We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A true taste of Ireland”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Portumna, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Judy J
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A true taste of Ireland”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
7
people found this review helpful

If you want to experience the real Ireland, I highly recommend you book a stay at the Old Post Office in Ballycrissane, County Galway, near Portumna. It is a charming 2 bedroom cottage with a full kitchen and modern bath. The kitchen is equipped with all you need to make your own meals if desired, or you can dine at one of several fine restaurants in nearby Portumna. It is centrally located on the Shannon River near the border of Galway and Tipperary Counties, making day trips to many of Ireland's most interesting attractions just an easy drive away. I have stayed at both the Old Post Office and Shannon Breeze Cottages, and when I go to Ireland, this is the only place I will stay. It is a lovely, lovely place, a real gem. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: No complaints whatsoever.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Perfect Getaway.”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have stayed in The Old Post Office before and keep going back because it is perfect for us. Lena is so warm and welcoming she makes you feel very special. She is always so helpful and the house is spotless, the beds are very comfortable and there is plenty of bedding to use on a cold night. We have everything we need in the house and treat it as a home from home. My husband loves the wood burner and if it gets chilly in the evening it is lovely to light it and relax down. There is a washing machine which is a huge bonus as we don't have to take as many clothes as we would normally, there is also a tumble dryer and a washing line under cover so we were able to dry our clothes easily. The house is away from the main drag but there is a shop within walking distance if we want to buy anything. If you wanted to go into Portumna it is only a 10 minute drive to get there and there are plenty of shops, pubs and places to eat. The house is in the countryside and it is quiet and peaceful, you don't even notice the occasional car on the road because it is not a busy road.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy feeling with everything you need.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P N
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Trip”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second time staying in one of Cummins Cottages and was a lovely stay again. The area is very quiet and great place to relax and get away from it all. The Old Post Office cottage and grounds are beautifully kept; old charm meets modern comfort and was very clean and well located. It has a lot of exterior and interior charm being located beside a small working farm with an old fireplace and other features inside the cottage. The grounds also include an outdoor barbeque area, which we used extensively. There is a laundrette and dryer on the grounds also and linen is supplied. Lena the owner is very friendly and accommodating and will help with any needs you may have with great knowledge of the area. The price was very reasonable for the time of year we stayed there in July. Portumna town is very nearby with a lot to see and is located to the west of the point where the River Shannon enters Lough Derg, being the historic crossing point over the River Shannon between counties Tipperary and Galway. We enjoyed the local amenities which include a forest park, Portumna Castle and Gardens, Workhouse, golfing, fishing, horse riding, go-carting and walking. I would highly recommend a trip and stay here to anyone.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucyjasmi...
Winnenden, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
Google Translation

Date of stay: December 2017
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
7 Jan 2018
Hi Lucy,thank you for a excellent review.Looking forward to meeting you and your friends in the future.Best wishes Lena.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENJALBERT...
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
25 Aug 2017
Thanks for the excellent review.Hope to meet again.Best wishes Lena.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janv3668
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2016
Travelling group: Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
Thanks for review,delighted you enjoyed our beautiful area,pleasure to accommodate you Lena.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigitte...
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gastfreundschaft, Sauberkeit, Gemütlichkeit
Liked least: Nichts
Travelling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Vielen Dank fuer die freundliche Rueckmeldung. Ich wuerde mich sehr freuen, Sie irgendwann mal wieder in meinem Haus begruessen zu duerfen. Lena Cummins
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.