We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Family Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super Family Stay”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed in Carton House on Sat 31st May,2 Adults and 2 Children.We had a great time.Room was excellent ,plenty of room for the 4 of us.Kids lived in the pool,so safe and warm.Food in the clubhouse was excellent and the grounds are outstanding.This is our 3rd stay,1st with kids and we will return very soon.

Room Tip: Try the suites,live like a King.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Padraic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,390
    625
    359
    148
    81
See reviews for
529
1,116
35
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night at the end of a week long Ireland vacation. The hotel is really beautiful, clean and modern. So are the rooms. However, the food was, well, terrible. After a long drive to the hotel, we decided to order room service immediately. I ordered a steak sandwich that was supposed to come with cheese, sauerkraut, and dressing. We also ordered a brownie sundae. The sandwich arrived cold and only had grilled onions (which wasn't even in the description). The ice cream was completely melted on the sundae when it arrived. Just not good. This hotel is nice for sleeping and relaxing, but was really disappointed in room service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NY82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Had afternoon tea here with the girls last weekend - it's really excellent value for money at only €30 between two!
The hotel itself is just beautiful, immaculately kept and a really nice mix of old world and super modern.
The atmosphere is so inviting too - so much so that we stayed for most of the afternoon and say out on the terrace after we were finished afternoon tea enjoying the sunshine!
The only negative point was one of the wait staff was incredibly rude to our group on more than one occasion, I've marked them down on service for this reason alone. If it was something that happened only once I wouldn't even mention it, but it happened at least three times and for absolutely no reason. Everyone else we came into contact with was so friendly and helpful, but this one girl did leave us with a sour taste in our mouth.
I wouldn't hesitate in returning, but will think twice if I encounter similar level of rudeness from staff again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

The coach house at Carton house offers a lovely relaxed atmosphere, delicious food and superb service. Plenty of choice on the menu. Great value. Cannot comment on rooms as did not stay overnight. Surroundings are fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank McGillicuddys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Came here for a celebratory weekend. The Hotel was tipped off that it was a celebratory weekend and they had a card and cookies waiting in the room, a nice touch. The room itself was lovely; clean, big, and a modern bathroom.

We ate in the Linden Tree Restaurant and had a lovely meal. A real fine dining experience. The Chef even wrote "Congratulations" on our desert plates, in chocolate. We also had breakfast in the the Linden Tree, an excellent buffet with both hot and cold foods and a great variety.

The grounds are well worth a stroll and the ESPA spa is worth a visit too.

All in all, a great weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I will start this review with the positive elements. We stayed here along with our little boy for 2 nights. On arrival we were immediately impressed with the beautiful surroundings, the hotel and golf course.

Checking in to the hotel was very busy but we were death with iin a polite and friendly manner. Our room was located on the 2nd floor. Room was clean and modern. It stated in the information book that there was a mini bar in the room, this was empty!

We then made our way for a swim and the leisure club was clean and warm.

We decided to eat in the hotel restaurant ( there are 3) and like some reviews we were very disappointed in the food and service. The food was Bland and that's putting it nicely, I actually ate very little of mine. We waited about 20 minutes for our plates to be cleared and then we ordered some drinks and dessert. I very much doubt the dessert was home made and appeared to be the "frozen type" so often used in establishments. Again we waited ages for our bill and then had to pay 70 euro for a terrible meal. That night we were awoken on 4 separate occasions by people shouting in the corridors and then another who kept knocking on his room door. Obviously this was not the hotels fault but we did not want our 2 year old waking up.

Breakfast the following morning was equally as bad. We stood in line for about 10 minutes to be greeted by a lady in a suit ( I presume a manager), who said hello and then took a phone call and we never saw her again. We then waited another 10 minutes and then we finally got seated. Breakfast was buffet style and classes for juice were actually " hot" ... Staff seemed stressed and unhappy and there was not enough on to cater for the large number of guests.

We decided to eat elsewhere for the remaining day and night due to the bad service and equally bad food..
I was really looking forward to this stay but to be honest would neither stay here again or recommend to others..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shellyclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel for one night with my husband and daughter. On the positive side it is a beautiful hotel with lovely spa and warm, clean pool area. The big negative was very poor service while dining in three different areas in the hotel. Had lunch in kitchen bar area, dinner in the Coach house and then breakfast in the Linden tree. Each time the staff were slow, disinterested, forgot the order and made no effort to make up for this. Even when the food did come it was very mediocre. Expected a lot more and while we enjoyed our stay could not recommend this hotel based on the very poor service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Planningnexttrip_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maynooth
6.3 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
887 reviews
14.5 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
1.2 mi away
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
13.0 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carton House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carton House Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Address: | Hotel Near M4 Motorway, Maynooth, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Maynooth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carton House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Carton House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carton House Hotel And Golf Club
Carton Hotel Maynooth
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club Maynooth, Ireland - County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing