We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Roganstown Hotel and Country Club
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Swords
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good location for airport”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel as a stop over before early morning flight

Food good asked for steak which was not on the menu and was accommodated with no problem

Service efficient and friendly

Nice atmosphere in a busy bar for I assume Father's Day lunch

Rooms good size clean and well presented

Overall if I can get the same rate I payed I will not hesitate to stay hear again while in Dublin

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mirrlachs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    173
    107
    44
    36
See reviews for
135
257
30
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Roganstown hotel and golf club is definitely one of Ireland's best. They have fantastic staff a friendly welcome and a professional service. The hotel is excellent, it's very busy with weddings and golf but it does not detract from serving its customers with a smile. There staff are brilliant from Nina on the front desk to Kevin the General Manager nothing is to much trouble. We were a party of 18 golfers and everyone wants to go back. Well done Roganstown.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveBHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
177 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

$69 after paying $140-$217 to stay for 10 hrs we had to stay here because ALL the hotels near the airport were booked, even the Travel Lodge was. Our GPS took us around the world to get there and you actually do go down back road through farm land to get to the place. The restaurant was closed and there is nothing within walking distance but farms. We did the pub which food was to close with in an hour. We each hand a sandwich, Rum/coke and beer for €25. the parking was FREE.

Room Tip: Better here then at the Travel Lodge (gross) and Rad Blu (3x€
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomRIUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
173 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

By calling itself a 4 star, it did not meet my expectations. Rooms are clean, but sparse with no decor and few updates. It was a large room and as we got a great deal online, we accepted that it was functional. The restaurants are NOT vegetarian friendly - just a basic pasta on offer - and that is not what I would expect from a 4 star. The pool/sauna was not impressive - it smells a little and has a definite "community centre" feeling. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful with suggestions about restaurants in town etc. The one bonus is that if you are staying near the airport, it is a lovely way to be in the country on your last night before an early departure. I went for a walk at sunrise and enjoyed that before a trans-atlantic flight.

Room Tip: rooms facing the golf course offer a nice vista. Note, you can hear the people in the next room (the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaniaCarriere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Laois, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel last night and I have to get my experience across to anybody thinking of booking this hotel asap. Although RH&CC is in a good location (near airport but still rural), it is not as described.
The entrance is cold and unwelcoming. Don't be fooled by the sash windows and low lighting, it is grubby and in need of a good carpet wash. Very rough around the edges if you pay any attention at all. Check in was standard but severely lacking in information and had to ask what time food was served to, was the pool still open, what time was breakfast served from as I was not volunteered this information.

The bedroom on first glance is again standard, white, clean linen and spacious with a clean bathroom, again with clean, white towels. The view from our room on the first floor was of the golf course and this was very pretty, especially on a sunny day. However, when I spent a few minutes in the room I began to notice scuff marks on many walls and even parts where paint had chipped off. This is a small thing really as the room itself was clean but the tv did not have the list of channels that the list beside it claimed it did.

The bar was our next port of call for some food and drinks. Firstly, my wine glass was dirty, from both watermarks and somebody else's lip-prints. Then the food...I order a €15 steak dinner which was absolutely dreadful. Though the cut of meat was mostly fatless, it was not cooked medium as I had ordered and was in fact luke warm at most. The thick cut chips were fine but the pepper sauce was basically lumpy gravy with pepper flavour and the onions piled on top of the steak were cooked within an inch of their lives and soggy. Worst of all was the side salad in which I discovered, by chewing on it, a small stone with dirt still on it. Okay, you could say, at least the salad was fresh, but it couldn't have been washed very well. My partners calamari were also cold and limp, processed and from frozen in appearance. He said that they were cooked okay but weren't even luke warm. Yes we still ate it as we were starving and didn't want to cause a fuss on our anniversary.
The breakfast was even worse. We arrived at 7.10am. Breakfast starts at 7am and we figured that we would be early (for once). The dining room had already seated at least 30 other people and we were pointed to an empty table by the solo waitress working that morning. To put things in perspective, this dining hall could seat at least 100 and had one staff member on the floor. 10 minutes after breakfast supposedly starts the bread was gone, the orange and apple juice was gone and the eggs were gone (temporarily). You could tell that they had been there by the crumbs and empty jugs. Just as we walked to the self-service hot breakfast buffet the one waitress arrived with plates to help yourself with your breakfast. The plates were cold and not put into a heater. The beans, bacon and tomatoes were also cold. The sausages were hot. The eggs arrived via the waitress when we had already eaten what was on our plates. No toast, tea/coffee was offered to us and was not available for self-service. We left after waiting another 10 minutes to order our toast/tea. The waitress was serving the other patrons and was very busy doing this but it was too many people for one staff member to cope with alone. A customer beside us asked if omelettes were available as the brochure in the room had said and she replied that she would check. We weren't around to see the answer. I should add that ham, cheese, yogurt, fruit and cereals were available to help yourself too but we had wanted hot breakfasts, and there was no bread to go with the ham/cheese anyway.
At check-out, we were not asked how our stay had been. I cannot comment on the pool/golf facilities as we did not get a chance to try them. I think that maybe people are willing to forgive elements of this hotel as the golf course looks very good and may be the main saving grace for this place. Do not stay here if you want to eat good food!
We were staying there as we were considering it as a wedding venue, but are certainly not considering it any longer.

Room Tip: Order a room with a view of the golf course if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Faith Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and a group of 18 stayed in the hotel for the weekend.
We were booked all over the hotel.
Our meeting room for the weekend was a bit cramped for 18 people.
The room was very comfortable and bathroom facilities adequate.
The food for dinner on both Saturday and Sunday was beautiful but the breakfast was a disappointment. The hot cooked breakfast was warm at best. There was only fried eggs and when some of us requested scrambled or poached eggs it took 15-20 mins for them to be served.
The only other problem we encountered was with the wifi - very poor connection and it often cut out.
The staff for the most part were helpful & friendly.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Henstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I have recently stayed here, I really liked to location and the grounds are well kept, it is only 10mins from the airport.
I used the pool which was a added bonus to have during a conference I was attending.

Some rooms were given robes and slippers but not all, it didn't seem to matter the type of room you were in it seemed to be more by chance if you ended up with them.

I do feel though that breakfast could be improved, on the first morning the hot breakfast items were not kept stocked up, there were a number of people in my group that never got eggs, or beans, even though they had pointed out to the waitress that there was none left. It also wasn't terribly busy so I'm not sure what the delay was.

I ate in the restaurant twice and the food was nice, the service on the second day was a bit slow though.

The rooms could do with being soundproofed in some way, I could here the person next door speaking on the phone.

Overall its a nice hotel,the bar and leisure centres are good places to chill out, but if it improved the soundproofing, and breakfast service it would be really good.




Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sunflowers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swords
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
5.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,511 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kettles Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
2.8 mi away
Carnegie Court Hotel
Carnegie Court Hotel
#4 of 7 in Swords
245 reviews
7.3 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roganstown Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roganstown Hotel and Country Club

Property: Roganstown Hotel and Country Club
Address: Naul Road | near Dublin Airport, Swords 30103, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Swords
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Swords
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Roganstown Hotel and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roganstown Hotel and Country Club Hotel is located in Swords, North County Dublin. Only 10 minutes from Dublin airport, Roganstown Hotel offers luxurious hotel accommodation set amidst beautiful countryside. It is the only golf hotel in North Dublin offering two championship golf courses on-site, along with gym,leisure and spa facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Roganstown Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roganstown Hotel And Country Club County Dublin/Swords

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing