We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moycarn Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Ballinasloe
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Shearwater Hotel(Ballinasloe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hodson Bay Hotel(Athlone)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creggan Court(Athlone)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
65
11
3
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
11
3
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed herefood was lovelytop classwould highly recommend this hoteldaveathloneweddingshannonbridgemotorwayguinnessireland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stayed here for the second time (not choose by me as a few months ago it was not to write about) while attending a work conference in the local Shearwater Hotel.
This hotel was fabulous.. absolute transformation - Lovely Rooms, Great Staff and I even spoke with the hotel manager who was a gentleman.


Would deffinately stay here again.

Room Tip: any room i would think the place is a lovely hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186605Rebecca_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Just back from a stay at the Moycarn Lodge minutes away from Ballinasloe, if your looking for somewhere to relax this hotel will do the job. Perfect setting right on a marina with a lovely view of the river! The hotel has been recently taken over by a lovely couple who were extremely welcoming and the staff couldnt be more helpful. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner and the food was delicious. As for the rooms, you definitely get more than your moneys worth - try get a room on the first floor viewing the river for the best view. Will be back soon for a long weekend :) Eoghan and Sam

Room Tip: 1st floor over-looking the river.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Firstly you can ignore all negative comments bellow. Iv recently stayed ror a week and staying for anther one soon. The moycarn has recently been taken over by two lovely young enthusiastic individuals therefore any comments Pre march 2012 no longer apply. The rooms are fabulous on the same quality standard as the local shearwater, the food is ten times nicer than other hotels in the area. The drinks at the bar are excellent. The service is the best iv ever experienced the staff cannot do enough for you even down to choosing your breakfast time! It feels like a home away from home when you stay at the moycarn. The atmosphere is tranquil, ( lovely place to relax and unwind ) they show all the sports events. The scenery is fabulous! I would thoroughly recommend the lodge for a party, small wedding or even just a couples night away! 100% . Debbie - Galway

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I recently stayed at the Moycarn Lodge with some friends and found it to be one of the most relaxing hotels I've stayed in. The staff were very friendly particularly the new managers which only recently took over, a very welcoming atmosphere overall! The food was excellent and it was a nice 15 min walk from Ballinasloe town with a lovely view on to the marina. Will definitley be back again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My husband, daughter and I have stayed here 3 times and can honestly say that the welcome we have had has been excellent. The room we usually stay in is huge and the bath is a big hit with our two-year old before bedtime. The evening menue is extremely good value, and we have never had a bad meal there. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews