We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lakeview House

Lakeview House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lakeview House
master bedroom the river beside lakeview house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Lakeview House
master bedroom
the river beside lakeview house
our new dining room cum sunroom
reading ,chatting or tv room
heading for the mountains
en suite cosy room
you have arrived
get your fresh eggs in the morning
kayaking on our private river
all new equipment for guests use free of charge
feed our saddlebacks
ice cream break out cycling in the sliabh aughties
our donkeys , contemplating life
time out
see the white tailed eagles here in mountshannon
lough derg, a short walk from the house
mother and son, out for a walk
derrygoolin scenic views and walks
wait for me, on the mountain roads
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Portumna, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Lynnks
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Party of 6 stayed here for a week, 2 adults and 4 kids ranging from 7 to 17. Perfect retreat for us. 4 good sized bedrooms, 3 ensuite so loads of space. Loads of bedroom storage space too. Good kitchen, if a little dated, with plenty of utensils and crockery. Good sized living room which we only used once as we were always on the go. Lovely sunroom/dining room which was lovely to read and drink coffee in every morning.
Bikes and kayaks in the garage on the site, suitable for us all. The kayaks need to be carried for approximately 10 minutes to a boat house where they can be launched and with a little determination can be rowed down the river into Lough Derg. Huge well kept garden which was great for ball games. Good central point for traveling to Galway, Limerick and the west coast. Really couldn't fault it, we loved it and can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_NRW...
Germany
1 review
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We (2 adults and 2 children) spent 6 nights at the Lakeview house and enjoyed it a lot. Lakeview house is a nice hideaway from the hectic business days. The absence of WLAN supported this. The house is warm - the heating functions well and quickly. The kitchen is well equipped and fully functional.

Kids enjoyed the large garden and we loved using the canoe.

We will definitely come back next year!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardM1...
1 review
“Charming rural family getaway”
Reviewed 11 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed at Lakeview House over the Christmas period while visiting family nearby. The place is a beautifully charming old place, retaining some of the lovely features of its plus 200 years.

We were 4 adults and three children (6,9 and 12). There was plenty of space for everyone. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. We enjoyed the luxury of three bathrooms and the gas central heating system ensured we were all kept snug when temperatures dropped outside! The kitchen is well equipped (dishwasher, washing machine, clothes dryer) and there's a beautiful bright dining/breakfast room extension opening from the kitchen.

There's plenty of space in the garden around the house and we played cricket and football most days in the unseasonal winter sunshine! If you want to explore, there is an old path along the side of the stream at the back of the house which takes you down to Lough Derg (wear your wellies!)

The house is situated just off the main road on the western side of Lough Derg. The road isn't so busy and the sound of traffic was not intrusive, but it does mean you have easy access by car to the nearest town of Portumna. Meanwhile the view down to the lake from the back of the house is stunningly beautiful, unspoiled and timeless.

As a runner I was able to explore the smaller lanes, finding one country lane nearby which took me over the hills, through forest and bog where I came across a herd of wild ponies.

There are 4 or 5 mountain bikes (in excellent condition) in the garage along with a few canoes. We used the bikes to cycle around Portumna Forest Park. It was a little too cold to go canoeing, although wetsuits are available!

The owner of Lakeview House Garry Gorman and his mother Mrs Gorman (who we met in the family's pub up the road in the village of Gorteeney) are very friendly and so helpful. The day we arrived Garry arranged for a Christmas tree I had ordered to be delivered directly to the house. We also dropped into the pub one afternoon to use the Wifi and Mrs Gorman welcomed us by making us all a cup of tea.

In summary, we had a fabulous time staying at Lakeview House and we would definitely want to return (perhaps during the summer when we can take out the canoes). The place offers down to earth homeliness and I agree with previous posts that if you want state of the art modern luxury, then this place isn't for you. But this is definitely a charming place with lots of character which provided all the necessary and homely comforts you could wish for during a holiday in rural Ireland.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLOD79
Niort, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD !”
Reviewed 25 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The house is large, confortable (good sleep) and has a nice view upstairs on the lake. We (french family with 1 child and 4 teenagers) enjoyed navigate on the little river and on the lake. Also the yongest enjoyed playing football on the garden lawn and fishing on the rivers and lake. Garry is really friendly and accomodating. There is good atmosphere and good music too on saturday night in his pub. If you like old country house with caracter, this is for you. If you like modern and without a flame house this is unfortunetly not for you. Good place to feel the real irish atmosphere . Hope to come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house and country atmosphere
Liked least: The cooking gas worked but not in an optimum way and we do like cooking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry T
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Easter uprising”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Stayed at Lake view house for a week over the Easter break (6 adults & 3 children) booked with Imagine Ireland. The house was lovely and warm when we arrived around 9pm due to the owner putting on the heating for us, the house was very spacious & all the rooms were clean. It is well placed for touring the area around Lough Derg. We used the bicycles & carried the Kayaks down to the boat house on the river & sailed from there to the lake which the family thoroughly enjoyed. Garry the owner was very welcoming & on hand to solve any problems should they arise, the house like any rental property used by lots of different people has room for improvement notably the kitchen units, but overall it is a lovely place to rise in the morning & enjoy what lies ahead for the day. A big thank you to Garry & hope to see you again soon

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The house, Bikes & Kayaks
Liked least: The Kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Getaway!”
Reviewed 21 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lakeview House is a stunning accommodation, friends and I spent my 30th birthday week at the house and had a fantastic time. Plenty of space to roam around in the house, excellent facilities and a very friendly welcome from the local people. The house was furnished to a high standard, beds and sofas were comfortable.

Would thoroughly recommend as a good location for getting away from reality for a week to unwind - great central location, close to amenities and attractions and far enough out of the way for a reclusive break!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2017
Thanks pleasure to have you stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
densheer
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Little Disappointing”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
5
people found this review helpful

We recently spent 7 days in Lakeview House for an extended family holiday. There were 9 of us in total - 7 adults & 2 children. We made the booking a number of months ago after reading the reviews and watching the promo video. Lakeview House seemed a good fit - large enough to accommodate everyone with onsite activities for all ages.
The living room was comfortable & the dining room was bright and airy.
The bedrooms were spacious but there was a lot of property in the wardrobes (including past occupants / guests clothes) so some of us opted not to unpack our bags.
The kitchen was in poor repair and would benefit from a complete overhaul. The extractor fan appears to be broken for a long time and is held shut with parcel tape. There was absolutely no storage space available for our food. Aside from the presses containing the utensils etc, every other press was full of junk or left over / expired food.
Externally, there is a large lawn around the house. The kayaks, fishing rods & bikes were available as advertised. The river runs right alongside the property but this section is unsuitable for kayaking. We carried the kayaks further down river but we were unable to reach the lake due to fallen branches and fluctuating water levels. There is no pedestrian access to the lake via the adjacent land - the route along the river is overgrown and the fields turn to marsh the closer you get to the lake. You can walk to the lake via the road - this is a pleasant 15-20 minute stroll. The road to the lake is extremely narrow and winding so I would advise caution if you decide to take the kayaks down to the lake by car.
I would agree with previous reviews about the location of this property for touring the surrounding region, however, we were more interested in staying local and enjoying the onsite activities. The children were too young to use the bikes or kayaks but they were really looking forward to seeing all the animals shown in the promotional video - donkeys, hens & pigs. It was extremely disappointing that we encountered none of these. There was evidence that donkeys or cows may have been in the enclosure to the front of the house - but not during our time there. The was however absolutely no sign of the pigs or hens or indeed the outhouses / sheds depicted in the photos / video. I would query the relevance of the images of children petting the animals and collecting eggs if it doesn't form part of the experience of Lakeview.
I would recommend this property for anyone solely interested in using it as a base for touring the region but not for the house itself or onsite facilities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of bedrooms
Liked least: Kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2016
Insurance costs prohibit access to the farmyard , following an accident where a visitor fell, it was decided not to allow access to the farmyard . Find it unusual to see this review contradicting all the other positive reviews but it's an opinion and we take it on board .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing