We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“beautiful place for holidays”
other travellers have booked this property
Shannon Breeze Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shannon Breeze Cottage
Twin Room Double Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Shannon Breeze Cottage
Twin Room
Double Bedroom
Portumna Bridge at night
River Shannon
Portumna Abbey
Portumna Abbey
Enjoying the Sunshine by the Shannon River
Swans of the river
Sheep beside the Shannon
Enjoying the sunshine by the Shannon river
Flowers
Garden roses
Garden
Newborn lambs
Joey
Super catch of fish
Excellent bream
Baskets in full bloom
Shannon breeze
Portumna forest park
Portumna forest park
Horse riding
Portumna Harbour
Portumna Town
Saint Bridgets church
One happy family of hens in the orchard
The Burren Region
The Cliffs of Moher
The Salthill Promenade
Padraic O Conaire, Eyre Square
Fountain of the 'Galway Hooker', Eyre Square
Connemara
Kylemore Abbey
Cottages in Connemara
Clifden
Westport
The Burren Region
Picnic area
Clonmacnoise Co Offaly
Bir Castle Arch Garden
Portumna Work House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Portumna, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jerome189...
Noisy-le-Grand, France
1 review
“beautiful place for holidays”
Reviewed 10 July 2011 for a stay in April 2011

Excellent , confortable cottage in a beautiful landscape. Excellent place for holidays and to discover Irland.
The owner of this cottage is a charming and very helpful woman.

I recommend this cottage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2011
Many thanks for your kind review.

Lena Cummins
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doc20
Belfort, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A cute and quiet cottage with a welcoming owner.”
Reviewed 4 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

A warm welcome indeed with a fire in the fireplace on arrival and a bottle of wine. A nice and cosy little place which was a good start for our first trip in Ireland. The owner was always ready to help. Coming from Shannon airport the location enabled us to visit Clonmacnoise before going to Connemara.
We had some trouble finding the village of Ballycrissane though, as it was called Ballycrossaun on our map and did not appear on our GPS as such.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paula1866...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Shannon Breeze What a lovely, cosy house. Area has it all”
Reviewed 22 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We had the most enjoyable holiday recently in a cottage called Shannon Breeze in Ballycrissane , portumna , co Galway.
This was our 5th time to visit the area but our first stay in Shannon Breeze. What a lovely, cosy house with wonderful views from the upstairs bedroom. The outdoor space was great with lots of opportunity for our small dog to safely explore .The space was ideal for BBQ (we had two ) great for sitting out to enjoy the absolute peace and quiet .This area has it all ,the Shannon , the wonderful forest park and we really recommend the green walk .
Great pubs and restaurants in portumna .
Thank you so much to the most hospitable and helpful landlady ever.
We will be back
Paula, Majella, Molly

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2011
Your review on Shannon Breeze Cottage and surrounding area is much appreciated.Thanking You,Lena
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemwat29
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Delightful place to stay with loads to see and do!”
Reviewed 5 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011

We stayed at the Shannon Breeze for a great week. Lena made us so welcome and recommended places for us to go and see. We really enjoyed the peacefulness and homely feeling you get at Shannon breeze, ideal getaway if your looking to relax and de-stress! Best places to visit with 1-2 hours are The Cliffs of Moher, Clonmacnoise, The Lough Derg Drive and loads of lovely villages including Terryglass, Scariff, and not forgetting Portumna itself. Locally you can visit Portumna Castle and Gardens and Portumna Forest Park, and if you like fishing The River Shannon is within 5 minutes of the cottage. We had a great week, and would recommend Shannon Breeze for both couples and families.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austinsmy...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“A hidden gem far from the madding crowd.”
Reviewed 11 May 2011 for a stay in April 2011

This place is a real treasure,hidden away in rural Galway,not far from the banks of the River Shannon.We stayed in the Shannon Breeze cottage,as cosy a place as you could wish for,with its old fashioned,traditional design full of character and warmth.There was a big open fire to keep out the night chill,with a barn full of bone-dry logs at our disposal.This is an ideal place to stay if you have kids,as it is located on a working farm,with lambs and ponies and donkeys to keep the children amused.There ia a big gate acrosss the entrance to the cottages,so it is very safe to let the kids wander around.Portumna is a gateway to the West,so there are loads of places to visit during your stay.The Lough Derg Forest Park is a great local amemity,and Meelick is well worth a visit,as is Clonmacnoise and Scarriff.Take a day to drive around Lough Derg,and call into Terryglass and Mountshannon.THe Bell Pepper in Scarriff is a great place to eat,very reasonably priced and tasty food.Another great find was The Fort ,just over the bridge from Clonmacnoise.Excellent food and service.Back at base,Lena was an excellent host and was more than willing to answer any questions we had during our stay.I must give a mention to the local watering hole,Stronges,where the Guinness was as nice as ever i've tasted,and a steal at 3 pints for 10 euro!All in all,we had a fantastic week in the Shannon Breeze,and i would highly reccommend Cummins Cottages to anyone who is looking for a relaxing break from the hustle and bustle of the city,far from the madding crowd.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2011
Mr Austin Smyth stayed in shannon breeze cottage in april .I am delighted with Review.Regards Lena Cummins.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing