We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to visit.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Maynooth Castle

Maynooth Castle
Ranked #4 of 9 things to do in Maynooth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maynooth Castle is a mid to late 12th Century Norman castle with a history that is both intriguing and exciting. The stronghold of the Fitzgerald family, the castle has stood on this site in the centre of Maynooth for over 8 centuries. Today, Maynooth Castle holds a detailed exhibition on the history of the Fitzgerald family, one of the most important Anglo-Norman families in Ireland.
Grodzisk Wlkp
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Good preserved ruins in the center of small irish town 20 km from Dublin. Nice place to visit and make few photos.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank slawekn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    20
    15
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sligo
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Historic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Maynooth Castle is well worth a visit if you are in the local area. Guided tours are provided or you can walk around the grounds at your leisure. The displays at the Castle provide information on the historical nature of the castle. A chance to step back in history.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely historical experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Maynooth castle is open to the public during the summer months. It's free to enter and well worth a visit. It won't take a hugh amount of time. You can take a guided tour or walk around yourself and read the fascinating history at the various displays. You can exit onto the roof upstairs which our kids loved. There are lovely grounds around it and if you go there well worth a stroll around the university grounds beside it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mbabane, Swaziland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Simply breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I have been here three times now and I still cannot get enough of this very beautiful castle with fine designs. It simply takes my breath away. The gates are always open and you can take pictures. The well kept gardens adds to the tranquillity of the whole quiet place. There is a centre garden right inside with a cool clear stream running through the place. There are stones well set so you can walk through the stream or just sit and meditate.
I will return again and again. Don't miss it.
You will like it and return after your first vist

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MgdaleneI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“tour of Maynooth Castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I just had a visit to Maynooth Castle today and I found the guide Alan made the story of the Castle and Silken Thomas very interesting and I would recommend it for a visit. keep up the good work...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maynooth Castle also viewed

Maynooth, County Kildare
Maynooth, County Kildare
 
County Kildare, Province of Leinster
Maynooth, County Kildare
 

Been to Maynooth Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing