We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE”
Review of The Bards Den

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bards Den
Vienna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“TERRIBLE”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

First I had a good feeling about the hostel because of the Nice Pub that belongs to it. But when we were lead to our rooms, I found out that I couldn't have been more wrong! The rooms smelled terrible and there were way to many beds (5 beds for 2 People) which were just taking away all the space in the room. The bed was not very clean - just like the rest of the room. The worst thing was the bathroom which was simply disgusting.

The breakfast room wasn't cofortable and because you had to clean your dishes by yourself, it was quite disgusting to eat from a spoon which hadn't ever Seen a dishwasher - because there was no dishwasher.


I would Never come again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helloq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    15
    10
    8
    6
See reviews for
12
18
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

First let me say that maybe at my age my hostel days have passed me by, but this place needs a spruce up. It would not take a great deal of work to change the overall feel of this place. For the bedrooms it just needs a good lick of paint, the mattresses (room no 1) have lost all there feel so although they were just adequate it really is time to renew them. The sheets and duvet covers I am sure were clean but were so old that it left you worrying about previous guests. Shower pressure was pretty good, which always nice. Breakfast room was basic but not obvious to find (a sign on the door would have helped) I ended up walking into someone else's bedroom where a couple of guys were asleep in bed when I was looking for the breakfast room. The supplies in the breakfast room were more than adequate but too many of the cups and plates were chipped. The bar was fine and simple and the food available was very good and excellent value as every dish I saw was easily big enough for two to share my advice to guests of Letterfrack is to stay at one of the cheaper B&B's of which there are plenty (unless you want to sleep in the shared dorm which is very cheap) and then come here to eat. Staff were very friendly and helpful, but the owners need to show some commitment to a very well located establishment.

Room Tip: Room 1 was not great but from others that stayed at the same time as us, some of the other rooms had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Letterfrack hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

If you're looking for a mint on your pillow and someone to turn down your bed spread at 9pm then keep driving...I'm sure the Kylemore Abbey will do this for the price of a small house.

If you want to stay around Letterfrack, enjoy a superb meal, have a few drinks and be well looked after by the staff...then book on in.
This is a great spot.

Some people on here leaving negative reviews about the accommodation need to get real and remember how great the value is...
I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScubaDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed here and found it was most beautiful setting rooms were lovely and the food was excellent would highly recommend for a quite weekend to unwind and enjoy the homely atmosphere will be back as soon as possibel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Milford, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My son and I visited Letterfrack last month. I was a little concerned having never stayed at a hostel before (my son has and he said it's better than a hostel). I thought of it more as a dorm room. The room was clean. No tub but the shower was enough for us. It was a good value for the cost. The people were very cordial and the bar was nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjsooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

What a shame. With a bit of TLC this could be a great place.
The beds were very comfy and the bedding clean. Plenty of choice for breakfast.
The room I was in smelt very badly of damp, so bad that I couldn't stay the other nights booked.
The actual shower looked powerful but the tray and surround put me off going in so had to wait until I was booked into a hotel to wash (the hotel was actually cheaper than the hostel).
Didn't use the bar/restaurant area so can't comment on that.
Come on Bards Den, get this damp problem solved, give it a lick of paint and get rid of all the cobwebs.

Room Tip: Ask for one that doesn't smell of damp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABT250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst diving in the area. We paid for a private double room and were given one with a comfy double and 2 single beds in it for only a few euros more than the normal dorm price. We had an ensuite (though there was a small leak in the shower which meant that the room did smell a bit damp), with a lovely warm shower in it - no problems with getting warm water at any time that we tried it. In the common room there was cereal, milk, bread, spreads and even fresh fruit for making breakfasts - there is also a stove and two fridges for those people who want to cook themselves. We ate each evening in the pub and this was one of the highlights of my holiday - the seafood in particularly was amazing and you always got plenty on your plate!
Great value for the money, friendly staff, great food and Heather really demonstrated the true Irish hospitality :)
Tip: If you're diving with Scubadive West then you get a discount at Bard's Den!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScoobyLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letterfrack
1.1 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
342 reviews
4.5 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
716 reviews
5.3 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Maol Reidh Hotel
Maol Reidh Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tullycross
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Connemara National Park Hostel
0.0 mi away
Cloverfox Connemara
Cloverfox Connemara
#2 of 5 in Letterfrack
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bards Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bards Den

Property: The Bards Den
Address: Letterfrack, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Letterfrack
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Letterfrack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bards Den 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bards Den reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing