We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cold rooms, poor heating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Swords
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cold rooms, poor heating”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

It took three rooms until I had one that was warm, the heat did not work in the first room and the second one had a window open on a -2C night, the heater was not adequate to warm the room. The third room finally had working heat. There is no lift available to guests, and there was not a room available for me on the first floor, as I could not lift my case up the stairs at 6 months pregnant. There was no hairdryer, or ironing facility in the room, there was no toiletries in the bathroom. The bathroom fixtures looked old and outdated, therefore giving them the appearance of dirty. The tea mugs were dusty and had to be rinsed before used. I could hear lots of outside traffic and noise and the windows were drafty. I would not recommend this hotel as there are lot of other similarly priced options in the area. Check-out some of the local Swords B&B's. The following night I stayed at the Waterside House Hotel in nearby Donabate for €50 including breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    250
    246
    132
    182
See reviews for
282
294
91
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014

booked this hotel because of its convenient parking for dublin airport but will never stay here again. definitely not suitable for families. "sofa bed" is actually a sofa that one child can sleep on and a warped roller mattress underneath it. duvets had mould on it, curtains would not close and the room was freezing. very bad experience

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank rhea2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swords hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stayed in this hotel the night before flying to Orlando.
It was easy to find, the reception staff were really helpful, especially when there was three of us and only two mugs. They supplied us with another mug and extra tea, coffee and milk.
The room was clean, comfortable and we all slept well.
The WiFi costs five euro, which is a bargain considering other places I've stayed can charge up to fifteen. It's also close to quite a few food places like TGI's and McDonalds, so there's plenty of choice!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RVJarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This is my first ever tripadvisor review, I stay in hotels a lot, both as a couple and as a family, and I have never had such a bad experience in any hotel. I usually look past bad reviews when people are just being overly fussy and picking out small unimportant things to complain about, but this hotel really was a horrible place to stay!

We booked a family room in mid January as we had a 6.30am flight, what a mistake!
Hotel was easy to find and well located for the airport, but no clear information was given regarding the hotel facilities or the airport shuttle service even though I asked.

Room was an ok size but battered around the edges, we pulled out the kids beds and there were crunched up crisps underneath and there was no sheet on the smaller bed. I went down to request one and was brought to the linen closet and given one so that was fair enough.
Bathroom was very dated with just 1 small bar of soap but no shampoo/shower gel

The hotel was very noisy, people banging around upstairs and small but loud groups hanging around at a doorway smoking, which we could smell clearly in our room.
We all settled in for the night looking forward to a few hours sleep before our early flight but there was a lot of shouting and banging on doors going on so we couldn't relax and sleep properly for the rest of the night, couldn't wait for 4.30am to come so we could get on the bus and get the hell out of there!

Didn't even want to leave our car there for the days were were gone but at that stage and with nothing else booked we just had to leave it there and hope for the best, thankfully it was still there and undamaged when we got back.

In hindsight I think the hotel is maybe used by the HSE as accommodation for people who need it as it is cheap, probably cheaper than putting people up in B&Bs and the people there seemed like a really rough lot judging by the language we heard during our stay, our kids were very shocked to hear such profanity being shouted in the hallways.
We stayed on a Wednesday night so would have assumed it would be nice and quiet
Will never stay in another travelodge again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eleanor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

When we arrived we were given a key to a room - realised someone else was already in the room when we walked in. The room we eventually got had not been hoovered. There was the remains of a dinner on the floor stuck into the carpet. We couldn't wait to leave. I wouldn't even think about staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareOConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

while the outside of the hotel looks quite modern, this is good as it gets. the rooms themselves are decent in size but there is aircon which is a negative. beside the hotel is a wee restaurant which does a full fry for €10, this hotel is sufficient for a 1 night stay only

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank irish_lad84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, ca
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

If you just want a cheap place to spend the night before flying out of Dublin, this place will do. Be aware that you will have to pay for the airport shuttle 5 euros each way! You also have to pay for wifi. The hotel is very basic only a very small bar of cheap soap in the bathroom. There was a kettle this coffee ant tea but the lid if the kettle was broken. The wake up call was a knock on the door. The room needed a lot of TLC. The staff were very nice at the front desk.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calsierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Calsierra,

Thank you for your comments in relation to your recent stay with us.
We do indeed offer a shuttle bus service to the airport which costs €5 per adult with children free. You will also be pleased to hear that we are currently in the process of repainting the whole hotel so perhaps your room has not been finished yet. I was delighted to hear that you found our staff friendly and I have passed your kind comments to our staff

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again next time you have travel plans

Regards
David Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swords
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
2.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
1.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel
1.8 mi away
Dublin Airport Manor
Dublin Airport Manor
#4 of 7 in Swords
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords

Property: Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords
Address: Travelodge Pinnock Hill Roundabout, Swords, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Swords
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Swords
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Dublin Airport offers clean, modern rooms, 5 minutes' drive from the main airport terminal. An airport shuttle service is available every 30 minutes from 04:00. There is space for free parking on site. Each room features a satellite TV, a spacious work desk, and tea/coffee making facilities. Some rooms can accommodate families of 2 adults and up to 2 children (under 16 years old). Guests can dine at the informal on-site restaurant, open from 07:00 until 22:00, which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Full meals and snacks are available, and a range of alcoholic drinks are also served. Swords village is a 5-minute walk away. There are pubs, restaurants and shops, including the fantastic Pavilions Shopping Mall. There is direct, easy access to the M1 and M50 motorways and Dublin Ferry terminal is 12.6 miles from the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords Hotel Swords
Travelodge Swords
Swords Travelodge
Swords Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Dublin
Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing