We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Shearwater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shearwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Spent a long weekend in Ballinasloe for August bank holiday. Shearwater Hotel provided good base from where to explore East Galway. Lovely rooms, and thoroughly enjoyed gym and pool. Had a family meal in hotel restaurant Saturday night. Very busy but food was lovely. Served by waitress Mary who was lovely and very professional. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mckc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

I recently stayed in the Shearwater Hotel in Ballinasloe with my family. From the minute we stepped in the front door, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very spacious, clean and up to date. The swimming pool was fantastic and the spa was exceptional. The food in the restaurant was first-class and we were served promptly. We cannot fault this hotel and we will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Emily b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Had dinner with group of friends.Would highly recommend Shearwater food and service were excellent .served by a waitress called Mary .Had a lovely bottle of wine Wedding on same day hotel was busy lovel atmosphere.Will definitely call again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank sallog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had a nice stay at the Clearwater. Heading on to boat on the Shannon for few days. Stayed Sunday night at Sheraton for our evening meal before continuing our journey. We had a lovely meal. Not too busy which was nice but good atmosphere. We had three young children with us which is tricky best of times. Our meal was served by Mary who was friendly and courteous. Nice stay would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noni35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The final stay of our family summer break was at this hotel.Impressive reception area.friendly and attentive staff.great leisure area.Good food.Only downside was that our room was stifling hot.window only opened a bear inch and air-con was hopeless.We could not stay in the room for any length of time as it was so uncomfortable due to the heat so we spent most of our time sitting in reception area where it was cool.struggled to find family activities in the area.drove to Galway which was a good 45 mins away to do some shopping in Eyre Square as there was nothing in Ballinasloe to do.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llkehoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

In hotel overnight on business, had very pleasant stay - reception could not have made me feel more welcome, room was of good standard ( although quite warm at night), breakfast was good, mildly affronted by staff member that served me (Jean/Jane?), found her quite dismissive and even rude at times - could do with a training course on hospitality!! Overall very agreeable stay, would return!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kelly3754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night out with family recently, I couldn't fault it staff were very helpful. We are in bar food was top grade as was service. My room was beautiful and very quiet would definitely return! Actually will definitely return...

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatherineMulkern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballinasloe
13.5 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
2,002 reviews
13.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.3 mi away
Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
957 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
14.6 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Hotel

Address: Marina Point, Ballinasloe, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Ballinasloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Price Range: £41 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shearwater Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shearwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Shearwater Ballinasloe
Hotel Carlton Shearwater
Shearwater Hotel Ballinasloe, Ireland - County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing