We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Shearwater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shearwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Modern and stylish hotel. We high recommended going to this hotel. Room are big and spotless. Staffs are professional. If you plan a trip in the midlands we suggest to stop here. We try also the restaurant and it was high quality

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Framat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    234
    113
    69
    43
See reviews for
245
248
23
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel is great, it has everything you need and want, staff are amazing and very friendly and cannot do enough to make your stay go smooth. The hotel is really clean and has a lovely spa and swimming pool. Lovely restaurants and bars and the food is lovely. It is right in the centre of Ballinasloe, not much to do in this town, but it is a great base to use if you are travelling around the west of Ireland. It is only 1.5 hours drive from Dublin and it is very easy to find. The bonus is that you can bring your pet and its no problem at all, they make them very welcome! I would definately stay at this hotel again, I really couldnt find a problem at all.

Room Tip: choose near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallow, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Our stay was for one night only but the next time will be for longer. It is a very impressive looking hotel & with its underground car park with direct lift access to reception there is no need to worry about the weather. You get a good feeling in this hotel, staff are friendly, rooms are spotless & the food is good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noonab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A fleeting visit to the Carlton Shearwater Hotel over the recent Bank Holiday weekend for food following a Leinster Interprovinical Rugby game in Ballinsloe was not a dissapointment.
Excellent bar customer service on a very demanding First Holy Communion Day was provided by very polite, efficient and helpful bar staff. The food was well presented and the overall experience by my group (6) was we would return again.
Thanks again.
Claire (Dublin)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Myself and my partner stayed at the Carlton Shearwater over the May Bank Holiday weekend.
When we first entered into our room, the shower temperature gague wouldn't work- upon reporting this to the front desk we were moved immediately to a bigger room.

The rooms and facilities are fabulous, we both enjoyed the pool/sauna/steamroom/Jacuzzi and found the girls working in the Health Centre extremely helpful.

We were on a deal rush package at €99 including a two course meal each from the bar. We headed down around 8.30 pm on Saturday night. The food was forgettable, I had the duck main and it was fairly pitiful. I also found the buffet breakfast very bland, In general I think a four star hotel should not be operating a buffet, rather a cold buffet with hot breakfasts cooked to order.

Lastly, while the hotel had strawberry/rasberry jam for sale- there was none to use on your toast.

All in all, the actual accomodation itself is lovely, the beds are beyond comfortable- the food however is quite poor. I would also point out that we were disappointed to find out that our deal wasn't really a deal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just spent the 1 night.
Modern clean hotel.Large comfortable rooms.Easy parking beneath hotel.
Certainly would stay again.
Room rate was good value.
Room at rear not much of a view of anything.
............................

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Martin5192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for a one night break on April 25th, it is a lovely hotel, the food in the bar was excellent,the warm welcome we received from Estella was great. Our room was very clean and spacious. Breakfast in the morning was delicious with a great range for everyones taste buds, have to say thank you to Liam for the lovely good morning welcome. great hotel cant fault it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballinasloe
0.3 mi away
Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre
13.5 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,917 reviews
17.4 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
930 reviews
13.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
13.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Hotel

Property: Shearwater Hotel
Address: Marina Point, Ballinasloe, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Ballinasloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shearwater Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shearwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Shearwater Ballinasloe
Hotel Carlton Shearwater
Shearwater Hotel Ballinasloe, Ireland - County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing