We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Hotel and Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Keadeen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Keadeen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
313 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Pretty Hotel and Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

The Keadeen has an excellent location in Newbridge - quiet but very close to the motorway - make sure to take the Curragh exit. The grounds are extremely well kept and there is a bright open feel about the hotel - lots of windows and light. The staff are very friendly and the service excellent. A small complaint - I was not offered a choice of rooms and got a smoking one - the smell was a give away.

Room Tip: Check if you want non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beahive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    138
    47
    17
    15
See reviews for
150
119
19
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We spent the weekend at The Keadeen Hotel and can honestly say it was one of the loveliest hotel experiences I have had the pleasure to enjoy.
We were given a truly warm welcome by the reception staff especially Victoria with whom I had made the booking over the telephone prior to this. She could not have done enough to make our stay a memorable one and proceeded to upgrade us to a Deluxe room. The furnishings in this hotel are traditional and can only be described as exquisite. The drapes were magnificient. We just loved it.
We had a meal in the bar/restaurant in the evening. Again the staff were exceptional and the meal was absolutely fantastic. A terrific menu and we had a meal we will remember for a very long time.
Our trip to Newbridge was to celebrate a family wedding. The reception in the hotel was set in a quiet area to the side of the hotel with the most beautiful arrival/reception room where we all met before the reception for drinks and nibbles. There was also a lovely sitting area outside should we have wanted to venture out. We then proceeded into a magnificient function room where we had an excellent meal set down to us.There were appox 160 people and the whole thing ran like clockwork. Very impressive
This is a hotel we would definitely like to return to and can highly recommend it to anyone coming to stay in this area
By the by..............it is about 5 miles to The Kildare Village Outlet....A brilliant shopping outlet which we visited on the sunday morning

Room Tip: I really cannot say except to emphasise that the deluxe room leaves nothing more to be desired! The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tenerifegirl1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind feedback.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards
Launa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed one night recently while attending a family wedding. A really lovely place to stay , great reception staff . The bedroom was amazing, really big with a large bed and a big bathroom.
Breakfast was good, a lot of lovely fruits and breads to choose from not forgetting the good
full Irish breakfast, great choice there too.
The food at the Wedding was second to none and the tables were beautifully set with lovely
flowers as well. We could highly recommend this as a place to stay or to have a wedding, everything was first class.
We hope to return for a week-end later in the year and go shopping at Kildare Village, another amazing place for value !

Room Tip: The rooms in the 501 area are amazing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotsunlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind review. It is only with feedback from our guests that we are able to continue to provide the service that we do.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much hope to see you again in the very near future.

Kindest Regards,
Launa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Wanted to be close to The Curragh Racecourse so were recommended to stay here. (You can almost smell the horses!!). What a lovely find!! Very pleasant surroundings, lovely food and all at a very reasonable price. Ended up staying an extra two nights as we found it very central to other places we wanted to visit. My only small criticism would be the wi-fi which is so important to travellers these days. You had to keep logging on again and again and again....

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

This was our second visit to this beautiful hotel. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds super for photos and the staff and food are excellent.
The Keadeen also has a pool and fitness suite, well worth a visit!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kindest regards,
Lorraine Willoughby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed in the Keadeen Hotel on the 11th of may 2013. We had a family function else where in Kildare but having stayed previously and been very happy with the hotel we decided to book in here again. The hotel itself is beautiful. Our room was lovely. We had our 3 kids with us and the room was set up perfectly for us on our arrival. But the hotel was let down massively by the staff. I know the day we checked in was very busy as there was communions and a wedding but that is not an excuse for the unfriendly service we received. Check in was fine. No welcome or chit chat we were given ur key and that was that. We were having a drink in the bar later that night and after one drink we were told we had to move to the lobby. We obviously didn't move fast enough because the tv was turned off as another way of telling us to move. When going for breakfast the next morning the kids were in front of us in the corridor and kids being kids were chatting amongst themselves. Some staff members passed and told them to 'shhhhhh'. We went for breakfast,were not greeted or asked how many of us there was so the staff member just assumed it was only the 3 of us in front of him. He brought us to a table for 3 and when I told him we were 5 we were left standing on the middle of a very busy dining room while he located another table. And even after that we were shown to a table of 4 and told to take a chair from another table. No one approached us to ask us if we wanted tea or coffee and when I asked I was barked at that someone would come to us. Yet we still waited and didn't get coffee until we asked again. But checking out was by far the worst experience. There was no issue with the bill or any other problems yet the girl at the desk acted like checking us out was a massive problem. My husband asked her something and she looked him up and down and replied to him like he was below her. Not once did she make eye contact with us unless to give us dirty looks or smile. The only saving grace of the weekend was the night porter that was working on Saturday night. He was chatty, friendly and a credit to have in any hotel. Maybe the rest of your staff should take a leaf out of his book. I really doubt we will be staying in your hotel again

Room Tip: If you care about good service I'd give the Keadeen a skip
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aoifediamonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Guest
Let me first say how distressed and dismayed I am at reading your review. I am disappointed to learn of your experience while staying with us and I can assure you this is not typical of the type of feedback we would receive. We pride ourselves on the warm and friendly atmosphere we endeavour to create for our guests, therefore we take all of our feedback very seriously. We have met with all department managers to discuss your comments in detail. We strive to continuously improve our service and product and use all feedback to achieve this on an ongoing basis.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in April for a wedding.
The hotel facilities for the wedding were great and the food was lovely.
The big let down for the hotel was the bedroom. Our room was small, stuffy and the worst thing of all was the smell of sewerage in the bathroom, that didn't go away. My sister was in the room next door and there was the exact same smell in the bathrooms.
We paid €250 for 2 nights B&B and it was WAY overpriced for the room we had.
In saying that, we were in some of the other rooms in a different area of the hotel and they were lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in he 4's, (ie. 404) and avoid the 1's (ie. 108)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharalottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback, it is very much appreciated. To date we haven’t received a comment of this nature regarding our bedrooms. We would have been more than happy to offer you a new room immediately, should you have brought this matter to the attention of our receptionist on duty, at any stage during your stay. Thank you for bringing this to my attention and we will certainly investigate further.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbridge
6.0 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
6.7 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Kildare House Hotel
Kildare House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kildare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
13.3 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keadeen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keadeen Hotel

Property: The Keadeen Hotel
Address: Curragh Road | Ballymany, Newbridge, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Newbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Keadeen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury 4-star family-run Keadeen Hotel is situated in Newbridge Town and in the heart of The Thoroughbred County.Just 35 minutes from Dublin City, hotel facilities include 75 luxurious bedrooms and suites, extensive conference, occasion and wedding suites, lounge bar, AA Rosette winning restaurant, and a leisure centre with a 20m swimming pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and spa treatment room. Complimenting the luxurious interiors are the extensive and beautifully manicured award winning gardens making it a total oasis of relaxation no matter whether your stay with us is for business or pleasure. Established in 1970 by the O'Loughlin family, The Keadeen Hotel is County Kildare's oldest family run hotel and has an unsurpassed reputation for delivering traditional hospitality and professional service. Located in the heart of County Kildare guests have access to the world renowned Curragh, Naas and Punchestown racecourses home to exciting racing festivals and meetings. The historic town of Kildare is close by as well as an extensive range of special interest activities including golf, motor racing at Mondello, walking, fishing and much more. Visit the many nearby houses and gardens including Castletown and the Irish National Stud's Japanese Gardens and St Fiachras Garden with wonderful shopping available at the nearby Kildare Village Chic Shopping Outlet and Whitewater Shopping Centre in Newbridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Keadeen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keadeen Hotel Newbridge
The Keadeen Hotel Newbridge, Ireland - County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing