We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbeyglen Cottage B&B
Ranked #2 of 19 Swords B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Weyburn, Canada
Level Contributor
173 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I didn't believe a place could be perfect until we stayed here for a couple of nights. Beautiful, huge, sunny room ... hosts who provided a wealth of information and tips ... a charming breakfast room and a breakfast where food did not stop coming. One day when we headed out before breakfast, a packed lunch was provided that surpassed anything I would have made for us. Great location too as it's close to the airport and has close express bus to Dublin. Perfection!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blkWeyburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
106
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My good friend and I traveled all around Ireland back in April and started and finished our trip at Abbeyglen Cottage. Bernadette and Andrew were so friendly and sat down with us our first evening and gave us amazing recommendations for Dublin and Swords (there are so many great things to take in within walking distance of their place!). The food, prepared by their son, was incredible (real traditional Irish breakfast) and the whole atmosphere of the place was exceptional--very comfortable, clean, and friendly. Even when we had to leave at 4am for a flight they left us a breakfast pack to take with us in the morning. I would recommend this to anyone staying in the Dublin area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed here for an extended (overnight) layover at the Dublin airport. The owners were incredibly welcoming, offering a cold glass of juice and biscuits on arrival. The room was very clean, smelled amazing and very quiet. Easy to reach from the airport using the 41 bus, paid €2.90 fare one way. Two types of pillows were offered (firm and soft) and the shower had great pressure and was able to reach a good temperature. Breakfast included was delicious, cooked to order, and very filling. HIGHLY recommend this location if it is in your budget for a very relaxing stay with some great hosts. Took a fixed fare €12 taxi back to the airport on the recommendation of the owner, the buses often are not reliable.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paige217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The Abbeyglen b&b was the most quaint, friendly, comfortable, and clean bed and breakfast during our trip around Ireland (April, 2014). From the moment we walked in, Andrew and Bernadette treated us like family. They not only welcomed us in the most Irish of manner, they gave us some wonderful recommendations on dining options and sites nearby.
The rooms look nearly brand new, with clean bathrooms and beautiful lighting from the large windows. To top all that off, they served the most delicious breakfast we found throughout all of Ireland. The four of us tried several of their breakfast items (omelet, pancakes, oatmeal with cream) in addition to the fruit, homemade breads, fresh juice, and cold cereal. It truly was a treat staying in this wonderful bed and breakfast. The price was very reasonable and we loved it so much we stayed there again at the end of our trip so we could enjoy all that the Abbeyglen had to offer! Don't miss this treasure of a bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: We stayed in the first two rooms as you enter the house, both were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradkayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Abbeyglen Cottage on June 2014. The room was very pretty and clean. Bernadette and Andrew are wonderful hosts, charming and very thoughtful ! Great location near the Dublin airport (5min !) We warmly recommend this B&B !!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

With its proximity to the airport, we spent our last night at Abbeyglen after a two week tour of Ireland, and it was one of the best appointed rooms from all the ones in various B&Bs that we stayed. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean with a large window, huge comfortable bed, nice bathroom. The delicious breakfast (perfectly toasted bagel with smoked salmon and scrambled eggs + fruit plate, yogurt, home baked breads and cookies, juice, coffee) was at a set time to help the hosts plan for everyone's meals and also allow us get to the airport on time. The hosts Bernadette and Andrew were very nice, explained things in detail, recommended a restaurant in town for dinner, and pointed us to a gas station across the street to fill up before returning our rental car at the airport. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avid_traveler_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Abbeyglen b&b was a great experience and highly recommended. The caretakers were very informative and provided maps for the bus and dublin city. It is a five minute walk to the bus station and 10 minute bus ride to dublin center city. The breakfast was great with full fruit and yogurt appetizer and choice of entrees. It was beautfully presented and delicious.

Room Tip: No pool but didn't want to give a poor rating for anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMacizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swords
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
2.6 mi away
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
2.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dublin Airport
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyglen Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyglen Cottage B&B

Property: Abbeyglen Cottage B&B
Address: Abbeyglen 47 Dublin Road, Swords, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Swords
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Swords
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeyglen Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeyglen Cottage is an approved 4 star quality B&B set in a privileged location - quiet yet just 5 minutes stroll from a selection of excellent pubs, restaurants and shopping. 5 Minutes drive to Dublin Airport. Ample private parking is available & bus stops are a few metres from the house. All bedrooms have spacious en-suites with power showers, superior beds, flat screen satellite TV, complimentary high speed Wi-Fi & tea/coffee making facilities. Our superior double rooms have a queen size bed. Our double room has a standard double bed. An extensive breakfast menu is available. Breakfast trays are provided for early departures. Le Francais parle. We look forward to welcoming you to our home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Abbeyglen Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyglen Cottage B&B County Dublin/Swords

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing