We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week in Ballinasloe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Certificate of Excellence
Fl
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Week in Ballinasloe”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Awesome hotel with great people and atmosphere. Close to everything. Ownership is on site and goes out of their way to ensure you are completely satisfied. Staff are excellent and very friendly as well. Would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoxfanFL1925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    25
    13
    1
    4
See reviews for
44
33
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We booked this hotel and had a 'fingers crossed - hope its ok' attitude. The welcome was warm and the rooms equally so, perhaps a bit too much for our liking. Quality and standard of room and bathroom fittings was excellent and above that which we had anticipated. Free toiletries were most welcome too.
We had an excellent dinner and were served by staff who were very helpful and pleasant. Definitely service with a smile. Breakfast was very good and plentiful but I think the lady taking our order had difficulty understanding our accents.
Overall one of the nicest and best value for money hotels of our southern Irish tour,

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristineandBruceG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ailsa Craig, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We happened in to Ballinasloe looking for a place to stay enroute to Dublin and what a pleasant surprise. It was 9 pm-ish and the owner was still there. He insisted on helping us unload and on knowing that we were well settled in our room. The room we had was very comfortable and well appointed. We were impressed with the attention to detail. Staff went to extraordinary lengths to make sure we had the extension cord we needed for a cpap machine. Breakfast the next morning was lovely too. Sorry we had to get going and would have been happy to stay longer at Gullane's.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank brosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights 1bath and 1hand towel in room and no response to reception when phoned. No mattress covers on beds just the bed sheet. Breakfast we were told was all day but waitress very sour when we asked for b/f at noon on 1st day. 2nd day I got up early for b/f, left my son sleeping and was asked would he be wanting b/f when he got up then. Room not serviced between stay, no clean towels, no clean br, no beds made, no tea or coffee for 2nd day. Fire alarm went off at 11.46pm on 2nd night ejecting us out of our sleep and our beds into hallway. No staff could be found, no answer to reception x 2, no direction on whether there was a fire or not. Unable to get back to sleep, ruined night. checking out next morning reception made no mention of it until I asked, then said sorry about that now we don't know what caused it to go off. Appeared to have little care about how disturbing it was. One more thing the reception seems to do double duty as the business office here all clearly audible. Hotel guests wait their turn until the local business is completed, they seem to have little awareness of you standing there waiting. At 80 euro a night this place is a rip off and similar price to the 4*Carlton in town also. I stayed there only because of reviews and rating on trip advisor. At most this is a 2* pub with rooms above with a 1* service from all staff. Terrible

Room Tip: Sorry, don't know what a good room would be here. Have to struggle through 4 fire doors with bag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank c1gabbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed here during a competition and were moved rooms because we had been given the wrong room by mistake. The reception staff seemed to think we had misled them or something - when infact the staff had given us this room. Most of the staff were very friendly and accommodating - I think it was the manager who seemed to think we were trying to scam them! The room itself was fine, although we were above the hall - which meant that if we wanted to go to bed earlier, we would hear the noise. But as the manager said, we were part of the performance so, in the end, that wasnt an issue.

The door was very difficult to close - it required a lot of slamming - and meant everyone else did the same which at 8am after going to bed very late - was not a welcomed noise! Plus you heard everything they said as they walked down the hall. I think the SAS should try this as part of their interrogation technique because it nearly drove me insane.

The breakfast was very good and there was lots of choice. The staff were also very friendly here too.

Overall, it was ok for a nights stay. I just think they should fix those doors! :)

Room Tip: Make sure you dont get a room above the hall if there are any parties on :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dapper80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This hotel was a breath of fresh air after some less than stellar experiences during our holiday. The room was very appealing and very clean with a well-appointed bathroom. The staff were all excellent (special praise for the bearded gentleman in the bar / restaurant, who was exceptional) - friendly, cheerful and well-presented. The food was fantastic and represented great value for money.

I'm glad the other places we considered were too busy; otherwise we'd have missed out on a great experience at Gullane's.

Room Tip: Might be best to avoid rooms at the front if you're a light sleeper and / or need to have the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank O Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Just stayed the night in Gullanes Hotel after coming from Dublin for a party:) Really friendly staff and lovely atmosphere. The hotel owner made sure everyone was enjoying their evening and I was talking to him myself:) Bedroom was clean and tidy,not a problem:) The food was amazing too! Really tasty:) Not for a summer holiday but a fab hotel family run:) Loved my stay:D

Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria_Galway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballinasloe
0.3 mi away
Shearwater Hotel
Shearwater Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ballinasloe
750 reviews
13.4 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,844 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
13.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
11.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: Main Street, Ballinasloe, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Ballinasloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A True Authentic & Elegant Family run business, since 1943. Gullane’s Hotel is situated in the town centre of Ballinasloe, the Gateway to the west of Ireland. Gullane's Hotel, located in the thriving town centre of Ballinasloe, has been recently refurbished, restoring the 1820's building with 4-star standard comforts. Ballinasloe town is World Famous for the annual Ballinasloe October Fair, It is one of Europe’s oldest horse fairs dating back to the 18th century. This annual event attracts visitors from all over the world with many returning to the town year after year Gullane’s is full of character and style and is quickly becoming a favourite for visitors in Galway. We offer Traditional Bed and Breakfast in a relaxed and friendly setting. Conveniently located just 1km off the M6 Dublin – Galway motorway, only 90 Minutes from Dublin or 50 Minutes from Galway City, Gullane’s Hotel is an ideal location when visiting the west of Ireland. Over the years Gullane’s hotel has gained a reputation for excellent food combined with a warm welcome and personal service, whether you are visiting for Business or pleasure our famously friendly and efficient staff will ensure that your stay with us will be one that exceeds your expectations. Many of our guests arrive as visitors and leave as Friends. A warmest welcome to you all, Tomas, Caroline and the Gullane Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre Ballinasloe, Ireland - County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing