We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location, Great Cottage, Great Owner!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aerial View of red deer Cottage Front of house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Aerial View of red deer Cottage
Front of house
Red Deer Cottage
Living Room
Kitchen/Dining Room
Kitchen /Dining
View of kitchen from the den
Upstairs looking down into the living room
Main Bathroom
Twin Room
Ensuite bedroom downstairs
Ensuite bedroom upstairs
The Den
Rocking in the octagon
Octagon from upstairs
Octagon-shaped hall!
The winding staircase
Connemara Red Deer
Road up to Baunoges
View from the front door
Red window in the cottage
Kylemore Abbey
Beach close by
Ballinakil harbour
View of the twelve bens
Inagh Valley
The Diamond mountain and the 12 Bens from Letter Hill.
Renvyle Peninsula
The White Strand Beach (Renvyle)
View from Upstairs
View over the Twelve Bens
View from upsatirs bedroom window
Ballinakill harbour from upstairs bedroom
Views from the den upstairs
Cleggan Pier
On the boat to Inishbofin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Letterfrack, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
paulkris
Yellow Springs, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Cottage, Great Owner!!!”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent two wonderful weeks in Red Deer Cottage in May of 2013. The location of the cottage was perfect and the level of furnishings and attention to detail was very high. You can walk out the front door, walk to the road, turn right and walk for miles with great views of The Bens and the sea. Letterfrack Village has a well-stocked market and a very good bar/restaurant. Clifden is a 20 minute drive and has several large markets and many choices for shopping and meals. Liz and her entire family did everything they could to make our stay comfortable and we are returning for a second visit in May of 2014.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, comfort
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Reviewed 11 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Sep 2013
Many thanks Liz.. I look forward to seeing you back in Connemara some day soon xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anne Mari...
Wicklow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A lovely house in a lovely part of Ireland”
Reviewed 14 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We (a family of five) stayed at this house for a week in June 2012. We have stayed in many holiday houses throughout Ireland and this rated as one of our favorites. It is a welcoming, modern, comfortable house with all of the facilities that make a holiday enjoyable and relaxing. It is located in a beautiful area and the views from the house are lovely. We found the owner to be friendly and helpful and the house reflects her understanding of what makes a holiday house into a home away from home. We would definitely recommend this house to anyone looking for a peaceful, relaxing break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edideucet...
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of a kind cottage with all of the comforts you could possibly ask for”
Reviewed 15 December 2011 for a stay in September 2011
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage was off the beaten path, but well worth the find! The simple, traditional exterior belies the beautifully decorated, contemporary and comfortable interior. The kitchen was so well appointed we broke our usual "no-cook" vacationing rule. Our hostess, Liz was delightful and provided for our every need. We used the cottage as a base for daily drives to small towns all along the coast. Unfortunately the weather was dismal and prevented us from fully appreciating the beautiful country side, but we found friendly pubs in every village to drown our sorrows.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen and decor of the home were beyond expectations
Liked least: The weather, but nothing could be done about that!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will S
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent, comfortable accomodations”
Reviewed 18 November 2011 for a stay in September 2011
2
people found this review helpful

If you are considering a trip through Ireland's beautiful Connemara area, consider this cottage to be your accommodation. It is not only pristine in its cleanliness, comfort and convenient location, it is a vacation in itself. Nearby villages feature great eating and entertainment. And you are centrally located to visit the western coastline and the majestic Connamera region.

We were very impressed with the quality of this cottage. First rate kitchen with well-equipped, high end accouterments. VERY restful beds, leather couches and chairs. Satellite TV and internet was a plus during a few exceedingly rainy days.

We were very impressed with this cottage, which out-shined other places we evaluated in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard-C...
Cardiff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great house”
Reviewed 6 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Well appointed cottage in a beautiful area. The cottage had all amenities that we required. The bedrooms were comfortable and well appointed. The living space was great in that it all interconnected and we were able to cook, eat sit down and talk or watch TV as a group. We would definitely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Advertised internet access but it did not work
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2011
The adaptor was the problem there..I got a new one and its all up and working now again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Reviewed 26 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$145
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing