We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year 2013”
Review of Shearwater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shearwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“New Year 2013”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had another great New Year break in this Hotel. Staff were great. Food was good as usual.
Liam and Estella couidn't do enough for everyone.Looking forward to our next visit
Family suites are very good value,the extra bedroom and tv were a godsend..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bcsireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonACHGM, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive feedback and delighted you enjoyed another stay with us at the Carlton Shearwater Hotel.
All of the team here are highly committed in providing a genuinely warm and professional level of guest care, with both Liam & Estella a great example of this.
I will ensure your feedback is passed onto both of the above team members and indeed all of the team in general via our "guest feedback" forum.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Warm regards,
Garrett McGuinness
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    232
    112
    68
    43
See reviews for
241
246
23
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Nice hotel. We stayed for the room rate of just €59 and has a double and single bed in the room. This also gives you access to the swimming pool. Staff are friendly. Rooms are big and comfortable. Food is nice. Pool area is clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AidanMc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

have visited the restaurant, in this hotel several times now and have yet to be disappointed, food is lovely, staff are friendly and efficient and value is good. good parking. would recommend it to any one

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Currently staying in the carlton shearwater, and finding it incredibly disappointing. Absolutely the blandest room ever, fridge has been removed, top of one of taps missing, room was so cold when we arrived, and there is no nice touches in the room at all. Downstairs the c spa cafe is a joke, not even manned and what is supposed to be on offer looks very unappetising. Everything is just done so cheaply. The location of the hotel is also terrible, overlooking a lidl or a carpark. So unless you actually have something specific reason to stay in ballinsloe anywhere else wouod be better. At the moment we are trying to make the most of our time here, rather than actually enjoying it. The last time I stayed in a carlton hotel I got food poisoning, this was a give it another go trip, but never again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DublinSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

had a 2 day break here just after xmas,had a great time,rooms were lovely,food was great,pool was huge and siobhan in the bar was great craic and very helpful,went with friends and they all enjoyed it,id deffo go back

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan_p66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Third time to stay at this hotel had a brilliant time again always a great atmosphere,Booked a meal in the restaurant and the food was fab.
Also had a massage with Clodagh it was the best massage i ever had.
A special thanks to Paul and John the barman plus Siobhan for making our break so enjoyable.
Be back again..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dera634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We arrived at this hotel at approx. 4.30pm and joined a queue for checking in. We were eventually checked in by a "very efficient" 30 something female, a smile would have left me with a lasting impression but referring to me as "Ma'am" certainly did not. This hotel lacks the warmth of "Ireland of the welcomes", and the potential is certainly attainable with some serious investment in customer service training.
The food and service in the Canal Bar was very good and the attention paid to customers by management was unequivocally beyond reproach.
Now here is where everything becomes unraveled.We had 2 rooms at a discounted rate No's 102 and 104 respectively located on floor 1 straight above the bar. We had a drive to Shannon the following day so decided to "Cuir amach an solas"(put lights out) at approx 10.40pm at which time the music from the Canal bar was only warming up for for the next 2.25 hours resulting in a bass thump resonating within the room. This loud cover version music sounds wonderful when one is (or has been) downing the Christmas Sherry, but when one is trying to sleep in a hotel room paid for with hard earned cash it is beyond doubt, totally unacceptable. A phone call to reception at 00.25 literally fell on deaf ears, because our conversation was incoherent due to sound levels emanating from the aforementioned bar. This was without doubt the worst hotel stay I have ever encountered in Ireland. I could not, and would not recommend a stay here unless you enjoy competing against a karaoke lounge sing-along during your attempt at slumber.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballinasloe
0.3 mi away
Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre
13.5 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,885 reviews
11.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
823 reviews
13.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
13.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Hotel

Property: Shearwater Hotel
Address: Marina Point, Ballinasloe, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Ballinasloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shearwater Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, LateRooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shearwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Shearwater Ballinasloe
Hotel Carlton Shearwater
Shearwater Hotel Ballinasloe, Ireland - County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing