We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot and super hosts”
Review of Pod Umna Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pod Umna Village
Certificate of Excellence
Meath
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great spot and super hosts”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here being looked after by Dick and Liz. The Pods are a great way to 'camp' without the tents etc. All you need is a sleeping bag and you're good to go! The kitchen and showers etc are top class and a long way from some the grubby campsites we've stayed in before. The hosts had numerous recommendations for eating out and things to keep the kids entertained.
Great spot to bring kids. Highly recommend it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Finbarr Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lougderg, Owner at Pod Umna Village, responded to this review, 12 June 2015
Hi Finbar

Apologies this is long overdue. Thank you for putting up your review onto trip adviser, your testimony is very important to us and i would like to thank you for taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Dick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballina, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

OMG best place ever! Such an epic weekend. Just back from a hen weekend here. 'Tricky Dicky' and his team are top notch, so personal, knew everyone by name after couple hours, organised everything for us, nothing was too much. The facilities are bang on, and spotless. Games were hilarious, and cruise was perfect chilling out time. And for the girls, the eye-candy is pretty good too! Dick is a gentleman & even gave us a tour of the Castle & grounds. The town itself is lovely, so clean and the people are so so nice, every person we met was so friendly and welcoming. Hynes pub is well worth checking out, and if you get chance to see a band called tradstone (i think) they are excellent. thank you so much to all who looked after & entertained us, Dick, Liz, and their daughter, Orla, Paddy, Eoin, Seamus, Chunk, Peter, Ciaran,the boat crew, ....... yes, i think we got to know most of the town! Hated leaving! Cannot say enough about this place and the town. cant wait to go back - and i will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eilish w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lougderg, Owner at Pod Umna Village, responded to this review, 12 June 2015
Hi Eilish

Apologies this is long overdue. Thank you for putting up your review onto trip adviser, your testimony is very important to us and i would like to thank you for taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Dick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed here with a group of 21 girls from Limerick for my sisters hen weekend at the end of June. From the moment I phoned Dick back in February I was very confident that this was going to be an AMAZING hen weekend and it certainly was. All of the girls were thrilled with their stay and the activities were so much fun. Orla was AMAZING. She is such a genuine and lovely person and looked after us all so well. Nothing was too much. I would like to thank Dick, his wife, daughter and Orla for making my sisters hen weekend the best ever.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lougderg, Owner at Pod Umna Village, responded to this review, 12 June 2015
Hi Louise

Apologies this is long overdue. Thank you for putting up your review onto trip adviser, your testimony is very important to us and i would like to thank you for taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Dick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here with my wife for 3 nights over the August bank holiday weekend just passed. It was our first wedding anniversary so decided to do something different. We had a great weekend. We stayed in the smallest of the pods as the rest were booked when we were booking. It fits 2 people comfortably with 2 mattresses provided and is lovely and warm . It has 2 electric sockets aswell as a heater. The facilities in the complex are top drawer with a communal room where you can chill and have drinks aswell as a full kitchen which Ramsay himself would be happy to use. There is the basics for a snack provided, bread, milk, tea, coffee etc. The shower rooms are also ideal with 3 showers available per gender. The village itself is within walking distance of all the pubs and restaurants etc. The Beehive is a must visit for food and the best pub is the Boathouse Bar. The weather was woeful so we didnt get to visit the castle or parks but Dick reliably informs me they are well worth the visit. Special mention also to Orla who was always about the place cleaning etc and was very friendly. Thanks alot to you both and we will definitly be back. One minor thing is that a sign could be thrown up somewhere as we couldnt find the place when we initially arrived in Portumna.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lougderg, Owner at Pod Umna Village, responded to this review, 12 June 2015
Hi Colm

Apologies this is long overdue. Thank you for putting up your review onto trip adviser, your testimony is very important to us and i would like to thank you for taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Good News we sorted out some signage out front and at the junction before you turn up to us coming from the bridge :)

Kind regards

Dick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were a group of three families with 6 adults 7 children in all including two babies. Podumna was the perfect place for us. The children had a safe and secure green area to play and they loved the novelty of sleeping in the pods. Dick and his wife couldn't have done more to help and make us feel at home and welcome. After we had checked out, he even found us in the village to return some toys we had left behind and hadn't even noticed!! The kitchen is a pleasure to cook in and with Supervalu right next door, it was much easier to cook than go out. There were games and a mini cinema for the children too, so at night the adults could sit with a glass of wine while the children were happy in the common area. I would HIGHLY recommend Podumna and have absolutely nothing negative to say! In the local area: Portumna Castle is well worth a look and the forest park is nice for walks. Weather permitting the water recreational area is a must with the kids. There is also a beautiful playground within walking distance from the Pods.

Room Tip: Just call or text Dick beforehand and if you are lucky to find availability on his dates, he will ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lougderg, Owner at Pod Umna Village, responded to this review, 12 June 2015
Hi Laura

Apologies this is long overdue. Thank you for putting up your review onto trip adviser, your testimony is very important to us and i would like to thank you for taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to welcome you back again soon.


Kind regards

Dick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This place is great! So much hard work has been put in to making it what it is, and you can tell it has been a labour of love! Dick and Orla are so friendly and go out of their way to make sure all their guests have the best possible stay! It always makes such a difference when the owners are passionate about what they do.
The shower and kitchen facilities were great, with tea/coffee/milk/bread provided unlike other self catering places we have stayed in before. There is a common/games/dining room for when the weather isn't great and the outside BBQ area is fantastic! The pod itself was brilliant, the air beds were surprisingly comfy.
All in all this is a great place to come and relax, but it is so close to the castle, forest park, lake and pubs you have the option of stuff to do outside the site if you want to.
Thanks so much Dick for making our stay so much fun and for making us so welcome! We'll be telling our friends and family to pay you a visit!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank J_Johnson1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lougderg, Owner at Pod Umna Village, responded to this review, 12 June 2015
Hi J

Apologies this is long overdue. Thank you for putting up your review onto trip adviser, your testimony is very important to us and i would like to thank you for taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to welcome you back again soon.


Kind regards

Dick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

What a little gem of a place, incredible. I'd been looking forward to my recent trip here for some time, naturally I'd built up my expectations. They were exceeded with ease.
From the minute we pulled in off the road this place wowwed us. Dick met us at the gate and what a greeting, we immediately knew we would love the place.
The site is well kept, very well serviced and open and inviting. The pods are stunning, well kept, electricity, air vents and inflatable beds all in place, they are well insulated so you won't be cold on any night.
At two minutes walk from the village, it's a beautifully central location should you wish to stray from the site. I'm not sure you'd want to, there's a full kitchen, shower blocks with plenty of hot water, lounge area and outdoor seated area to keep you entertained.
As we drove home, we couldn't stop talking about the pods, we immediately went and encouraged some friends to come back with us and booked again the same day.
Love this place , really do:)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanM111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lougderg, Owner at Pod Umna Village, responded to this review, 12 June 2015
Hi Alan

Hope all is well with you.

Apologies this is long overdue. Thank you for putting up your review onto trip adviser, your testimony is very important to us and i would like to thank you for taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your stay.

Hope to welcome you back again soon.


Kind regards

Dick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portumna
21.8 mi away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
17.1 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
807 reviews
13.0 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
0.2 mi away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
20.6 mi away
Giltraps Townhouse & Glamping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod Umna Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod Umna Village

Property: Pod Umna Village
Address: Dominick Street, Portumna, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Portumna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Portumna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pod Umna Village 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Pod Umna Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Umna Village Portumna, Ireland - County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing