We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveller rating
315
71
14
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
71
14
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kylemore abbey connemara national park the beautiful dining room diamond hill connemara lamb relaxing drink monkfish wedding venue drawing room breakfast and dinner relaxing break front of the house this wonderful hotel conservatory bar old world both nights crab claws
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 406 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Just home from Rosleague after celebrating a special birthday with my husband. We arrived on Friday afternoon and were warmly welcomed by Mark who kindly carried our bags to our room. It was a sea view suite and very pretty, spacious and clean. No complaints at all. The bathroom was clean and there were plenty of fluffy towels and two spotless bathrobes.
Breakfast was nothing short of a diners delight. A magnificent supply of cereals etc., fresh baked breads and fresh fruit juices. Our cooked breakfasts were scrumptious, all quality ingredients. The dining room in the evening had a lovely ambience and the food well, what can I say? Absolutely fabulous, quality, quantity and presentation first class. I could not find fault with anything. The bar area is in a spacious conservatory, lovely to mull over the extensive dinner menu which changes daily.
Everyone could not be more pleasant, helpful and professional. The staff were all very approachable without being over powering.
Without a doubt we will visit Rosleague House Hotel again and will have no problem recommending it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, it's gorgeous
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

When you drive up to the Rosleague Manor, you cannot deny the setting is idyllic. It's perched on a small rise overlooking the bay and you immediately sense you are in for a great stay. When you enter the building, you start to see some wear and tear - thick layers of paint, loose door knobs, worn out upholstery, etc. We booked a "superior garden/forest view" room and were taken to the back the of house, up a flight of stairs to a rather large room with a small window looking out to the car park and hedge. The bathroom was updated with natural light from two skylights and had both a shower as well as an inviting claw-foot tub. The bedroom was not updated -- spots on the carpet and couch, tired decor, poor lighting and well-worn antique pieces. The Wifi router was in the hallway floor outside of our room and our television tuned-in about 4 channels. There was a map of the grounds in our room so we decided to take a walk. First to the private garden where we found a large repository of glass bottles presumably from the bar and restaurant. Continuing on we passed an overgrown tennis court and made our way to the trail in the woods. The trail and the grounds in front of the house were lovely. Before dinner, we had drinks in the bar – a glass enclosure with a mix of unrelated furnishings and patio chairs sporting large holes from braided rope that is peeling off the back. Dinner and breakfast were wonderful. The food was perfectly prepared. The menu discussed efforts to locally source food as part of the continued work in progress around the manor. The staff were delightful and attentive. We left Rosleague very conflicted – there were many pros and many cons. It is certainly not a luxury hotel in its current state of disrepair – we are hopeful, though, that it is a continued work in progress where the tired and mismatched elements will be improved to equal the setting, culinary experience and graciousness associated with a manor. Until that time, phrases like “luxury, finest, first-class…” are setting the wrong expectations for this property.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

This is a beautiful place to put your feet up and relax, especially when the weather is foul. The service was terrific - the staff are always around to help but don't get in your face. Our room was a little odd, up the top at one end, so it was long and thin like a train station, with the bed at one end, the bathroom at the other, and a lounge area (with another single bed) in between. This meant quite a long walk to the bathroom in the small hours! Still, it was all lovely and comfortable, with plenty of room for bags and an enormous clothes cupboard. There was also a bath which was a great blessing. The hotel itself is a pleasure to be in - tea in the conservatory and cognac after dinner in front of a fire in the drawing room being highlights. Good location, too, for exploring Connemara. The one drawback of this place is that the wifi is, to put it mildly, temperamental. It worked better in the public areas of the house than in our room. Breakfast was fabulous - so much choice, especially of fruit of various types (stewed, fresh, etc) and accompaniments. My husband enjoyed the local smoked salmon with his eggs too.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Greenwithenvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Just driving up to the door of Rosleague Manor, the sweep up to the ivy-covered pink Georgian building sets the tone for your stay here. Everything is perfect! A great bar in an arched solarium, uniquely different (large) rooms, friendly staff and wonderful restaurant. the views are stunning and the grounds magnificent. You owe it to yourself to stay here!

Room Tip: they're all great, each one unique and beautiful
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank walker99Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015

We have promised ourselves for years that we would stay here, we eventually did last month. The place is so quaint and relaxed, you can't but switch of from the Rat race. The staff are pleasant but not intrusive, with the same face popping up around the house. The room was extremely spacious and comfortable, probably the best sleep I have ever had in a hotel room. (Thumbs up on a really great mattress). Dinner was excellent with stunning fresh scallops and prawns, if only we could have eaten a bucket. The breakfast was lovely with homemade mixed berry compotes, granola and scrambled egg with local smoke salmon. It appears to be run by a young couple with there little girl and there family dog, which gives a lovely homely feel. Dogs are obviously welcome. Definitely will be back soon again.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KILQUADE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews