We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sean & Maire” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murrays Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Murrays Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Portumna B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Sean & Maire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed in Murray's for 3 nights. We were made to feel welcome by Michael and Bernadette. The breakfast menu was varied and the food was excellent. On our last night we did not feel that we wanted to go out and at very little notice Bernadete made up sandwiches soup which was just right. We could not recommend them highly enough

Room Tip: All rooms were fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
21
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

WEhad a great stay very frendily people would recommend it for a great night stay a great breakfast we enjoyed our stay hope to be back again Rosemary if you want a weekend away visit murrys thank you we enjoyed staiying in your clean frendley house

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RODONNELL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Many thanks to Mike and Bernadette for the kindness shown to us after our bitter disappointment at another B/B in Portumna .We could not stay at as it was not up to standard . Having had difficulty trying to get a room for the night and were anxious to find somewhere stay.. Mike and Bernadette went out of their way to look after us .The B/B was fully booked, but they had a room without ensuite bathroom, that was used for storage,but they were willing to make it ready for us in a short time. which they did, We were given a really lovely room across from bathroom, perfect !!.Mike and Bernadette made us feel so welcome. We would recommend this B/B to anyone that is looking for.. Great breakfast, spotless rooms, lovely location and great hosts. Thank you again, Mike and Bernadette for your kindness ,we will stay again, when in Portumna Sorry it was not longer... Peg and John.. Dublin

Room Tip: All rooms perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

My son and I stopped in Murrays on our way west for a fishing trip, wanting to photograph the deer in Portumna Forest Park early in the morning. Mike and Bernadette made us welcome and loaned us mountain bikes for our 5.00am dawn start. A terrific breakfast was freshly cooked on our return. Nice people and a lovely place.

Jim W

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I recently spent a wonderful night in Mike and Bernadette's B&B. arriving in late evening we were warmly greeted by both of our hosts who took the time to memorize our names. They then prepared a welcome tray for us which was just what was needed after a long trip. They then took the time to recommend excellent restaurants for a very tired couple to eat. They also invited us to a local barbecue and dance which although we did not attend was very generous of them. The room was clean, spacious and lovely. Small touches like real milk provided with tea making facilities made our stay. The bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful and the flexibility provided with it was wonderful and helped us enjoy our relaxing stay. On leaving we were again made to feel welcome and tips about the local area were given. The freedom to have a lounge area available at any time was also a wonderful facility to be able to avail of.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deirdre m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I spent 4 nights at Mike and Bernadette's B&B. I meant to ask who Murray is... I was alone so it was nice to have someone to greet me in the morning and in the evening. They were cheerful and helpful with what to see, where to go and even where to buy a new tire when I flattened mine. Thank you for a wonderful stay and I hope to see you in New York City some day!

Cathy

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Mike's and Bernadette's b+b. Lovely and clean room and we appreciated the quietness of the countryside. The sorrounding area is full of interesting sites i.e: churches, castles and the likes. We spent a considerable time at the peat hervesting fields. To us Yorkshire people (well, we just live there) this kind of fuel has a special charm. Ursula spoke to a 'peat harvester' (with spade) and took ever so many pictures. Although her English isn't perfect she managed to understand almost all (broad Irish). We both enjoyed the excellent breakfast and the chats with Mike and Bernadette. We would certainly stay there again on another visit and we recommend Murrays b+b full hearthedly. Thank you very much.

Room Tip: To us it was nice to have a groung floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portumna
0.0 mi away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Dun Cromain Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Portumna House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gatelodge B&B
Gatelodge B&B
#2 of 3 in Portumna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pod Umna Village
Pod Umna Village
#1 of 3 in Portumna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Curra House B&B
#4 of 6 in Portumna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrays Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrays Bed & Breakfast

Property: Murrays Bed & Breakfast
Address: Derryhiney, Portumna, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Portumna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Portumna
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Murrays Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrays Bed & Breakfast Portumna, Ireland - County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing