We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty and uncleaned shrimp rice” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gojinka Teppanyaki Asian Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gojinka Teppanyaki Asian Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 60 Restaurants in Swords
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Thai
Restaurant details
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dirty and uncleaned shrimp rice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Everything else was grand, except the won ton soup which was gross and the shrimp fried rice. the rice had TONS of huge shrimp. but could not be eaten because the shrimp had not been cleaned. they had the gross vein still intact. when i called to complain they brushed it off as if it was SUPPOSED to be there!! yuck for sure.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A well kept secret....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

I was introduced to this place a year ago and I have been back every few weeks since - often in preference to places with fancier menus and bigger reputations.

Chinese is my favorite and I have eaten it all over the world (including China) everywhere from the fanciest establishments to street corners. The food in this place is plain but it's good.

There is no denying that the menu is limited, however it includes all the standards and most importantly they are consistent time after time. My partner and I recently met with a party of friends here to celebrate a birthday and it struck me that the menu suited everyone - even those who's first preference would not be Chinese.

The value is still amazing with an all-you-can-eat, table-served-buffet for €12.50.

The staff are quiet but efficient and friendly. In contrast to the experience of another reviewer I am always amazed at how quiet the dining room is. Anytime I have been there (including weekend nights) there has been no more than a handful of other diners. In fact I can't understand how this place has remained such a well kept secret.

If I had to find fault it might be with the approach to the venue. There is plenty of free parking but the entrance doubles as the access to the take away counter. It also nestles in the corner between the pub and shop next door and unfortunately the local kids tend to cluster in a large group practically on the doorstep. I hasten to add that they never caused me the slightest bother and in fact on occasion one or two of them have even opened the door for me. However I could see how it might be a bit off-putting for others.

All in all, if you want great value Chinese food regularly in a relaxed setting with friends this is the place to go.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AishlingKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great food & value, one but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Stopped in here for a bite while passing through swords. The buffet menu is unbelievable value with 3 courses (all you can eat) for just €10. The term 'buffet' means something a little different here though - table service all you can eat - a little bizarre but enjoyable none the less. Service was friendly & efficient. The only 'but' would be the noise level, which bordered on intolerable. This was due to a combination of the class of people dining there at the time (common) and the fact that the waiting room for take away food backs onto the restaurant and is separated by paper thin partition, offering very little privacy and intimacy in the dining room. This is a real pity as the food is really delicious and the only reason I would not return to this restaurant.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SolusIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“best food ever, lovely friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

love this place and eat in it quite regularly. only problem i have is the teenagers hanging around outside. very noisy and can be abit intimidating, although the staff do their best to move them on! food is fab, they also do an all u can eat menu for €10

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kulcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gojinka Teppanyaki Asian Restaurant also viewed

Swords, County Dublin
Swords, County Dublin
 
Swords, County Dublin
Swords, County Dublin
 

Been to Gojinka Teppanyaki Asian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing