We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa Weekend”
Review of Shearwater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shearwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spa Weekend”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Went here for a Spa weekend with my mother in January, and we were given a double room instead of a twin, no problem as they changed us to a twin straight away and girl at reception was very friendly! It appeared that there was only food available in the restaurant so we had to drive to Athlone for dinner the first night but it turned out they had cheap bar food too which we got the second night. They had cocktails which was great but they weren't anything special! The staff in the spa were very helpful and friendly! One problem though- the brochure said there was an aroma sauna at the spa, but it was actually the shared pool one. The buffet breakfast was delicious. There was a lot of children in the jacuzzi but if you go down later in the evening there is an adult only time. Overall there is something for everyone, I had a great weekend and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwikwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    230
    109
    67
    42
See reviews for
238
244
22
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Loved our stay in this hotel for four nights during the last week of January. We booked this hotel through their website and i got double booked by their system. But their reservations manager Geraldine, sorted it all out for me in no time. The stay itself was very good. the hotel is great and was ideal location for us. The air conditioning system needs some looking into perhaps as the rooms tends to get a bit on the colder side during the nights. There are a few other reviews mentioning that as well. The lounge area feels very cold as well. My wife used the spa services and gave it a big thumbs up. The breakfast was decent and the weekday staff for the breakfast service was great. Only criticism would be that by the 4th day one tends to get bored with the same choice of spread for breakfast. The swimming pool was great fun for us including our little 2 year old. The free WiFi is only available on the lounge area downstairs and in the rooms you need to connect with an Ethernet cable provided. Over all a great base for you in the middle of the country, with nice clean rooms, friendly staff, good leisure services, free parking in the basement and good connectivity. Balanasloe town itself where the hotel is located does not have anything special to offer tourists but its very close to the motorways taking you places.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodlovingdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We've Just had a lovely weekend in this hotel - the lobby is hugh and staff very friendly and efficent, great place for kids there was a kids club here but my boys didn't get to use it as they're not keen on leaving their mammy also the leisure ctr is a good size and the pool is spot less clean and warm most importantly! we had food in both the bar and the restaurant but our preference was the restaurant the sea trout was to die for and there was a man playing the piano which create a lovely mood in the place the breakfast was also great on both mornings with a wide selection from cereal to full irish and it was served until 11.00 which i also taught was great. so all in all we had a great time relaxing and busy when you have kids but we would defo go back

Room Tip: we upgraded to a suite and it was a great size plenty of room for the boys to play
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin D, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear reviewer,

Many thanks for you very kind recently posted review.
Our kids club is proving very popular for our younger guests so it's a pity they did not join.
Glad you also enjoyed our newly opened Marina Restaurant where our resident pianist adds to a relaxing ambience for all guests.
Look forward to welcomming you back with your family in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed in this great hotel from Thurs 26th of Jan to Sun 29th. Overall it was fab, nice clean rooms. We booked two rooms, one double, and a twin. It was a birthday get together for my mother who lives in another county in Ireland. The breakfast was amazing, from big Irish breakfast with lovely Irish brown bread, plus European type of breakfast. The lady serving us was great, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, even down to getting us hot water to heat up our daughter's bottle of milk.
But we booked two full body massages, and two facials for my mother and myself, in their amazing spa "Heather and Earth", Both treatments done on different days.
I had a girl named Michelle she did the full body massage, it was the best massage I ever had, she was so friendly and caring, extremely professional.
My facial was done by a girl called Aisling, she was absolutely wonderful, such a great laugh, I really enjoyed my time there. My mother really enjoyed her treatments too, sorry cannot remember the girl name.
The spa itself, is so relaxing, dark, lit only with candles. The English Lady at the reception in the spa was very friendly and also helpful. I'm Irish, but i live in the UK, i have told all my friends they must stay there and have some treatments.
Room service was prompt, and food was delicious. The only thing I would say is in the morning at 4am the rooms get very cool, not freezing. Management was made aware as we checked out. Overall we would give our stay 9/10..totally fab!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishlady98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I attended a wedding here in September 2010. We had the honour of staying for two nights at this luxurious hotel. The room was absolutely gorgeous and had a plasma screen tv on the wall, and also a small balcony area which was handy for smoking on!... The staff were very friendly, and attentive. The food was lovely also, and there is a great atmosphere about the building. No much in Ballinasloe itself but when attending a wedding it was ideal. Also the leisure and spa are were very clean, and very relaxing, and were included in out room price. Nicest hotel i have stayed in! 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgconroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin D, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you so much for your recent review posted.Really happy you got to experience our newly opened "Heather and Earth" Spa which is proving very popular along with our Leisure facilities.
We at the Shearwater especially are proud of our staff and the consistanly great reviews we get for Customer Service.
Again many thanks and we look forward to welcomming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Martin Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

First impression on entering the hotel lobby from Car Park is the shear size of the lobby area which is well spaced out and modern. Check in was done quickly but when we got to our room there was a double+single bed but we only wanted a king bed since we had brought our own travel cot for our baby and two beds take up two much room so we moved up a floor and were happy with same. We had a bite to eat in the bar and headed straight to pool area which is kept very clean with loungers around pool area and a children's separate pool area which was of great benefit. My wife had booked a 1hr back massage and she said it was done very professionally and relaxed after in the suite area. We all had dinner in the bar area later that evening and the staff were very attentive and quick at serving. We found the staff were very people friendly especially with our little toddler which made a difference from other hotels we stayed in. Dinner was part of our package the next evening and after meeting the baby sitter who was looking after our toddler (she was from the mini explorer club in the Carlton) we enjoyed our family meal for 25! Not one of our group had a complaint which is a great achievement considering the amount of people that needed to be served. Breakfast on both mornings was buffet style and a little boring but nothing out of the ordinary. We did have problems with our heating in the bedroom and it seemed that many others did also. After a phone call to reception a portable radiator was brought to the room in minutes and it sufficed but seemed like the whole corridor of bedrooms had the same problem and also the corridors were very cold too. Still it did not dampen our stay and we would consider staying again if in the area.

Room Tip: Room 249 is a very far distance from reception area and is on top floor but is away from road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eoinhyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This appears to be an extremely popular hotel locally, judging by the number of people who were there on a Saturday in February – at various functions, in the bar and restaurant, in the leisure centre, and staying overnight.

And with good reason. This is a good quality hotel, with excellent service, friendly staff, reasonable prices, and high quality throughout.

The bedroom and fittings were first class, with decent bathroom and flat screen TV with a variety of channels, movies and games. Also – free connection to high speed broadband as standard (why doesn’t every hotel have this ?)

Breakfast is served up to a generous 11.00 am, and the Irish breakfast is a must. We also had dinner in the evening, which again was very good quality.

The leisure centre and swimming pool was particularly busy on the Saturday - again, there seemed to be a good number of non-resident locals availing of the facilities. Also noticed a number of families with young children at the breakfast – did they come to avail of the leisure facilities. Quite possibly.

The only fly-in-the-ointment was the check-out on Sunday morning. It appeared that everybody was maxing out the late breakfast and the latest check-out time of 12.0pm. – as might be expected. Unfortunately, there was only one receptionist on duty – causing a sizeable tailback of people wanting to get away. As the queue was lengthening, a joke was going around that this was possibly the reverse of the Hotel California – you can leave but you can never check-out!

Room Tip: If you have family or travelling with a group, check out the suites - very good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dec105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballinasloe
0.3 mi away
Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre
13.5 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,845 reviews
13.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
903 reviews
17.4 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
807 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Hotel

Property: Shearwater Hotel
Address: Marina Point, Ballinasloe, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Ballinasloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shearwater Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shearwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Shearwater Ballinasloe
Hotel Carlton Shearwater
Shearwater Hotel Ballinasloe, Ireland - County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing