We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Had a ball”
other travellers have booked this property
Shannon Breeze Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shannon Breeze Cottage
Twin Room Double Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Shannon Breeze Cottage
Twin Room
Double Bedroom
Portumna Bridge at night
River Shannon
Portumna Abbey
Portumna Abbey
Enjoying the Sunshine by the Shannon River
Swans of the river
Sheep beside the Shannon
Enjoying the sunshine by the Shannon river
Flowers
Garden roses
Garden
Newborn lambs
Joey
Super catch of fish
Excellent bream
Baskets in full bloom
Shannon breeze
Portumna forest park
Portumna forest park
Horse riding
Portumna Harbour
Portumna Town
Saint Bridgets church
One happy family of hens in the orchard
The Burren Region
The Cliffs of Moher
The Salthill Promenade
Padraic O Conaire, Eyre Square
Fountain of the 'Galway Hooker', Eyre Square
Connemara
Kylemore Abbey
Cottages in Connemara
Clifden
Westport
The Burren Region
Picnic area
Clonmacnoise Co Offaly
Bir Castle Arch Garden
Portumna Work House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Portumna, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
435Laura
Brescia, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Had a ball”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We found the place three nights before, we wanted to go somewhere to completely relax, have long walks, eat food and drink a few after a long day of relaxing. On arrival the lady host was amazing, the fire was blazing the wood was piled for the next two days and the cottage, well....amazing, a lovely cosy irish cottage i fell in love with. Our dog took place close to me beside the fire and there we were, two channels on the telly, few board games my thermomix for cooking and good beer. We had a ball. We will be going for very long walks in the morning which are amazing, got back for lunch and got it ready, the kitchen is fully equipped only i love my thermomix so it came with us. We would visit the villsge pub in the afternoon or go somewhere close by, by. Car for a leisurely walk and spent the evening by the roaring fire playing a game of cards and few beers. It was the most relaxed and chilled holiday i could ever remember, it cleansed my soul, lift my spirits and recherged my batteries.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2014
So glad you had such a pleasant experience here with us in Shannon Breeze. I thank you so much for your charming review, and I look forward to accommodating you again sometime. No doubt this review will influence others to visit me too! Best wishes, Lena.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell g
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great time had by all”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely two weeks staying at cummins cottages for some great fishing on the Shannon. Kept baiting and fishing the town stretch and kept catching so no reson to move! Nets every day from 50lb to 117lb from 5-6 hour sessions.
Lena is wonderfully helpful and always around to help and chat and cooks up a great breakfast. The cottages are also well situated for visits to Galway and the cliffs of Moher.
Al in all a fantastic trip,thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gazebogal...
Glenwood, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Traditional Irish bed and breakfast in the countryside”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at cummins cottages but in a different one than was listed. This one was next to Lena's home. She raises sheep and we could watch them in the pasture right outside our kitchen window. She serves a delicious homecooked breakfast daily and will accomidate different selections desired. This is truly in the country and you would need a rental car to use it. It is close to the Shannon River. It is very quaint. The accomidations were arranged by a different person than us.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the host
Liked least: The plumbing. Water pressure was low in the shower.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sillymoo...
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
“A Little Piece of Heaven”
Reviewed 17 February 2013 for a stay in August 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 with our two kids, 7 & 4. The break was sheer bliss, would highly recommend for anyone looking for a rest from the hustle & bustle of everyday life. Situated in a quiet area, it was ideal for early morning walks & the kids spent all of the time playing outside in the enclosed yard safe from any passing traffic. My own personal favourite was the apple orchard where I spent a while everyday reading & relaxing. The property itself was absolutely spotless, comfortable & had that 'olde world' feel with all mod cons. Lena is a real lady & a very hospitable hostess. She made us feel really welcome & dropped over every so often to check that everything was ok. Portumna town is a short drive away & has supermarkets and some very good places to eat. We enjoyed the Forest park & Portumna Castle & Gardens. We spent a day in Birr & also took a trip to the Aliwee caves neither of which were too far away. I would highly recommend the cottage to anyone & we will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeyP79
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 17 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

This was my first time in Ireland and my girlfriend had booked us a week at Shannon Breeze Cottage in Tiernascragh for the both of us and her father who was tracing the family tree which was very handy as the cottage was literally just up the road from where her Grandparents lived before moving to England.

The cottage is wonderful and very traditional. It is very cosy and comfortable and felt like home within a matter of hours of being there. It's location means it is a great place to explore Ireland from and is far from the hustle and bustle of every day life. I cannot explain how quiet and peaceful it is at Shannon Breeze. The only signs of other life out there were the occasional sounds of the sheep bleating and the odd tractor driving by during the day. At night, when the skies were clear I was able to see the Milky Way clear as day. Truly wonderful!

Many thanks to Lena who was an exceptional hostess. She checked in occasionally to make sure we were all OK and invited myself and my girlfriend into her house for tea, scones and apple tart (which was delicious!).

We will definitely be going back to the Cummins Cottages!

(Hi Lena, we will get your book back to you shortly! Many thanks for lending it to us! - Lizzie, Martin & Mike)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cottage, Lena's hospitality.
Liked least: There was nothing we did not like about our stay in Shannon Breeze Cottage!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2012
Hi Lizzie Michael and Martin, Thank you so much for your kind comments.It was a pleasure to accommodate ye, especially when your grand parents came from Ballycrissane.Good luck with your genealogy trail.Kind regards, Lena.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Home from Home”
Reviewed 4 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This is the third time we have stayed in one of Lena's properties, we always stay in the Old Post Office, and cannot not praise Lena and her hospitality high enough. The house was spotless with everything we needed. It's so handy having the washing machine - we were able to reduce the amount of clothes we brought along by washing clothes daily. I was able to hang our washing out on the line or, if it rained, use the tumble dryer. It is so quiet and peaceful at the cottages, a perfect place to relax. We had car problems while we were on holiday and Lena couldn't have been more helpful, she was a lifesaver! Although we didn't have a car for nearly a week we were able to buy whatever we wanted from the local shop so we didn't go without. We love the area because we are able to visit so many places without travelling too far. Places we would recommend (without having to travel too far) are Portumna town, Turoe Pet Farm, Bullaun & the Workhouse in Portumna. We have a fantastic time every time we stay at The Old Post Office, we look forward to staying there again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LRT560
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
“tranquil haven”
Reviewed 31 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We have just returned from a four night stay in this beautiful, traditional Irish cottage. We had a fantastic time and the cottage is in a good, central location for touring Dublin, Galway, Ennis etc.... We visited the local Portumna castle, Birr castle, the workhouse and the Forest national park. These are all worthwhile and very enjoyable. The cottage itself was very clean and cosy and the turf fire was perfect to relax in the evening after a long day. Lena was very welcoming on arrival and was very helpful throughout our stay. She is there to give advice on places to visit etc... The cottage is set in a beautiful, quiet country lane, which is very peaceful. There is a lovely sitting area outside. The exterior of the cottage is beautiful, with many flowers in full bloom. This is a perfect experience for people, especially from overseas, who which to avail of a perfect Irish break. We look forward to returning in the future. Thank you Lena

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The fire
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2012
Hi Lynsey, Thank you for your kind comments.I look forward to meeting you some time.Best wishes Lena.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing