We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Certificate of Excellence
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great accommodation”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Only stayed here for one night as I was attending a wedding elsewhere, hotel has excellent facilities unfortunately we didn't get to use these. One minor issue was that we had been on a waiting list for quite a while and rang on numerous occasions to see if anything came available but upon check in we were advised that there was a room available. If we had of knowing prior to arrival we would have stayed and used the facilities. Overall, comfortable accommodation, spacious rooms and helpful staff.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Rebecca,

Thank you very much for your feedback and sorry about the communication with regard to the rooms, We do sometimes get cancellation of rooms late on durning the day,

Once again sorry about this,

We do hope you will visit us again soon,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    151
    70
    20
    29
See reviews for
115
104
26
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BABYCHUCKS
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Absolutely love this place the staff are so nice the hotel is well situated right in the town and 5min walk from train station. The spa in this hotel is brilliant as they have a seperate adult and kids pools and its so relaxing. The food is lovely cant complain and carparking is free. The town is 2mins walk with plenty of bars and resturants what more could you want.

Room Tip: only 40mins from dublin ask to stay in new part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BABYCHUCKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your very nice feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Held our twins 21st birthday party here. Fantastic hotel, staff were so friendly and helpful. great dinner in the bistro which aslo had a kids menu Lovely big kids room on 1st floor. Lovely breakfast till 11am sunday morning. Beautiful big family bedroom with king size bed and single bed.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Antionette,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback and we are delighted you and your family had a great party here in the hotel, We look forward to seeing you soon,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St Peter, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

If things go well for you the Glenroyal is a very good hotel. Clean, generally spacious rooms, wonderful spa use included in the price, lovely staff. I'm sure you can sense the "but" and there certainly is one. Of three rooms for which single supplements were paid, one was excellent, one was all right but with an annoying hum of varying intensity present at all times. The third (Room 147) was a disaster and no self respecting hotel should be letting it out for use, unless perhaps at a heavy discount to someone who is aware of what he or she is buying into. There was no view at all; instead you can gaze at a blank wall less than 2 metres away. This made the room permanently and depressingly gloomy. The recess in the building which caused the ugly wall also made the room terribly hot and airless during a spell of good weather, whereas the other two rooms were fine, bright, cheery and well ventilated. Worst of all, however, was a constant and very loud oppressive humming, apparently from a leisure centre extractor one floor down, which reverberated throughout the room and made sleep almost impossible. Closing the window made no difference; it was the structure of the building itself which was oscillating. Assurances from Reception that it would stop when the leisure centre closed proved false.
A charming restaurant manager (the only person available at 11pm) had the unlucky task of facing very disenchanted people without being able to give them any hope of a change because the hotel was fully booked. Angry as we were we felt sorry for him. Next day after an awful night a solution was quite quickly found. Perhaps the half drafted letter of complaint helped, but by this time the hotel was facing an uphill struggle to redeem itself. To me it shows a profound disrespect that the company should even consider putting paying guests into such dreadful accommodation in the first place; the fact that we had paid a supplement for this black hole only added insult to injury.
The rest of the time was acceptable or good, and the two pools are superb; the jacuzzi in the adults only pool is particularly up market. Be aware that pool rules demand a swimming cap, but if you have forgotten yours a Glenroyal branded one is available at about Euro 2.50.
I can't say anything about the a la carte menu in the bar (and there is also a Thai restaurant on the first floor), but the food served to the organised groups was, let's say, somewhat unimaginitive.In fact it quickly became something of a running joke. Starters were fine, and the sweets too. But main courses were disappointingly stodgy. Three consecutive nights of mainly boiled meat "on a bed of mash", mostly with soggy stuffing in between, became a bit dispiriting. The bright spot was the final night when beef in Guiness casserole appeared. However the normal breakfast was good, either full Irish or all Continental depending on choice.
The quality of this hotel at its best, and its many excellent staff members, explain why this rating is average and not poor. I can only appeal to the hotel owners to be as welcoming as their staff and not to let out their particularly substandard rooms to guests who are expecting to be treated as well as their neighbours.

Room Tip: Plant noise from the leisure centre can be a real problem. Avoid at all costs room 147 (and probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritorno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Ritorno,

Thank you very much for you feedback and my sincere apoligies that you had a noisy room,

We are glad to say we had all the rooms on this floor fully refurbished and upgraded, we have also reduced sond level to this room by adding more insulation to our gym plant room near by,

We are sorry that you did not enjoy the food on the menu, the tour group that you were with do request a certain menu that their budget allows for, I do take on board your feedback on this and we will look to improve in this area,

Once again thank you for your feedback on this and also your nice feedback on the Team here in the hotel,

We do hope to see you again in the near future,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed in the Glen Royal hotel when attending Bob Dylan during the week - abandoned the car there and headed in by Dart(Station 3 mins walk from Hotel)to the city. We allowed us to have a few jars before the concert and even one after before catching the last train back. We enjoyed a nightcap in hotel and a friendly chat with the barman and an very entertaining visiting bus driver. Although omlettes weren't on the menu the waitress was happy to arrange these for us. After breakfast we went for a swim and sauna and made the discovery of their fabulous Hydro Spa. I have visited a lot of spa's but have never experienced anything as good as this. The Shower was as good as a masage. We spent 2 hours and felt totally chilled and rejuvenated. When visiting Dublin in future we will elect to stay in the Glen Royal and take the stress free option of the Dart into town and indulge ourselves further in the wonderful hydro spa. Great option for families as they have pool in totally separate area for families.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quack1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback and we are glad you enjoy your stay with us and also the Bob Dylan Concert,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just spent last weekend at the International Social Dancers weekend at this hotel, this was the second year it had been held in the Glenroyal. 60 social dancers from Sweden travelled over with their teacher (who is from Dublin) and many of them were here for the second time as were we. The hotel is perfect for this weekend, bedrooms are large and comfortable, breakfast is plentiful, food is available all day in the bar and at our dinner dance on the Saturday night, we had a very nice meal. The staff are excellent, all so friendly and helpful.

We had booked a twin room and our room was very large with two double beds - it was over the entrance so could be noisy as the hotel is part of a small shopping centre. It was also very warm, on our first night we had the windows open but the second and third night, we closed the windows and used the air conditioning which meant we heard very little from outside. In fairness the main noise we heard the first night was members of our own group having a sing-song in the bar!! The wifi worked very well, you had to keep logging in each time you used it but that was fine, didn't need a code or password every time.

I'd be happy to stay in this hotel again. We drove there, but the transport links to Dublin are very good, both bus and train.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay and found the hotel to be perfect for the weekend stay that you had,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybofey, Donegal, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

we stayed in this hotel for a family wedding, hotel itself was lovely and we had a good experience, untill we arrived home and got our mobile portable internet bill in which was hitting 300 euro normally 20 a month, i contacted the broadband company and they told me that there was alot of downloading and streaming done on the saturday, i said that was impossible as we where at a wedding that day and our internet was in our hotel room. i contacted the hotel and as much as the manager was very nice he told me that he could do nothing for us, that his staff did not have i phones therefore he would not take responsibility for his staff having access to our room and our internet. i was very disapointed with his attitude over the matter, i understand that he trusts his staff but this matter has left a sour taste in my mouth and i will not revisit this hotel again.... (we stayed june last year but wont let me click june in the when did u travel section)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Lisa,


Thank you very much for your feedback and we are glad you overall had a lovely stay, we are sorry that you have left with a bad taste and I know we spoke on the phone also with regard to this and we did look into this matter and we found no evidence at all that it was one or our team downloading information, Once again my sincere apoligies that you were disappointed,

As always we were and still are glad to help out if you have any other queries on this matter,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maynooth
1.2 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
3.4 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
5.3 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Court Yard Hotel
The Court Yard Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
7.4 mi away
Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre
12.0 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: Glenroyal Centre, Maynooth, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Maynooth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenroyal Hotel And Leisure
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club Maynooth, Ireland - County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing