We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shearwater Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hodson Bay Hotel(Athlone)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creggan Court(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (861)
Filter reviews
861 results
Traveller rating
361
255
128
72
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
255
128
72
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily suiteleisure centrelovely hotelbar foodkids clubsteam roomboth nightsfamily breakunderground parkingtop classnight breakfood was lovelyfollowing morningboth morningslast weekendwould highly recommend this hotelsitting room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
564 - 569 of 861 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013

my friend and i stayed here for a weekend at the start of november. we had a very nice experience overall. the girls at reception were so friendly and helpful upon check in. the bar was a bit too loud when we went for food on the friday so we decided to go into the restaurant. great experience in there thanks to Brian and Una who were so friendly and even though they were very busy they didnt seem under pressure at all. breakfast buffet was great as well plenty of food only thing was only had 1 towel in our room and were waiting ages for another.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank kinsale68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

No heating and no hot water for duration of stay . How this hotel has a four star rating is a crime in itself. Hotel had to supply a radiator to the room and there was no hot water on arrival and still no hot water at check out the following day. Asked to speak with a manager ( Liam ) he advised he would respond by mail the following week. When there was no response from hotel I called the hotel and was advised a different manager would respond. No reply to date . This is a solid indicator how this hotel value their customers .

Room Tip: Avoid if you are expecting a four star hotel
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I eat in the shearwater regulary and the food is always nice. They have a great bar menu. My favourite is the pasta dish and if you want to treat yourself with a desert try the creme brulee, Its to die for. The service is excellent and the staff are a delight, very friendly and accomodating. the decor is fabulous and very relaxing with large screen tv to watch any sporting event. Its like my second home. Well worth a visit..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richy9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed on the 9th and 10th of November. Was on a voucher deal, so not in a position to rate for value. The check-in was fast and friendly. The room was spacious and clean. The hotel bar was comfortable and reasonably priced and the bar staff were friendly and efficient. The breakfast was well stocked and there was no waiting. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayguyBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Was out for meal on Saturday night with friends from work must say food was beautiful & the service was excellent this was down to one member of staff Siobhan Walsh who really excels at her job. Thanks Siobhan.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews