We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value at its best ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mint Leaf - CLOSED

The Mint Leaf
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Value at its best ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Bought a living social deal for 2. Steak on a stone. Says on the voucher you have to ring in advance. When I rang up I was told I did not need to book. Arrived a week later and way met by a rude waiter that told me I should of booked that it was on the voucher. I said nothing. When we sat down his mood changed and he was very nice. Ordered a starter between my partner and I. Portobello mushrooms with cheese. Delicious.. Little bit cold but tasted lovely. The steak on a stone was new to me but was absolutely wonderful. Well presented and 3 different sauces to choice from. Chips were large and chunky. (the way I like them) and all cooked to perfection. My partner must of said that she enjoyed the steak about 20 to 30 times. Finished off we shared a rhubarb and strawberry crumble. Which was also lovely. Could not fault the food. Waiter was on his own for most part of the 2 hours we spent there and while he was coping there could of been more help with the serving.

Helpful?
1 Thank Barryfitz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    11
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go back!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband and I ate in the restaurant on the 17th April after purchasing the groupon deal. I was pleasantly surprised at how friendly the staff were and the food was amazing. Couldn't fault anything about the restaurant.The steaks were mouth watering and the chunky fries are to die for! The chocolate orange cheesecake is soooo nice!! You have to try it. The manager didn't charge us for our drinks as he said the food was delayed. I never noticed that we were waiting for our food. The waiting staff kept asking if we needed anything. I thought that was such a lovely gesture. Overall we had a great dining experience and I'm looking forward to going back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dexter12334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Warm friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Had a selection of starters with a glass if wine as we didn't intend having dinner. Chicken wings, portabello mushrooms, chips and salad washed down with a cool glass of Pinot Grigio. Very relaxing. Monday night only one girl working the floor doing a great job - very friendly. Lovely evening all around. There is a gorgeous room for private parties upstairs with a separate bar looks like a great place to celebrate something. Really enjoyed the evening there.

Helpful?
2 Thank Lindaw65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I recently purchased a living social deal for the mint leaf so we decided to go for dinner on Saturday evening. We booked a table for six and was pretty empty when we got in but soon filled up. The food was lovely especially the steak on the stone was a real treat. The deal is on living social for another few days I would highly recommend a purchase

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DM2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Really great - A+!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Ate here last Sunday evening. Booked a table for 7pm and was expecting to see the place empty (given Mothers day is just over and Easter is around the corner) however, I was plesntly surprised to see the place full! We had a booth too, which are especially nice. We came here because we had a groupon voucher but found we were treated just like a full-paying customer, which I find rarely happens with these deals. The waitress automatically deducted the groupon amount from our bill without even asking, which was an especially nice touch. Food, atmosphere, service & wine were all great - I couldn't fault a single thing!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aaafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mint Leaf also viewed

 
Swords, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing