We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit in portumna”
Review of Modena

Modena
Ranked #5 of 10 Restaurants in Portumna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Irish, Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Nenagh, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must visit in portumna”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We love the Indian food srrved here and the value .Buttery Chicken and peshwarie naan is my favourite .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Berty_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    26
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Despite such a varied menu usually being a warning sign, three of us really enjoyed everything we ordered. Diners don't have much choice in Portumna, but Modena is worth a visit. Very good Indian menu and good options for veggies.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maiththu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible Find”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Certainly one of the best places I've ever visited. Top notch Food that serves Indian, Irish and Italian food, cooked by a chef with previous experience in 5 star hotels (We enjoyed it so much we went back a second night and having a bit more time to look at the menu a second time, I read the biography at the front). There is also an incredible atmosphere there as it is ran by a family that were chatty but not intrusive. It is a charming, overwhelming and cheap restaurant. For four of us to eat out it cost less than 100 euros. Great stuff. Definitely go here, It's worth diverting your course to visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank E_Dunne55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice Ambiance”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Excellent, personal service. Good selection on the Menu, Indian food as well as 'specials' & A La Carte. Enjoyed our 2 visits there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank baryspad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A One Off”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Its about time I wrote a review on the Modena as I have enjoyed its charms for several years. I frequently visit a very valued cousin in nearby Killimor and its by far our favourite food stop. Its unique for the divergence of its menu. I like Indian food and on my first visit with a few Visiting relatives from the USA I sweated a bit about how the quality would fare for the ones looking forward to Fish ,Lamb and Beef and the ones favouring Asian food . The result was a resounding success and since that night I have never been disappointed with my visits to the Modena. Long may Rasheed and his excellent restaurant reign Great food and great Value He Deserves to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tapbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Modena also viewed

Portumna, County Galway
Portumna, County Galway
 
Portumna, County Galway
 
Terryglass, County Tipperary
Portumna, County Galway
 

Been to Modena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing