eat small amounts frequently I can get quite nauseated so I was very very unhappy that not even a slice of toast could be rustled up. the waitresses attitude was very unhelpful. we actually ended up driving into swords village to eat. really very unhappy about this. To add insult to injury when we got back from Swords everyone in the bar was eating platters of sandwiches and cocktail sausages, so it was a mystery as to who had made these while we were gone!
noisy room; strangely we kept hearing loud disco type music on and off in the room on the saturday morning, and in the bathroom there were lots of strange sawing noises on and off all morning as well.

bad breakfast;
I ordered the full irish with poached eggs. the egg was done to perfection just as I had asked and the toast was fine, but other than that the breakfast was very disappointing. the sausages were the worst part, the beans were ok and the fried potatoes seemed as if they had been made a long time beforehand and left sitting. even the tea wasn't a decent cup of tea. disappointing was the word!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magzpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Stayed here due to a family funeral so quite a sad event. Ease of booking lovely rooms, nice staff and really good food made the sad trip a lot easier.
The location is fantastic, very central to lots of interesting areas and within easy reach of the airport and ferry. Thank you very much for a pleasant stay.
Bernies curry is a must!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arewetherenowdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Stayed in Kettles for one night with a groupon voucher. Reception is a little hard to locate. Met by a friendly girl and check in was easy. Room was large. No matress protecter on bed and matress did seem a little dirty. Toliet could also have done with a good cleaning. The room itself was clean.

On the upside this is a nice warm feeling hotel with the best carvery dinner i have ever had. Chef was really nice and staff were lovely. Food is excellent and so reasonable.

Swords has a lovely modern shopping centre. So if you looking for a cheap night away for a shopping break this hotel is perfect as we really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katgirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Of the four hotels in which we stayed during our recent vacation in Ireland, Kettles was far and away the best. The room was very clean, the food quite good and the staff at both the hotel and the bar were pleasant and most accommodating. This was our first night so we were exhausted from a long flight and from driving the streets of Dublin, and our stay at Kettles was a much-needed respite between two days of travel. The room had Wi-Fi (a godsend at the moment) and the outside environment was rustic and beautiful. Aside from the bed-and-breakfast lodges, this was the best lodging we experienced during our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swords
0.7 mi away
Roganstown Hotel and Country Club
6.0 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,537 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Carnegie Court Hotel
Carnegie Court Hotel
#4 of 7 in Swords
250 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ashbourne Court Hotel
Ashbourne Court Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ashbourne
266 reviews
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kettles Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kettles Country House Hotel

Address: Lispopple Cross, Swords, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Swords
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Swords
Price Range: £94 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kettles Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kettle's Country House Hotel located just outside the lively town of Swords is an ideal venue for weddings, meetings or simply just to relax. Just minutes from Dublin airport, the Country House Hotel has 25 stylish and comfortable bedrooms all designed to incorporate the highest level of technology available while maintaining the homely atmosphere that we are famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kettles Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kettles Country House Hotel County Dublin/Swords

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing