We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Home from Home”
other travellers have booked this property
Shannon Breeze Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shannon Breeze Cottage
Twin Room Double Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Shannon Breeze Cottage
Twin Room
Double Bedroom
Portumna Bridge at night
River Shannon
Portumna Abbey
Portumna Abbey
Enjoying the Sunshine by the Shannon River
Swans of the river
Sheep beside the Shannon
Enjoying the sunshine by the Shannon river
Flowers
Garden roses
Garden
Newborn lambs
Joey
Super catch of fish
Excellent bream
Baskets in full bloom
Shannon breeze
Portumna forest park
Portumna forest park
Horse riding
Portumna Harbour
Portumna Town
Saint Bridgets church
One happy family of hens in the orchard
The Burren Region
The Cliffs of Moher
The Salthill Promenade
Padraic O Conaire, Eyre Square
Fountain of the 'Galway Hooker', Eyre Square
Connemara
Kylemore Abbey
Cottages in Connemara
Clifden
Westport
The Burren Region
Picnic area
Clonmacnoise Co Offaly
Bir Castle Arch Garden
Portumna Work House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Portumna, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pauline H
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Home from Home”
Reviewed 4 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This is the third time we have stayed in one of Lena's properties, we always stay in the Old Post Office, and cannot not praise Lena and her hospitality high enough. The house was spotless with everything we needed. It's so handy having the washing machine - we were able to reduce the amount of clothes we brought along by washing clothes daily. I was able to hang our washing out on the line or, if it rained, use the tumble dryer. It is so quiet and peaceful at the cottages, a perfect place to relax. We had car problems while we were on holiday and Lena couldn't have been more helpful, she was a lifesaver! Although we didn't have a car for nearly a week we were able to buy whatever we wanted from the local shop so we didn't go without. We love the area because we are able to visit so many places without travelling too far. Places we would recommend (without having to travel too far) are Portumna town, Turoe Pet Farm, Bullaun & the Workhouse in Portumna. We have a fantastic time every time we stay at The Old Post Office, we look forward to staying there again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LRT560
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
“tranquil haven”
Reviewed 31 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We have just returned from a four night stay in this beautiful, traditional Irish cottage. We had a fantastic time and the cottage is in a good, central location for touring Dublin, Galway, Ennis etc.... We visited the local Portumna castle, Birr castle, the workhouse and the Forest national park. These are all worthwhile and very enjoyable. The cottage itself was very clean and cosy and the turf fire was perfect to relax in the evening after a long day. Lena was very welcoming on arrival and was very helpful throughout our stay. She is there to give advice on places to visit etc... The cottage is set in a beautiful, quiet country lane, which is very peaceful. There is a lovely sitting area outside. The exterior of the cottage is beautiful, with many flowers in full bloom. This is a perfect experience for people, especially from overseas, who which to avail of a perfect Irish break. We look forward to returning in the future. Thank you Lena

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The fire
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2012
Hi Lynsey, Thank you for your kind comments.I look forward to meeting you some time.Best wishes Lena.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Reviewed 9 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Apr 2012
Hi Laura, delighted you were happy with your stay in my cottage.Thank you for your kind review.Best wishes Lena.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
VickyMulv...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Beutiful Traditonal Cottage”
Reviewed 3 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011

My husband and I stayed at this delightful cottage in December 2011. We visited Ireland for a family wedding and decided rather than staying with family we would book this charming cottage based on it's excellent reviews. We were no dissapointed!

The cottage is very cosy and comfortable with an open fire and central heating (which we needed in December). The locality was beautiful and very peacful. Lena the owner is very friendly and helpful. We were invited into her house for a whisky which was very nice. The area is so relaxing and we came back to England refreshed and planning our next trip back to the Shannon Breeze. Portumna is around a 10 minute drive away with lovely tradtional pubs and shops. Modena Restaurant is worth a vist. The food is excellent and the owener very friendly.

Thank you Lena for a wonderful stay and I can not wait to return with the rest of my family.

Vicky Mulvaney

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open fire
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2012
Vicky thank you for your kind review.Looking forward to meeting you in summer.Best wishes Lena.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome189...
Noisy-le-Grand, France
1 review
“beautiful place for holidays”
Reviewed 10 July 2011 for a stay in April 2011

Excellent , confortable cottage in a beautiful landscape. Excellent place for holidays and to discover Irland.
The owner of this cottage is a charming and very helpful woman.

I recommend this cottage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2011
Many thanks for your kind review.

Lena Cummins
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doc20
Belfort, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A cute and quiet cottage with a welcoming owner.”
Reviewed 4 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

A warm welcome indeed with a fire in the fireplace on arrival and a bottle of wine. A nice and cosy little place which was a good start for our first trip in Ireland. The owner was always ready to help. Coming from Shannon airport the location enabled us to visit Clonmacnoise before going to Connemara.
We had some trouble finding the village of Ballycrissane though, as it was called Ballycrossaun on our map and did not appear on our GPS as such.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paula1866...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Shannon Breeze What a lovely, cosy house. Area has it all”
Reviewed 22 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We had the most enjoyable holiday recently in a cottage called Shannon Breeze in Ballycrissane , portumna , co Galway.
This was our 5th time to visit the area but our first stay in Shannon Breeze. What a lovely, cosy house with wonderful views from the upstairs bedroom. The outdoor space was great with lots of opportunity for our small dog to safely explore .The space was ideal for BBQ (we had two ) great for sitting out to enjoy the absolute peace and quiet .This area has it all ,the Shannon , the wonderful forest park and we really recommend the green walk .
Great pubs and restaurants in portumna .
Thank you so much to the most hospitable and helpful landlady ever.
We will be back
Paula, Majella, Molly

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2011
Your review on Shannon Breeze Cottage and surrounding area is much appreciated.Thanking You,Lena
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing