We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for a room away from noisy leisure centre fans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Reviewed 27 June 2014

If things go well for you the Glenroyal is a very good hotel. Clean, generally spacious rooms, wonderful spa use included in the price, lovely staff. I'm sure you can sense the "but" and there certainly is one. Of three rooms for which single supplements were paid, one was excellent, one was all right but with an annoying hum of varying intensity present at all times. The third (Room 147) was a disaster and no self respecting hotel should be letting it out for use, unless perhaps at a heavy discount to someone who is aware of what he or she is buying into. There was no view at all; instead you can gaze at a blank wall less than 2 metres away. This made the room permanently and depressingly gloomy. The recess in the building which caused the ugly wall also made the room terribly hot and airless during a spell of good weather, whereas the other two rooms were fine, bright, cheery and well ventilated. Worst of all, however, was a constant and very loud oppressive humming, apparently from a leisure centre extractor one floor down, which reverberated throughout the room and made sleep almost impossible. Closing the window made no difference; it was the structure of the building itself which was oscillating. Assurances from Reception that it would stop when the leisure centre closed proved false.
A charming restaurant manager (the only person available at 11pm) had the unlucky task of facing very disenchanted people without being able to give them any hope of a change because the hotel was fully booked. Angry as we were we felt sorry for him. Next day after an awful night a solution was quite quickly found. Perhaps the half drafted letter of complaint helped, but by this time the hotel was facing an uphill struggle to redeem itself. To me it shows a profound disrespect that the company should even consider putting paying guests into such dreadful accommodation in the first place; the fact that we had paid a supplement for this black hole only added insult to injury.
The rest of the time was acceptable or good, and the two pools are superb; the jacuzzi in the adults only pool is particularly up market. Be aware that pool rules demand a swimming cap, but if you have forgotten yours a Glenroyal branded one is available at about Euro 2.50.
I can't say anything about the a la carte menu in the bar (and there is also a Thai restaurant on the first floor), but the food served to the organised groups was, let's say, somewhat unimaginitive.In fact it quickly became something of a running joke. Starters were fine, and the sweets too. But main courses were disappointingly stodgy. Three consecutive nights of mainly boiled meat "on a bed of mash", mostly with soggy stuffing in between, became a bit dispiriting. The bright spot was the final night when beef in Guiness casserole appeared. However the normal breakfast was good, either full Irish or all Continental depending on choice.
The quality of this hotel at its best, and its many excellent staff members, explain why this rating is average and not poor. I can only appeal to the hotel owners to be as welcoming as their staff and not to let out their particularly substandard rooms to guests who are expecting to be treated as well as their neighbours.

Room Tip: Plant noise from the leisure centre can be a real problem. Avoid at all costs room 147 (and probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ritorno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Ritorno,

Thank you very much for you feedback and my sincere apoligies that you had a noisy room,

We are glad to say we had all the rooms on this floor fully refurbished and upgraded, we have also reduced sond level to this room by adding more insulation to our gym plant room near by,

We are sorry that you did not enjoy the food on the menu, the tour group that you were with do request a certain menu that their budget allows for, I do take on board your feedback on this and we will look to improve in this area,

Once again thank you for your feedback on this and also your nice feedback on the Team here in the hotel,

We do hope to see you again in the near future,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed in the Glen Royal hotel when attending Bob Dylan during the week - abandoned the car there and headed in by Dart(Station 3 mins walk from Hotel)to the city. We allowed us to have a few jars before the concert and even one after before catching the last train back. We enjoyed a nightcap in hotel and a friendly chat with the barman and an very entertaining visiting bus driver. Although omlettes weren't on the menu the waitress was happy to arrange these for us. After breakfast we went for a swim and sauna and made the discovery of their fabulous Hydro Spa. I have visited a lot of spa's but have never experienced anything as good as this. The Shower was as good as a masage. We spent 2 hours and felt totally chilled and rejuvenated. When visiting Dublin in future we will elect to stay in the Glen Royal and take the stress free option of the Dart into town and indulge ourselves further in the wonderful hydro spa. Great option for families as they have pool in totally separate area for families.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quack1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback and we are glad you enjoy your stay with us and also the Bob Dylan Concert,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just spent last weekend at the International Social Dancers weekend at this hotel, this was the second year it had been held in the Glenroyal. 60 social dancers from Sweden travelled over with their teacher (who is from Dublin) and many of them were here for the second time as were we. The hotel is perfect for this weekend, bedrooms are large and comfortable, breakfast is plentiful, food is available all day in the bar and at our dinner dance on the Saturday night, we had a very nice meal. The staff are excellent, all so friendly and helpful.

We had booked a twin room and our room was very large with two double beds - it was over the entrance so could be noisy as the hotel is part of a small shopping centre. It was also very warm, on our first night we had the windows open but the second and third night, we closed the windows and used the air conditioning which meant we heard very little from outside. In fairness the main noise we heard the first night was members of our own group having a sing-song in the bar!! The wifi worked very well, you had to keep logging in each time you used it but that was fine, didn't need a code or password every time.

I'd be happy to stay in this hotel again. We drove there, but the transport links to Dublin are very good, both bus and train.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay and found the hotel to be perfect for the weekend stay that you had,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

we stayed in this hotel for a family wedding, hotel itself was lovely and we had a good experience, untill we arrived home and got our mobile portable internet bill in which was hitting 300 euro normally 20 a month, i contacted the broadband company and they told me that there was alot of downloading and streaming done on the saturday, i said that was impossible as we where at a wedding that day and our internet was in our hotel room. i contacted the hotel and as much as the manager was very nice he told me that he could do nothing for us, that his staff did not have i phones therefore he would not take responsibility for his staff having access to our room and our internet. i was very disapointed with his attitude over the matter, i understand that he trusts his staff but this matter has left a sour taste in my mouth and i will not revisit this hotel again.... (we stayed june last year but wont let me click june in the when did u travel section)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Lisa,


Thank you very much for your feedback and we are glad you overall had a lovely stay, we are sorry that you have left with a bad taste and I know we spoke on the phone also with regard to this and we did look into this matter and we found no evidence at all that it was one or our team downloading information, Once again my sincere apoligies that you were disappointed,

As always we were and still are glad to help out if you have any other queries on this matter,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Two night stay for business, single individual. It was a pleasant stay, the room was warm and comfortable. Bathroom was average to good, with a small collection of toiletries. Television was small but perfectly acceptable. Didn't have an opportunity to have breakfast, but the in house restaurant was good. I'd happily stay there again at any time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Phil,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback, we are really very greatful as all feedback helps us to keep improving as a hotel for all our guests,
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Wat can I say I just love this hotel... I always stay here with freinds on birthdays... Rooms are newly refurbished and spotless . I have never encountered nicer staff in a hotel. .. there is no waiting around.. anything you need u get.. mantra nightclub is just a walk away and there is a supervalue and bookies across the road..... Oh Ye rates are brilliant aswell....

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David9035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear David,

Thank you very much for your feedback and we are delighted that you love our Hotel and that you found all our team to be very friendly and helpful,

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend two months ago. We felt this was the most sub- standard hotel we had both stayed at with the only saving grace being the leisure club which included a relaxing jacuzzi area. The breakfast in the morning was apalling. How hard is it to get a hotel breakfast right?? The cooked breakfast turned my stomach, the scrambled eggs were full of water and the bread was stale. No one greeted or seated us on the TWO occaisions we stayed there, and it wasn't like it was busy. Two, yes two occaisions because after complaining to the duty manager they invited us back for a stay. Upon the second visit we were giving a far nicer room which was a lot more fresher, modern and nicely decorated than the first. We decided to order food from Lan Tania as room service. It was apalling. Clearly had been sitting there for a long time, congealed and I found a long black hair in my food. So disgusting. Was awoken at seven the next morning by cleaning staff SHOUTING, yes shouting in the hotel corridors. Clearly this is a hotel where people only stay after a very drunken night out. Would advise anyone about staying here.

Room Tip: don't stay here! great view of the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Katie,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed the your complimentery room and that you found it to be a far nicer and fresher room room than your last stay, we are glad to say that that by September we will have gotten all our rooms fully refurbished. Our Sincere apoligies about the breakfast you had and we take on board you feedback on this, we are getting new kitchen equipment installed next week which will directly improve the way we can cook our breakfast and also we are introducing a new healthly breakfast menu soon,
Thanks again for your feedback as it helps us improve our standards all the time,

We do hope you visit again in the near future,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maynooth
1.2 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
3.4 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
454 reviews
5.3 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Court Yard Hotel
The Court Yard Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leixlip
685 reviews
13.5 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
12.0 mi away
Osprey Hotel
Osprey Hotel
#2 of 5 in Naas
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Glenroyal Centre, Maynooth, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Maynooth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Price Range: £96 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, we pride ourselves on being a Home away from Home to our guests. Our friendly and professional staff offer a warm, welcoming, and friendly atmosphere throughout the hotel. We strive to offer nothing less than excellent value accommodation, superb leisure facilities with a State-of-the-Art Gym and Swimming Pool, a Conference Centre which can facilitate a wide variety of events, and comfortable food and beverage venues in our function rooms, bar, and Bistro. The Glenroyal Hotel is also located in the Heart of Maynooth, while being just a 20-minute drive from the capital. An ideal location for corporate and leisure guests alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenroyal Hotel And Leisure
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club Maynooth, Ireland - County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing