We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed at the Glenroyal because of a bereavement in the area last week. Our experience was very mixed; we tried to find a private means of of communication on the hotel web page but there is nothing. So I am inviting some communication through this forum.

We weren't entirely unhappy with our stay. We found the staff to be incredibly good. The food was very good. But still, I'd like to have a conversation before someone else in this house hits TripAdvisor.

Room Tip: The staff are wonderful, make you feel welcome and can't do enough for you. I've never appre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Anne Marie,

Thank you very much for your feedback and we are glad you found the team to be helpful and food to be good, Our sincere apologies that you had a mixed stay and please do e-mail me directly with regard to any other issues that you may of had, my e-mail address is tedrobinson@glenroyal.ie and please e-mail me at any time,

Once again thank you very much for your feedback and look forward to hearing from you soon,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night while on business at the recommendation of our local contact and I found it to be very pleasant. Nice comfortable clean spacious room, nice bar, good breakfast, a nice health spa and leisure facilities if you have time to use them and the all important free WiFi. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dt2791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are very grateful and glad you had an enjoyable stay, we hope to see you again in the near future,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here along with 10 my friends on our graduation as we travelled a long distance to Maynooth.
Such a lovely and cosy place and staff were very accommodating. Would def recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadekelly89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Jade,


Thank you very much for your kind feedback and we are delighted you had a nice graduation and also a nice stay with us too,

We hope to see you again in the near future,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel with a large group of friends before a friends wedding. Great place. Friendly staff, good size rooms, great facilities and great food. But remember your swimming cap!

Stayed in Dec 2012

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maddave83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed here for a business event in late December mainly because of a good rate online.

The room was very spacious and had all the needful including wifi and a safe. Beds were comfortable and clean with a spacious bathroom.

The hotel itself has no residents lounge meaning if you want a beer after closing time you get sit in reception in the hallway. The staff were very reluctant to serve once closing time came.

I did not get a chance to use the leisure facilities.

Biggest let down was the poor breakfast that, while included in the price, might be better avoided. Served in room with no windows, it offered nasty stale Danish pastries, plastic scrambled egg and cheap sausage. Avoid the coffee and stick to tea. The orange juice was out of a machine and is also best left alone.

It's functional, near the train station and good value if you just need a bed. Not ideal for a holiday or romantic break as it is a soulless leftover from the hotel building boom.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the bars
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IT-nerd-on-the-road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valued feedback, we are glad overall you enjoyed your stay, we take on board your feedback with regard to having to drink in reception after pub hours, this should not of happened and we can assure that will not happen again,

We agree with you with regard to the decor of the bistro and we are glad to say we are getting our breakfast room fully refurbished in the next three weeks and also all our offering for breakfast,

Once again thank you for your feedback,

We do hope you visit us again in the near future,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

stayed here for new years eve with the kids and really liked this place.it has a kids club which runs until 8pm which is great and it has a great family pool.entertainment in the bar/bistro and the kids are welcome.i found the staff to be very friendly and helpfull.I would recommend this hotel to other families.(",)

Room Tip: bring swimming hats
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torontosarah8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback with regard to the service and experience you recieved here in the Hotel,

We are very grateful and look forward to seeing you again in the near future,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Grainne (i think that is her name) at reception was wonderful and most helpful. The room was beautiful and very spacious. I really liked the hot chocolate in the room, it was a lovely idea. There was a big car park and the train station was just over the road. We headed to Dundrum shopping centre for the day and it was a wonderful experience. We hope to return in February for another visit. Hopefully will visit the spa on our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa12345186609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Melissa,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are very grateful, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maynooth
1.2 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
3.4 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
447 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Court Yard Hotel
The Court Yard Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
923 reviews
12.0 mi away
Osprey Hotel
Osprey Hotel
#2 of 5 in Naas
1,200 reviews
13.5 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Glenroyal Centre, Maynooth, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Maynooth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Price Range: £98 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, we pride ourselves on being a Home away from Home to our guests. Our friendly and professional staff offer a warm, welcoming, and friendly atmosphere throughout the hotel. We strive to offer nothing less than excellent value accommodation, superb leisure facilities with a State-of-the-Art Gym and Swimming Pool, a Conference Centre which can facilitate a wide variety of events, and comfortable food and beverage venues in our function rooms, bar, and Bistro. The Glenroyal Hotel is also located in the Heart of Maynooth, while being just a 20-minute drive from the capital. An ideal location for corporate and leisure guests alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenroyal Hotel And Leisure
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club Maynooth, Ireland - County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing