We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and cosy room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Weather and poor road conditions necessitated an overnight stay in Ballinasloe as I was on my way home from Galway one evening. The lady on reception is a real asset as is the young barman, both so friendly and made an unplanned stay very pleasant for a weary traveller. Bar food was good as was the good selection of wines by the quarter bottle. Room was very cosy, love the sloped dormer roof and I slept really well. I will stay here next time I am in the area on business.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lollypops12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

Best hotel in Ballinasloe or even east Galway by far. Family owned and managed. Clean and comfortable, modern fittings, staff always available and happy to help you with any request. I have stayed at Gullanes a number of times over the years, I wouldn't stay anywhere else when in the area.
Great breakfast provided in residents dining room and other home cooked food served all day into the evening in the bar on the premises.
This hotel is in the middle of the town with parking adjacent to the hotel. Stay with confidence.

Room Tip: Don't really know, every room I have had has been good. Aware that there are functions sometimes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Collette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We went for a meal in gullane's hotel,Galway at the weekend.Made very welcome by the staff,and owner. The food was lovely,,the tables were clean and the seating were comfortable ..also warm.The care and attention is excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowman742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I have had occasion to stay in Gullanes occasionally and must say the care and attention is excellent. The room was comfortable, clean and cosy and the breakfast was the best I have had in a long while. Tomas and Caroline are excellent hosts.

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank suitseir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We only used the bar/restaurant area of this establishment.
The service was with a smile (always a good sign). The tables were clean and the seating comfortable.
To enter we were signalled urgently to come in quickly as they were about to close their doors as a mark of respect to the approaching funeral.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Talan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I was pricing around different hotels for a new years break and this hotel by far had the most helpful receptionist , a young friendly,chatty girl by the name of Chloe if my memory serves me correct. A great first impression was made and she is a credit to your business. She made me want to come and stay at your hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aoife o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My wife and I recently had a new baby in Ballinasloe hospital. I made it my business to dine in Gullanes four evenings in a row. I ordered Guinness and Seafood Chowder among other things every evening - simply the best chowder I have ever had, and can't recommend it enough. Our first baby was born two and a half years ago, and that was when I discovered Gullanes. The hotel has the same staff and the same Chowder since my last visit and Tomas the proprietor even remembered me. If you have any reason to be in Ballinasloe, or just need a travel break between Dublin and Galway (via N6) make a stop in Gullanes !!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caleb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballinasloe
0.3 mi away
Shearwater Hotel
Shearwater Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ballinasloe
797 reviews
13.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
11.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
13.4 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,959 reviews
17.5 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: Main Street, Ballinasloe, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Ballinasloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Price Range: £58 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A True Authentic & Elegant Family run business, since 1943. Gullane’s Hotel is situated in the town centre of Ballinasloe, the Gateway to the west of Ireland. Gullane's Hotel, located in the thriving town centre of Ballinasloe, has been recently refurbished, restoring the 1820's building with 4-star standard comforts. Ballinasloe town is World Famous for the annual Ballinasloe October Fair, It is one of Europe’s oldest horse fairs dating back to the 18th century. This annual event attracts visitors from all over the world with many returning to the town year after year Gullane’s is full of character and style and is quickly becoming a favourite for visitors in Galway. We offer Traditional Bed and Breakfast in a relaxed and friendly setting. Conveniently located just 1km off the M6 Dublin – Galway motorway, only 90 Minutes from Dublin or 50 Minutes from Galway City, Gullane’s Hotel is an ideal location when visiting the west of Ireland. Over the years Gullane’s hotel has gained a reputation for excellent food combined with a warm welcome and personal service, whether you are visiting for Business or pleasure our famously friendly and efficient staff will ensure that your stay with us will be one that exceeds your expectations. Many of our guests arrive as visitors and leave as Friends. A warmest welcome to you all, Tomas, Caroline and the Gullane Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre Ballinasloe, Ireland - County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing