We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Say No...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Swords
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just Say No...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights as part of educational tour group.

The corridor with room numbers <100 is atrocious. Couldn't tell if it smelled like wet dog or mold. Some students were expected to sleep on mattresses on the floors.

Our bed had springs poking through and a shower that leaked. Trouble flushing the toilet. The restaurant attached was good, but the server is very rude. Bad customer service.

It was apparent they wanted to get everyone out of the lobby/ restaurant (only place for wifi) by 10pm as the internet would go down at that time.

Not convenient location.

Recommend choosing another place.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank bobbi_damrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    239
    238
    130
    176
See reviews for
270
284
90
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Not conveient to airport, dirty and totally unwelcoming. Jail for a night. I would not recommend this hotel to other travlers. You can find better 'deals' closer to Dublin city center than are clean and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Worldtraveler452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swords hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Expected the hotel to be basic, but clean and comfortable. I was wrong, absolutely disgusting room. Strong smell of damp and stale cigarette smoke in the room. A filthy child's sock was covering the smoke alarm with cigarette butts piled up on the outside window ledge. The furniture and carpet were stained and tatty. My bare feet did not make contact with the floor. Mattress and bedding stained and bathroom filthy. Didn't use the shower. I'd make sure all your vaccinations are in order, if your planning to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed in this dump during an EF Tour trip. Our room had no phone, the towel warming rack was broken, and only one key was given per room. The free internet in the lobby was terrible. When I asked about the missing phone, the manager said: "Not every room has a phone." in a matter of fact way. The place is just cheap and dumpy in general. This doesn't make EF Tours look very good. Not a place I would ever stay at if I had a choice.

Room Tip: Don't stay here is my tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobsacomano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

A budget priced motel grabbed at last minute gave us the Travelodge Swords Dublin.

We arrived and were greeted by friendly staff members who booked us in for 2 nights as requested. The room was not too bad but needs a revamp as the interior is a little dated and needed some closer scrutiny by the cleaners as there were dust tracks around the walls where they met the floor and flat surfaces were dusty. Thank god we didn't look under the beds as per some previous reviews....

The beds were adequate and pillows plentiful as well as an extra rolled up doona but a lack of clean towels for everyone was not pleasing.

Day two - as we were leaving around 11am, cleaners were on our floor cleaning rooms and we had some chores of our own to take care of in town so we left them to it. When we returned around 2 pm our room still hadn't been made up or fresh towels, so we started packing our bags to fly out the next morning. About halfway into the pack job, a cleaner knocked on our door and asked if she could come and clean our room, but as we had gear everywhere, we asked if she would mind doing it in around a half an hour, which we all agreed on.

We left once more, advising another cleaner we had left the room and went into town to find a movie and some dinner. We did both, came back around 8pm to find our room still not serviced, towels not refurbished and later in the night, found we were lacking toilet paper...not pleased.

We went to the reception desk and asked the lady there for some items to refurbish the room ourselves and were advised if was not uncommon for the cleaners to do this? Not if I was running the same hotel I could assure you!

After the toilet paper issue, the room was once again back to a semi operational state, so we left in the morning again advising of our disapproval which was met with a sincere apology from the gent at the desk, but it's not his fault and shouldn't have to be addressed by this staff member, it should go back to the cleaners getting smacked for missing this and from other reviews, many others. In the past few months as well.

Positives - close to the airport and shops, friendly staff, accommodating for the lack of......
Negatives - uncaring unprofessional cleaning staff and dated decor, noise from above tenants.

Would I stay here again? Only if it were the last place standing in Dublin.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main road, backing onto the Bushland is quite good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Bathroom was dingy, windows opened on a narrow alley/hedge littered with broken glass, bottles and cigarette butts, and there was a burned spot on the carpet. Wifi was limited to the small lobby unless you paid extra and was spotty at best (might be an artifact of staying as part of a school tour group that were all pummeling the wifi trying to stay in touch with family/friends back home). While waiting for the tour bus the next morning, had a fun time identifying the various kids toys, mattresses, furniture, broken windows, etc. stuffed into the overflowing skip/dumpster.

Would have gone with a "poor" rating, but breakfast at the attached diner saved this place (even if the guy running the joint the second morning was a bit of a tyrant rushing people through the line and lying about the pancake maker being broken--I understand we were a big group who were holding up other patrons).

Note that you can walk into town for more food options, but this isn't totally pedestrian-friendly as you have to navigate a relatively busy roundabout with no crosswalks. Rest of the walk is on sidewalks/pavement and just fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mshund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here as we needed to be at the airport by 5am the next morning. If you've stayed in a Travelodge then you know what to expect: room had double-bed, desk, sofa, tea and coffee facilities. We didn't notice any cleanliness issues in our room. Reception staff were friendly.
You can get here by local bus from Dublin city centre (around €2.65 at time of writing); bus 41c stopped just a short distance away and the driver pointed us in the right direction. To get to the airport, there is a shuttle bus shared with the nearby Premier Inn which runs roughly every 30 minutes from 4am and costs €3 (cash only). I didn't see this on the website but there was information on Reception, and it was good news as we're keen walkers but felt like the airport looked more than a mile away. There is a bar-cafe attached to the hotel, but if you aim for B&Q around the back of the hotel, in 5-10 minutes you'll get to a shopping area which has a McDonalds, TGI Fridays, O'Briens and Hogs & Heifers. The bar-cafe had what looked like the standard Travelodge menu, which has not been particularly good value when we've had it at other Travelodges in the past, but I can't comment on the food at Dublin Swords.
At €36 for two people, this hotel was a very reasonable option and we had a pain-free and quick journey to the airport in the morning so it was ideal for our purposes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlisonC070877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swords
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
1.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport
2.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Dublin Airport Manor
Dublin Airport Manor
#4 of 7 in Swords
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
2.5 mi away
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords

Property: Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords
Address: Travelodge Pinnock Hill Roundabout, Swords, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Swords
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Swords
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Dublin Airport offers clean, modern rooms, 5 minutes' drive from the main airport terminal. An airport shuttle service is available every 30 minutes from 04:00. There is space for free parking on site. Each room features a satellite TV, a spacious work desk, and tea/coffee making facilities. Some rooms can accommodate families of 2 adults and up to 2 children (under 16 years old). Guests can dine at the informal on-site restaurant, open from 07:00 until 22:00, which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Full meals and snacks are available, and a range of alcoholic drinks are also served. Swords village is a 5-minute walk away. There are pubs, restaurants and shops, including the fantastic Pavilions Shopping Mall. There is direct, easy access to the M1 and M50 motorways and Dublin Ferry terminal is 12.6 miles from the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords Hotel Swords
Travelodge Swords
Swords Travel Lodge
Swords Travelodge
Travel Lodge Dublin
Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing