We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A spa break at a weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carton House Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A spa break at a weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We were here a while ago for a girly spa break. It is a big hotel with a huge garden(more likely a field), nice room with comfy bed, tasty food in a restaurant with a highly trained manner, and neat spa facilities. We drove from dublin it was such a nice short weekend escape. Only 30 min drove and then we could have a completely different atmosphere which is so relaxing and calming. Will be back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LuckyIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie o, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guest,
The Carton House team are delighted to see that you had such a positive experience with us and that you enjoyed the service and facilities on offer here in Carton House. It is always great to see such positive feedback on our team and that they helped make your stay a memorable one.
We are delighted to see that you had such a comfortable stay with us and in particular enjoyed the food and service on offer in the Linden Tree Restaurant.
We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Carton House again in the near future where you are sure of a warm welcome and please feel free to contact me directly on roconnor@cartonhouse.com if I can be of any assistance to you.

Kindest Regards,
Rosie O’Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,363
    603
    346
    143
    78
See reviews for
520
1,087
35
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile



The Kitchen Bar Restaurant is set in truly sumptuous surroundings at Carton House, in beautiful County
Kildare. Sadly our recent dining experience wasn't worthy of the promise of such a fine location.

We had the cod and chips x 2 @ €17.00 a plate. I'd hazard a guess that both ingredients were out of freezer bags. Whilst the fish itself was palatable the coating was soggy. The chips were unremarkable and flavourless apart from a disagreeable taste of old oil. And there wasn't a mushy pea or a steamed green vegetable in sight.

If you don't know to decline it, you get an ENORMOUS serving/ portion of tarter sauce. It occupies a full third of the plate and manages to look rather vulgar. And then when you do opt not to have the tarter sauce mountain you get instead a bowl of sad 'hotel side salad'.

I left Ireland in '85 to travel and expand both my mind & horizons. Back in those days an Irish side salad comprised a leaf or two of limp Webb lettuce, a watery tomato quartered, five or six thick circles of cucumber topped off by several half-moons of onion.

Save now for the changed shape of the vegetables and the lettuce having graduated into Lollo Rosso - a Carton House side salad is essentially an 'Irish salad' of yesteryear as if preserved in aspic. This particular fusion today is just as uninspiring as it was back is 1985!

The capacious lobby of Carton House is friendly, stylish and effortlessly elegant. It delightfully and seamlessly marries a period house and it's contemporary addition. It gratifies in the winter months too by being cosy and embracing. It is therefore such an utter shame that the food on offer lacks polish, substance and inspiration. The menu is narrow, hackneyed, overpriced, and downright dull.

Travelling weekly as we do Carton House is an ideal halfway point between the airport & home for us. Consequently we have variously eaten and had assorted refreshments here regularly over the past 22 months. Noticeably the food quality trend has been progressively downwards. It is now a rather pedestrian, uninspiring dining experience. Though the ambiance and vista are yet sublime.

We took the decision today that when it's food rather than fluid we desire/require that we will be seeking out other venues for our discretionary euros.

Beyond the aura there is one consistent high point however to dining at The Kitchen Bar, and that's the staff. They are ALWAYS cheerful, polite, professional and exceptionally helpful. So ten out of ten there.

It's really tough for them I should imagine as our intended constructive comments are clearly nothing new. They have heard equivalent quibbles and protestations many times before they say.......they feed them back, but nothing changes.

It's quite a travesty that management clearly aren't heeding the feedback. They have a magnificent venue in the building and grounds of Carton House, and seem to rely on it's lure rather too much, letting that take all the strain.

Disregard of clientele opinion will inevitably result in decline & loss of essential repeat business before too long. These particular clients desire quality and value for their hard-won euros, And I'd be confident that we're not at all unique in this respect. The Kitchen Bar from a culinary perspective disappointingly offers too little of most people's requisite criteria.

We had coffees that were delicious but didn't order any desserts because what we'd already eaten was thoroughly plain vanilla!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank RubiaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie o, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the management and staff of Carton House Hotel I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with others.
I am sorry to hear about the negative experience which you had in our restaurant during your recent stay. I have shared this feedback with our Head Chef and rest assured he will investigate this further.
We would be grateful if you contact me directly on roconnor@cartonhouse.com with further information.
I would like to thank you for your comments. All feedback is greatly appreciated as it can only aid us in improving our standards and quality of service which we provide for our guests.
Kindest Regards,
Rosie O'Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed in Carton House on Sat 31st May,2 Adults and 2 Children.We had a great time.Room was excellent ,plenty of room for the 4 of us.Kids lived in the pool,so safe and warm.Food in the clubhouse was excellent and the grounds are outstanding.This is our 3rd stay,1st with kids and we will return very soon.

Room Tip: Try the suites,live like a King.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Padraic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night at the end of a week long Ireland vacation. The hotel is really beautiful, clean and modern. So are the rooms. However, the food was, well, terrible. After a long drive to the hotel, we decided to order room service immediately. I ordered a steak sandwich that was supposed to come with cheese, sauerkraut, and dressing. We also ordered a brownie sundae. The sandwich arrived cold and only had grilled onions (which wasn't even in the description). The ice cream was completely melted on the sundae when it arrived. Just not good. This hotel is nice for sleeping and relaxing, but was really disappointed in room service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NY82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Had afternoon tea here with the girls last weekend - it's really excellent value for money at only €30 between two!
The hotel itself is just beautiful, immaculately kept and a really nice mix of old world and super modern.
The atmosphere is so inviting too - so much so that we stayed for most of the afternoon and say out on the terrace after we were finished afternoon tea enjoying the sunshine!
The only negative point was one of the wait staff was incredibly rude to our group on more than one occasion, I've marked them down on service for this reason alone. If it was something that happened only once I wouldn't even mention it, but it happened at least three times and for absolutely no reason. Everyone else we came into contact with was so friendly and helpful, but this one girl did leave us with a sour taste in our mouth.
I wouldn't hesitate in returning, but will think twice if I encounter similar level of rudeness from staff again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

The coach house at Carton house offers a lovely relaxed atmosphere, delicious food and superb service. Plenty of choice on the menu. Great value. Cannot comment on rooms as did not stay overnight. Surroundings are fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank McGillicuddys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Came here for a celebratory weekend. The Hotel was tipped off that it was a celebratory weekend and they had a card and cookies waiting in the room, a nice touch. The room itself was lovely; clean, big, and a modern bathroom.

We ate in the Linden Tree Restaurant and had a lovely meal. A real fine dining experience. The Chef even wrote "Congratulations" on our desert plates, in chocolate. We also had breakfast in the the Linden Tree, an excellent buffet with both hot and cold foods and a great variety.

The grounds are well worth a stroll and the ESPA spa is worth a visit too.

All in all, a great weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maynooth
6.3 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
14.5 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
4.1 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
3.9 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carton House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carton House Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Address: | Hotel Near M4 Motorway, Maynooth, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Maynooth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carton House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Carton House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carton House Hotel And Golf Club
Carton Hotel Maynooth
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club Maynooth, Ireland - County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing