We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B&B for airport layover”
Review of Glenmore House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenmore House
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good B&B for airport layover”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is situated really close to the airport and is serviced by Permier Inn big purple shuttle bus every 30 mins for 2 euros from the coach park zone 14. This was my main reason for my one night stay here. I found that booking directly from the hotel website was cheaper than going through any internet booking service. On arrival I was suprised to find the hotel situated in really nice grounds with a nice garden. The staff are nice and friendly and the contential breakfast well set out with a good selection. The internet access was a bit weak in my bedroom but it worked. In the main areas there is a good connection and there is a lounge where you can sit in the evenings and connect if required. The hotel is clean but there are a few points that made me cringe slightly eg. dirty light switches in room, dirty and worn bathroom sink drain sealant, window handle which had fallen off. The hotel seems to be undergoing or have went through a renovation with recent painting. The painting itself is well done but all furniture in my bedroom was covered in little yellow paint spots which was such a shame. My disappointment is because if it did not have so many little minor things it would be such a fantastic place to stay and would easily be a 5 star report

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good as the hotel is set away from the road in private grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MacWow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    72
    93
    38
    55
See reviews for
85
91
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Ann, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Traveled with hubby, 20-year-old son, and my mom; stayed one night.

Pros: Close to airport with a shuttle to/from airport for 2 Euro per person. Nice breakfast room and common areas. Good price. Walking distance to a bit of shopping and a few restaurants.

Cons: The 3rd bed in our Quadruple Room (4 adults) was a fold-away bed that was not long enough for my 20-year-old son. No security on ground floor windows. Door to room looked like it had been kicked in at some point and was poorly repaired. Bathroom was in dire need of a thorough cleaning. Hairdryer had loose wires and had obviously been repaired badly. I forgot my coat in the room, so I called and was told they had it and would hold it at the front desk. When we stopped by to pick it up, my coat was nowhere to be found. Wifi was slow.

I rated this as Average despite all of the cons due to the convenience and good price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamm516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Yes, it is basic, but very good for the price. Our triple room was clean and large, as was the bathroom. Beds were comfortable. Continental breakfast was adequate, in an airy and pleasant room. Very convenient to tbe airport, with a €2 shuttle stopping in front of the
Glenmore every 30 minutes.
Toilet paper should be improved-hey, this is important.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel is located near the airport.
5 minutes by taxi. Shuttle runs from the hotel located near (to the airport).
The rooms are large. In our room the shower did not work, we were given the keys to the next available number.
Staff friendly.
There breakfasts.
Wi fi only works in the lobby at the reception ..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ikoroleva888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great location, car parking, public transit at the entrance, good breakfast, pleasant common area, and nice staff. Both intercity and Dublin buses at the entry, minutes from the airport, food purveyors in walking distance. Large shopping center in walking distance. Good rates for both the beginning and end of trip. Better vending machine offerings in the evening would be nice.

Room Tip: Rooms for up to 4 adults. View may be better in some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Was expecting a quaint b&b, had high ratings and good reviews.

When we got there, they couldn't find our expedia reservation, then we were informed that the free wifi will only work in the lobby.

There was no AC and our room door didn't quite close all the way. Our bedroom was a queen, single, and cot. It felt more like a hostel than a b&b.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Auburn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swords hotels

Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

A somewhat innocuous property that doesn’t really seem to match up to what you would be expecting to get. But in reality it a one stop, night before you catch your flight sort of place. That said I spent 7 nights there and found it ideal for my circumstances.

The rooms are comfortable and clean and tidy, they were just repainting at the time and it was going to be done all over. Breakfast was continental style and served from 7 to 10 each day. There was no beverage making facilities in the room but the dining area was open 24hrs and there was always plenty of facilities in there to have tea and coffee and fruit teas.

Though there was no other meals provided you were more than welcome to use the dining area to eat takeaway in. And a few used the microwave to warm food in as well.

It is situated in the Swords Manor area of Dublin about 10 mins from the airport. Premier Inn run a shuttle bus to their hotel down the road and you can use this to get to Glenmore House cost is €2 a trip it drops you off outside.

The main bus route goes by the front and the stop is 2 mins up the road you need the 41, 41c to go into or out of town. You can get a rover type pass for 5 days for €27 and you can travel all over on that. The Airport is within walking distance for hotel restaurants should you so wish or about 10 mins the other way is a retail park with a TGI and a number of other outlets to eat and drink.

A pleasant and nice place to stay, the staff are very welcoming and polite and willing to help the weary traveler with local information and advise. Cheap it is and so is it cheerful, you can’t go to far wrong if you are staying for one night before your flight or a few nights seeing Dublin

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy6026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swords
1.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dublin Airport
1.9 mi away
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin Airport
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmore House

Property: Glenmore House
Address: Airport Road, Swords, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Swords
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Swords
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenmore House 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin Airport is less than a mile from our door, making Glenmore House the perfect choice for travelers to Dublin. We offer friendly, convenient and cheap accommodation close to Airport but still only 15 minutes from City Centre. All rooms are en-suite with TV, tea/coffee facilities, hairdryers in rooms. FREE WiFi, FREE continental breakfast, FREE left luggage room, FREE parking if you are away on holidays. Best rates and value around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Glenmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmore House Hotel Swords
Glenmore Hotel Swords
Glenmore House County Dublin/Swords

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing