We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Connemara National Park Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not quite there”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night as it was in good proximity to Kylemore Abbey and arriving at dusk there was no one to greet us except a permanent resident, who was not staff and although he did his best to sort out our booking the owner was called but didn't arrive for an hour and when he finally did he was slow to approach us, he turned out to be a very nice chap. Our rooms were a mix up initially but once sorted they were okay, not great but warm and fairly clean,ensuite was very basic with no where to put anything.
Breakfast was good and the owner although looking worse for wear was prepared for us at 8.30 am and had put out a good spread of cereal, bread selection, cheese and juices. We felt welcome and we left happy enough.
It is a good place for young people.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cazchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    43
    20
    11
    8
See reviews for
28
46
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My boyfriend and i visited Letterfrack in August 2013 on our roadtrip in Ireland.
We were considering about staying in either Clifden or Letterfrack and decided to go for Letterfrack, and we realised to our joy that it was so, so much better. The real, beautiful Connemara actually only starts from Letterfrack (we drove the Sky Road and it was nice with the view to the sea, but in my opinion the big green hills and little roads after Letterfrack were much more stunning) and the area seems to have much more to offer. The owner of the hostel was extremely nice and helpful and pointed us to the best places to see in Connemara, which we would not have discovered without his advice. We climbed for example on top of Diamond Hill, which was one of the highlights of our trip.

Having said that, Letterfrack Lodge itself was a bit of a disappointment. Were stayed in some sort of annex behind the hostel building itself and it was slightly damp, cold and very modest. Considering that we were only driving through and stayed just one night (unfortunately we didn't have enough holidays to stay longer, but if you can, absolutely do stay longer in Letterfrack), with the cheap price and some backpacker spirit this was ok. But if we would have stayed longer, I think I would have been ready to pay some more for a bit more comfortable place and a better night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fasupusu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I don't even know how to begin my review of this hostel. I had the most amazing time during my short stay in Letterfrack. The hospitality demonstrated by Mike and the Letterfrack locals was incredible. I felt welcome from the moment I stepped inside. I was upgraded from a dorm to a private room, given advice on the region, served a home cooked meal, dropped off and picked up by Mike on a coastal walk he personally recommended. The breakfast and self catering kitchen are fantastic and common area is spacioius and cozy! The Lodge is steps away from the National Park as well!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klagenfurt, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our time in the lodge! Our room was nice and clean, the kitchen was clean aswell and always available, the breakfast was excellent! The staff there is very friendly, especially Mike the owner of the lodge.
The price was also totally ok.
Letterfrack is just a very small village but it's so beautiful!
There are 3 nice typical irish pubs and one of them is also a very good restaurant. There is also a shop and I guess it's just a 2 minutes walk from the lodge to the connemara national park. The Kylemore Abbey is also not far away!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HartlauerSabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davos Platz, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I had a great time in this cosy hostel!! Each room has a bathroom with a toilet and a shower and it is very clean. The ktchen is for everbody and it has almost all the imortant kitchen equipment except a garlic press! I mean a garlc press is important for some people =)..
The Lodge is very good situated and you have many options to enjoy the landscape around. The landscape is amazing, A hike to the top of the diamiand is something you must not miss out, the view is incredible!
Mike the owner is local and can tell you everything about the trips.He's just fantastic, helpfull, funny and smiling all day long =)..Everybody in Letterfrack is so friendly, the butcher, the ladies in the supermarket and everybody in Molly's Pub!
Visit the Lodge and you will see...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovenia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights while we were hiking the surrounding hills/mountains.
Place is very lively, with a huge kitchen where you can prepare your own meals for lunch/dinner etc.
Breakfast was just simple & enough to get us going... The owner has all the info you need about the local stuff to do and if you're up for some serious hiking around the "twelve pins" area!
Book here if you wanna meet some people from all around the world and you think about making your own meals (grocerie store is just around the corner).

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank uti10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

"Make yourself at home", thats the great motto of this warm-hearted place.
You arrive at this hostel excpecting "normal hostel standart", but thats the first big surprise, you get received by the friendly stuff, from that moment on you know you are at home. There's nothing you aren't allowed to do at home, so if you want to cook something at 2am, then go for it, if you love dancing to house music, dance like nobody is watching you, if you feel chatty, have a chat.
The Lodge was probably one of the best accommodations I've ever been to, not only because of the owners Mike, Isabella and Lea, but also you can walk easily to Connemares most beautiful natural phenomenons (Victoria Gardens, Diamondhill, Connemara Nationalpark....).
The house itself is very clean and even presents a small breakfast-bar (like an irish pub). The rooms are not like in other hostels just equipped with bunk beds, they are more like hotel rooms, with a confortable double bed and en-suite bathroom. The only thing, there is a lot of rubbish and junk if you take a look behind the house, that really should be removed otherwise the lovley charme of the hostel is getting destroyed.
All in all it was an unique experience for me getting a part of thefamiliy in such a short time, I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letterfrack
2.4 mi away
Maol Reidh Hotel
Maol Reidh Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tullycross
122 reviews
4.3 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
726 reviews
9.3 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Kylemore Pass Hotel
Kylemore Pass Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kylemore
89 reviews
9.6 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bards Den
The Bards Den
#4 of 5 in Letterfrack
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Connemara National Park Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Connemara National Park Hostel

Property: Connemara National Park Hostel
Address: Letterfrack | Connemara, Co Galway, Letterfrack, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Letterfrack
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Letterfrack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Connemara National Park Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Connemara National Park Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing