We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great golf experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great golf experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Carton House provides a quality that is of a very high standard. The staff are extremely attentive, warm and friendly. The rooms are beautifully furnished and spotless. I booked in with 17 other friends/golfers and all had a truly wonderful experience at such a fantastic resort.
The golf courses are stunning and wonderfully maintained with Greenstaff who are polite and welcoming. This was my first experience of golf in Ireland and I would strongly recommend a visit to Carton House as well as a return visit. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were spot on as the catered for our needs.
I wish all golf resorts were like Carton House, First class! Five star! Wow!!

Room Tip: Quiet rooms on the top floors that are very comfortable and needed after a long day and evening enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHDGM, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear John W,

On behalf of the management and staff of Carton House Hotel I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with others.

I am delighted to see that you had such a positive experience with us and that you enjoyed the service and facilities on offer here in Carton House. It is always great to see such positive feedback on our team and that they helped make your stay a memorable one.

I am delighted to hear that you had an opportunity to play on our championship golf courses and that your group enjoyed their golf.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon and if I can ever be of any assistance to you please feel free to contact me.

Warm Regards,
Eimear Moore
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,373
    611
    346
    145
    79
See reviews for
525
1,093
35
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We celebrated our mothers special birthday in this hotel in July of this year. 2013. We booked in with 8 adults and 5 children. We stayed for one night and had breakfast and dinner. It was such a great night and wonderful food. Both dinner and Breakfast were excellent. We also enjoyed the spa, which was spotless and very enjoyable. The pool was great for the kids. The rooms were spacious and airy. The walk from to reception to the rooms was a little far for my parents who are a good age. Yet it didnt take away from our experience. We have been telling everybody about our stay ever since......Well done Carton House.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ire121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHDGM, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Ire121,

Thank you for posting your review of Carton House.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you enjoyed celebrating your special occasion.I have passed your kind comments on to the team here in the hotel.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Carton House in the near future, and should you have any queries please contact me directly so I can assist you on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Eimear Moore
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

It's been a few years since we visited and that one was somewhat of a disappointment all round. However, I have nothing but good to say about a recent weekend. The staff were all most pleasant, the food (breakfast x 2, dinner x 1) was very good & the accommodation was perfect. Also a spa session with Erica was most relaxing. Trying to find anything to complain about is nit-picking but maybe get rid of a few of the (19) sleeping policemen on the drive in!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tadgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHDGM, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Tadgh,

Thank you for posting your review of Carton House.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your room to be comfortable and enjoyed the surroundings. I am also very happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful in particular Erica in The Spa. I will pass on your nice comments.  

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Carton House in the near future, and should you have any queries please contact me directly so I can assist you on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Eimear Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife booked an overnight stay as a birthday treat for me at the end of September. The hotel itself is a stunning venue,the staff are extremely helpful and pleasant, the rooms are spacious, air conditioned, bathrooms have separate showers and baths.The beds were very comfortable although the pillows weren't the best and the TV reception was, to be honest, terrible. But these are minor quibbles.
The restaurant lacked a little in atmosphere at dinner but the food was excellent in general. Breakfast the next morning was a much livelier affair and the selection of food was very appealing! There was no effort to hurry us along during breakfast or dinner, which was appreciated.
Without a doubt this hotel sets the standard for others to follow!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pw46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHDGM, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear pw46,

On behalf of the management and staff of Carton House Hotel I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with others.

I am delighted to see that you had such a positive experience with us and that you enjoyed the service and facilities on offer here in Carton House. It is always great to see such positive feedback on our team and that they helped make your stay a memorable one.

I am sorry to hear that you found The Linden Tree to lack atmosphere however I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and I have shared your feedback with our Restaurant Manager.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon and if I can ever be of any assistance to you please feel free to contact me.

Warm Regards,
Eimear Moore
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Rang hotel to make booking for 3 nite stay.looking forward to it on 13th Oct.very helpful put me true to book table in restarunt which was great and also sorted a booking for the spa. Now can't wait to do a review of my 3 nite stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cora2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHDGM, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Cora 2303,

I am delighted to hear that your booking was dealt with efficiently and that our staff were friendly and helpful.
I will pass on your feedback to our reservations team.

Kind Regards,
Eimear Moore
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

The driveway up to Carton House is something in itself with the views of the rolling green hills and then the house in distance, we were lucky enough upon arrival to be upgraded to a suite in the old part of the hotel, it was a fab room with stylish surroundings, excellent bathroom and windows that looked onto the gardens.

We had dinner on the first night in the club house and we were really impressed then drinks in the bar, on the Saturday we relaxed at the Spa and swam in the pool I was very happy with my treatment and the facilities.

The breakfast selection is incredible, the staff are so helpful and friendly.
The atmosphere is very relaxing and we hope to come back

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0Ave2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHDGM, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear 0Ave2013,

On behalf of the management and staff of Carton House Hotel I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with others.

I am delighted to see that overall you had a very enjoyable experience during your stay with us. The original old house rooms are really special and we are all very proud of the history and character that this part of the hotel has to offer and with stunning bedrooms it always makes for a memorable stay.

I have shared your feedback with the team who will be delighted to hear your nice comments.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Carton House in the near future, and should you have any queries please contact me directly so I can assist you on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Eimear Moore
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were fortunate enough to spend a weekend at Carton House with my work...and we felt like royalty!

The hotel, rooms, food, facilities and staff are all first class...we cant wait to return!

The location is great as it's only 25 minutes max from Dublin airport. And if you like golf you will love Carton House!

Room Tip: For a special occasion try and upgrade to a 'suite'!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHDGM, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Darrell W,

Thank you for posting your review of Carton House.

I am delighted to see that you had such a positive experience with us and that you enjoyed the service and facilities on offer here in Carton House. It is always great to see such positive feedback on our team and that they helped make your stay a memorable one.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Carton House in the near future, and should you have any queries please contact me directly so I can assist you on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Eimear Moore
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maynooth
6.3 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
14.5 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
4.1 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
13.0 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carton House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carton House Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Address: | Hotel Near M4 Motorway, Maynooth, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Maynooth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carton House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carton House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carton House Hotel And Golf Club
Carton Hotel Maynooth
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club Maynooth, Ireland - County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing