We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deluxe retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Just had a fabulous stay at Carton House. Hotel is modern inside while having traditional, authentic outside appearance. So clean, staff friendly and helpful, simply a real treat to stay there. Rooms are fully equipped with temperature control (hotel rooms can so often be too cold or too hot), DVD player with impressive sound system, lovely big bath and powerful shower. Gym and spa are top class, very relaxing to just sit by the pool, or get a treatment. On top of all of this, it is in the most beautiful setting, with extensive grounds for the golf course which had hosted the Irish open, or, if like us, you don't play golf, you can still take advantage of the beautiful scenery by going on some of the many walking trails, hire a bike to cycle round them or play tennis. So peaceful and relaxing. Wish we had more time to spend at the hotel, if you are just going for the night, spend all your time there rather than anywhere else nearby, we didn't and regretted it as there is just so much to do and enjoy! This really was a very special visit for me, you felt like you were on some sort of a retreat. Definitely worth a visit, I will be saving up to go back some day!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie o, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Caroline,

On behalf of the management and team of Carton House Hotel I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with others.
I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your room to be comfortable and enjoyed the surroundings. I am also very happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I will pass on your nice comments.
I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Carton House again in the near future where you are sure of a warm welcome and please feel free to contact me directly on roconnor@cartonhouse.com if I can be of any assistance to you.

Kindest Regards,
Rosie O’Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,547 - 1,553 of 2,690 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

A beautiful house on lovely grounds. It's very close to Dublin so very convenient for a short trip out of the city. The grounds are lovely to walk or cycle around. The rooms are nice, but the food in the restaurant was a little disappointing. You would expect more from a location like this.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GT-MPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We were here a while ago for a girly spa break. It is a big hotel with a huge garden(more likely a field), nice room with comfy bed, tasty food in a restaurant with a highly trained manner, and neat spa facilities. We drove from dublin it was such a nice short weekend escape. Only 30 min drove and then we could have a completely different atmosphere which is so relaxing and calming. Will be back!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank LuckyIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie o, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest,
The Carton House team are delighted to see that you had such a positive experience with us and that you enjoyed the service and facilities on offer here in Carton House. It is always great to see such positive feedback on our team and that they helped make your stay a memorable one.
We are delighted to see that you had such a comfortable stay with us and in particular enjoyed the food and service on offer in the Linden Tree Restaurant.
We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Carton House again in the near future where you are sure of a warm welcome and please feel free to contact me directly on roconnor@cartonhouse.com if I can be of any assistance to you.

Kindest Regards,
Rosie O’Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile



The Kitchen Bar Restaurant is set in truly sumptuous surroundings at Carton House, in beautiful County
Kildare. Sadly our recent dining experience wasn't worthy of the promise of such a fine location.

We had the cod and chips x 2 @ €17.00 a plate. I'd hazard a guess that both ingredients were out of freezer bags. Whilst the fish itself was palatable the coating was soggy. The chips were unremarkable and flavourless apart from a disagreeable taste of old oil. And there wasn't a mushy pea or a steamed green vegetable in sight.

If you don't know to decline it, you get an ENORMOUS serving/ portion of tarter sauce. It occupies a full third of the plate and manages to look rather vulgar. And then when you do opt not to have the tarter sauce mountain you get instead a bowl of sad 'hotel side salad'.

I left Ireland in '85 to travel and expand both my mind & horizons. Back in those days an Irish side salad comprised a leaf or two of limp Webb lettuce, a watery tomato quartered, five or six thick circles of cucumber topped off by several half-moons of onion.

Save now for the changed shape of the vegetables and the lettuce having graduated into Lollo Rosso - a Carton House side salad is essentially an 'Irish salad' of yesteryear as if preserved in aspic. This particular fusion today is just as uninspiring as it was back is 1985!

The capacious lobby of Carton House is friendly, stylish and effortlessly elegant. It delightfully and seamlessly marries a period house and it's contemporary addition. It gratifies in the winter months too by being cosy and embracing. It is therefore such an utter shame that the food on offer lacks polish, substance and inspiration. The menu is narrow, hackneyed, overpriced, and downright dull.

Travelling weekly as we do Carton House is an ideal halfway point between the airport & home for us. Consequently we have variously eaten and had assorted refreshments here regularly over the past 22 months. Noticeably the food quality trend has been progressively downwards. It is now a rather pedestrian, uninspiring dining experience. Though the ambiance and vista are yet sublime.

We took the decision today that when it's food rather than fluid we desire/require that we will be seeking out other venues for our discretionary euros.

Beyond the aura there is one consistent high point however to dining at The Kitchen Bar, and that's the staff. They are ALWAYS cheerful, polite, professional and exceptionally helpful. So ten out of ten there.

It's really tough for them I should imagine as our intended constructive comments are clearly nothing new. They have heard equivalent quibbles and protestations many times before they say.......they feed them back, but nothing changes.

It's quite a travesty that management clearly aren't heeding the feedback. They have a magnificent venue in the building and grounds of Carton House, and seem to rely on it's lure rather too much, letting that take all the strain.

Disregard of clientele opinion will inevitably result in decline & loss of essential repeat business before too long. These particular clients desire quality and value for their hard-won euros, And I'd be confident that we're not at all unique in this respect. The Kitchen Bar from a culinary perspective disappointingly offers too little of most people's requisite criteria.

We had coffees that were delicious but didn't order any desserts because what we'd already eaten was thoroughly plain vanilla!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank RubiaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie o, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest,
On behalf of the management and staff of Carton House Hotel I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with others.
I am sorry to hear about the negative experience which you had in our restaurant during your recent stay. I have shared this feedback with our Head Chef and rest assured he will investigate this further.
We would be grateful if you contact me directly on roconnor@cartonhouse.com with further information.
I would like to thank you for your comments. All feedback is greatly appreciated as it can only aid us in improving our standards and quality of service which we provide for our guests.
Kindest Regards,
Rosie O'Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed in Carton House on Sat 31st May,2 Adults and 2 Children.We had a great time.Room was excellent ,plenty of room for the 4 of us.Kids lived in the pool,so safe and warm.Food in the clubhouse was excellent and the grounds are outstanding.This is our 3rd stay,1st with kids and we will return very soon.

Room Tip: Try the suites,live like a King.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Padraic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night at the end of a week long Ireland vacation. The hotel is really beautiful, clean and modern. So are the rooms. However, the food was, well, terrible. After a long drive to the hotel, we decided to order room service immediately. I ordered a steak sandwich that was supposed to come with cheese, sauerkraut, and dressing. We also ordered a brownie sundae. The sandwich arrived cold and only had grilled onions (which wasn't even in the description). The ice cream was completely melted on the sundae when it arrived. Just not good. This hotel is nice for sleeping and relaxing, but was really disappointed in room service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NY82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Had afternoon tea here with the girls last weekend - it's really excellent value for money at only €30 between two!
The hotel itself is just beautiful, immaculately kept and a really nice mix of old world and super modern.
The atmosphere is so inviting too - so much so that we stayed for most of the afternoon and say out on the terrace after we were finished afternoon tea enjoying the sunshine!
The only negative point was one of the wait staff was incredibly rude to our group on more than one occasion, I've marked them down on service for this reason alone. If it was something that happened only once I wouldn't even mention it, but it happened at least three times and for absolutely no reason. Everyone else we came into contact with was so friendly and helpful, but this one girl did leave us with a sour taste in our mouth.
I wouldn't hesitate in returning, but will think twice if I encounter similar level of rudeness from staff again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maynooth
6.3 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
947 reviews
14.5 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
1.2 mi away
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Osprey Hotel
Osprey Hotel
#2 of 5 in Naas
1,216 reviews
5 mi away
Barberstown Castle
Barberstown Castle
#2 of 2 in Straffan
347 reviews
18.4 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carton House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carton House Hotel & Golf Club

Address: | Hotel Near M4 Motorway, Maynooth, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Maynooth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Price Range: £129 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carton House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carton House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carton House Hotel And Golf Club
Carton Hotel Maynooth
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club Maynooth, Ireland - County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing