We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here in February for one night - family birthday”
Review of Shearwater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shearwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The hotel is nice. The room wasn't available when we arrived - we had to wait 30 minutes - even at 3pm. The staff were friendly. The leisure center was nice but the steam room was poor. We had dinner in the main dinning room. It is very poorly lit and impossible to see in - I had to use phone torch to see the menu. I kid you not! The staff are lovely but service is a bit slow. The food was nice - not cheap. Music in the bar was a nice touch. It was busy which is a good sign. Breakfast was good - again not cheap. We had a voucher for accommodation but it still cost about 150 for dinner and breakfast for two adults and a child.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonACHGM, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for both your positive and constructive feedback all of which has being used to further improve the property.

I note your comments relating to the poor level of steam in our steam room and have now addressed this with our Leisure centre manager.

Disappointing that we did provide the required level of efficient restaurant service, but again this has been reviewed with both our food and beverage manager and the relevant team members at our weekly restaurant meeting.

The lighting in the restaurant has become a source of constructive feedback on two occasions now, and I will be ensuring that we correct this.

Thanking you again for your very valuable feedback and I hope to see you back with us at the Carlton Shearwater hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Garrett McGuinness
gmcguinness@carlton.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 838 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed here on the way to the West and found a lovely fresh bright addition to the Carlton Hotel Group.The rooms were up to standard and had all the amenities for the weary traveler.Food was was well served and there was music in the bar .Overall a pleasant surprise in the horse famous town Ballinsloe.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballycane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonACHGM, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Delighted you enjoyed both our high standards of food offering and warm welcome from all the team.

The property is perfectly located to stop off and take a break from long journeys while travelling on the M6 and is the first port of call when entering "The Gateway to the West."

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back time and again.

Best regards,
Garrett McGuinness
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just after returning from 2 nights in the Carlton Shearwater. We (2 adults and 3 kids) thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Food was top class... rooms were spacious and clean. Staff couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard1970Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonACHGM, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very positive feedback, all of which acts as a great source of motivation for all the team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Garrett McGuinness
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Perhaps carlton make up their own stars but they are not 4 stars in our opinion.
Would be nice if it was scrubbed up and painted here and there. The carpets in the corridors and room we were in had, in our opinion had a smell of spilled beer and smoke.

Parked in the free underground car park. We were quickly and courteously checked in by Liz whom was very welcoming, lis gave us great advice on the bars to go to up town. Night life was good just a 5 min walk up town on both Friday and the sat night. We visited the bar in the hotel then "an thain" "maud millers" and "the auld sod" all good lively bars walking distance of the hotel.

The swimming pool, steam room and jacuzzi were really nice even 4 stars.

The food and service in the package dinner B and B deal was very poor the restaurant was very busy and the staff were run off their feet, perhaps a lot of the nice young staff are not given enough training I don't blame them for the poor food or service, management should sort it out and improve it step by step. Little or no gluten free options and no opinion of having something unless it's on the menus. We asked a few times for missing cutlery but I got up and got it my self up by bar when it was not coming. Also asked for coffee after the dessert and no coffees came if we waited there since.
Breakfast was also average much of the food was defrosted or tinned food, no fresh fruit or breads. Porridge was nice.
Would stay again if it was a very good offer but they're plenty of good offers online for better.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eogha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonACHGM, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

It is very evident that we fell well short of our usual standards with regards some aspects of your stay.

While we are in the process of rebuilding the team for the coming busier times, this should not reflect below par training standards.

You can be assured I will be dealing with the issues directly to ensure we do not endure such inconsistencies in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Garrett McGuinness
gmcguinness@carlton.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

we stayed here in February the hotel was clean and staff were friendly .The only problems were the room we stayed in had a smell of stale cigarette smoke and the food in the restaurant was only warm and not hot. The restaurant was not busy as there were only five there at the time.

Room Tip: As for a none smoking room as we were not told when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p4ul75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonACHGM, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. All of our rooms are non-smoking, however sometimes this policy is not adhered to.

I have however discussed with our housekeeping manager the process for ensuring all evidence of smoke is removed when the above is the case.

Apologies for the discomfort this may have caused.

Yours sincerely,
Garrett McGuinness
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed here recently with my wife for a weekend and it was very much a mix of positives and negatives. I had won a trip to this hotel on a radio station. To start with a positive, the voucher I received was for a midweek break but the hotel allowed me to use this at a weekend at no additional cost.

On arrival, person at reception was pleasant and we had no issues. Walking to the room, the hotel was quite cold and our room was also very cold. Unfortunately the heating did not work in the room so did nothing to alleviate the cold. Following a call to reception, a member of housekeeping arrived with a lobsided plug-in heater (only 2 out of 4 wheels in place) but it worked and did the job.

Our break included dinner on both nights so we went down for dinner on night one. We ended up in a very dark corner in the restaurant. While the girl serving us was very pleasant, the service was not great. At one stage, I finally got a glass of water after asking for the third time. the food on the first night was a disappointment. Neither my wife or myself thought much of the main courses. If it wasn't for the fact that we had two nights included, we wouldn't have been eating there on the second night. While the quality of the food improved on the second night, the service was dreadful and we were waiting ages - to place our order originally and then between each course. There were lots of issues on that saturday night with lots of people complaining to the manager. it seemed to be a total disaster.

In relation to the breakfast, the selection could be broader - specifically in relation to choices of breads/pastries/fruit - but the quality of what they had was good and I could not fault the taste of the cooked breakfast.

Overall, we had a number of issues and I would not be rushing to return to this hotel. If I had been a paying guest, I would have been complaining but as I got the weekend for free, I put up with it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynxbct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonACHGM, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for forwarding on your very valuable feedback.

It is both disappointing and concerning to learn that we could not provide a positive experience for many aspects of your stay.

We have used your feedback to collectively evaluate exactly what went wrong throughout your stay and ensure we take all corrective action through both departmental training and also our various processes on nights where all of our food and beverage outlets are extremely busy.

Should you be returning to Ballinasloe in the future, please ask for me directly if choosing to stay in the Carlton Shearwater Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Garrett McGuinness
gmcguinness@carlton.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Four of us (two couples) stayed here at the weekend and booked through lidlbreaks. They had a great deal for €49 pp which was bed, breakfast and 2 course bar dinner.
The hotel is large and well presented. It's in a quite town so not much to see but ok for a night or two.
The woman who checked us in didn't seem to friendly but all other staff seemed to be quite nice.
We used the pool which seemed very clean.
Dinner in the bar was delicious.
Rooms were nice, a little worn is places but overall ok. Nice large comfy bed!
Breakfast the next morning was quite nice too.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to be interconnecting?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spankygem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonACHGM, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Carlton Shearwater Hotel and for taking the time to pass on both your positive and very constructive feedback.

It is however disappointing that we could not achieve consistency in our guest care across all areas of the property. We are currently working very hard on this area, with weekly departmental meetings focusing specifically on this area and all sources of guest feedback being shared with the team to highlight where we are excelling, but more importantly where and how we need to improve.

If staying with us in the future, have no hesitations in asking for me personally when making the booking.

Yours sincerely,
Garrett McGuinness
gmcguinness@carlton.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballinasloe
13.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
13.5 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
2,024 reviews
11.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre
13.4 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
12.9 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Hotel

Address: Marina Point, Ballinasloe, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Ballinasloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Price Range: £48 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shearwater Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shearwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Shearwater Ballinasloe
Hotel Carlton Shearwater
Shearwater Hotel Ballinasloe, Ireland - County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing