We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster hotel”
Review of Shearwater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shearwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disaster hotel”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

No heating and no hot water for duration of stay . How this hotel has a four star rating is a crime in itself. Hotel had to supply a radiator to the room and there was no hot water on arrival and still no hot water at check out the following day. Asked to speak with a manager ( Liam ) he advised he would respond by mail the following week. When there was no response from hotel I called the hotel and was advised a different manager would respond. No reply to date . This is a solid indicator how this hotel value their customers .

Room Tip: Avoid if you are expecting a four star hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    236
    113
    69
    43
See reviews for
247
249
23
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I eat in the shearwater regulary and the food is always nice. They have a great bar menu. My favourite is the pasta dish and if you want to treat yourself with a desert try the creme brulee, Its to die for. The service is excellent and the staff are a delight, very friendly and accomodating. the decor is fabulous and very relaxing with large screen tv to watch any sporting event. Its like my second home. Well worth a visit..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richy9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed on the 9th and 10th of November. Was on a voucher deal, so not in a position to rate for value. The check-in was fast and friendly. The room was spacious and clean. The hotel bar was comfortable and reasonably priced and the bar staff were friendly and efficient. The breakfast was well stocked and there was no waiting. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayguyBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Was out for meal on Saturday night with friends from work must say food was beautiful & the service was excellent this was down to one member of staff Siobhan Walsh who really excels at her job. Thanks Siobhan.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Once again the Carlton Shearwater came out tops. Super food, great bar menu, excellent service and friendly accommodating staff. Alan & Paul are great behind the bar with super bar food service from Siobhan. I've attended a few functions and parties here and really can't fault it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank June166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed here on the night of sat nov 9 on a grab one voucher of 39 euro for a double room.
Beautiful hotel,lovely irish staff,great hearty breakfast.This was easily the cheapest accomodation we have ever had and one of the nicest.There is simply nothing to complain about and we will definately come back

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meath
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

stayed there recently and would defiantly return if a few changes were made. check in was delayed due to only one receptionist in a very busy hotel. the rooms certainly didn't let us down, fantastic rooms, spacious and very clean. food in the canal pub was to die for with it's presentation and taste. only one thing though was our waitress who didn't smile of even come back to check on us. she clearly didn't want to be there. the bar closed early which I didn't mind as we were told the porter would look after us. he couldn't do enough for us with the level of hospitality he gave us. I felt so welcome and didn't want to go to bed. think his name was Patrick or padraic. breakfast was a different story, even though the food was good and the staff were good, the room looked like a school room. the furniture was mix and match. two different types of chairs and three different types of tables. some with cloths and the rest without. the carpet was outdated and filthy dirty. it clearly needs changing. cheap looking signs over the self service didn't help. but other than that it was a nice relaxing weekend. I would return again without a doubt if those few changes were made.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deidre d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballinasloe
0.3 mi away
Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre
13.5 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,919 reviews
17.4 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
932 reviews
13.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
13.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Hotel

Property: Shearwater Hotel
Address: Marina Point, Ballinasloe, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Ballinasloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shearwater Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shearwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Shearwater Ballinasloe
Hotel Carlton Shearwater
Shearwater Hotel Ballinasloe, Ireland - County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing